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IMPORTANT!
Act 23 of the 2016 First Extraordinary Session changed the order in which credits 
are applied to tax. Because of this change, credits have been moved and there are 2 
new schedules for credits. The new order, and the associated lines or schedules are:

1.	 Nonrefundable credits that have no carry forward provisions (Line 13 and 
Schedule C-NR – Nonrefundable Priority 1 credits) 

2.	 All refundable credits other than the credit provided for in R.S. 47:6006 (Lines 
15 through 18 and Schedule F-NR – Refundable Priority 2 Credits) 

3.	 Nonrefundable credits with a carry forward (Schedule J-NR – Nonrefundable 
Priority 3 Credits)

4.	 Refundable Credits provided in R.S. 47:6006 (Schedule I-NR – Refundable 
Priority 4 Credits)

5.	 Withholding, credit carried forward of overpayments, estimated payments and 
payments made with extension.

Address Change – The “address change” box was added to the face of the return. 

Louisiana Citizens Insurance Credit – Line 18 – Act 9 of the 2016 Second 
Extraordinary Session has reduced the credit to 25 percent of the amount of sur-
charges, market equalization charges, or assessments paid by a taxpayer during the 
taxable year. (R.S. 47:6025)

Consumer Use Tax – Lines 25A and 25B – Under La. R.S. 47:302(K), LDR is 
required to collect 8 percent tax on out of state purchases. Act 26 of the 2016 First 
Extraordinary Session increased the use tax to 9 percent tax on out of state pur-
chases made on or after April 1, 2016. 

Refund Options – Line 40 – If this is your first time filing a tax return and a refund 
is due, Option 2 (paper check) should be selected. 

SCHEDULE D-NR – DONATION OF REFUND

Taxpayers can donate all or part of their refund to various organizations or funds. The 
following new donations appear on Schedule D-NR:

Line 19 – Friends of Palmetto State Park

Line 20 – The American Rose Society

Line 21 – The Extra Mile

Line 22 – Louisiana Naval War Memorial Commission, U.S.S. KIDD

Line 23 – Children’s Therapeutic Services at the Emerge Center

Nonresident and part-year Resident Worksheet (NPR) - ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME

Capital Gain from the Sale of Louisiana Business Deduction – 20E – Act 11 of 
the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session amended R.S.47:293(9)(a)(xvii) to change 
the capital gain deduction calculation. The provisions will only apply to the sale or 
exchange of an equity interest in or the assets of a nonpublicly traded business that the 
taxpayer has held for a minimum of 5 years immediately prior to the sale or exchange 
that occur on or after June 28, 2016. The amount of the deduction is limited as follows:

• If domiciled in Louisiana 5 years but less than 10 years, the deduction is 50 percent.

• If domiciled in Louisiana 10 years but less than 15 years, the deduction is 60 percent.

• If domiciled in Louisiana 15 years but less than 20 years, the deduction is 70 percent.

• If domiciled in Louisiana 20 years but less than 25 years, the deduction is 80 percent.

• If domiciled in Louisiana 25 years but less than 30 years, the deduction is 90 percent. 

• If domiciled in Louisiana 30 years or greater, the deduction is 100 percent. 

SCHEDULE F-NR - REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 2 CREDITS

Solar Energy Systems – Purchased – The maximum amount of credits allowed 
for purchased solar energy systems for fiscal years ending 2017 and 2018 has been 
met. The credit is no longer available to be claimed on the 2016 return and thus, 
has been removed. 

School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff – Code 66F – The credit is for 
eligible child care directors and eligible child care staff based on certain attained 
qualifications. The amount of the credit is adjusted each year if there is an increase 
in the Consumer Price Index Urban (CPIU). The credit amount for 2016 is posted at 
www.qrslouisiana.org/childcare-staff/tax-credit-requirements. For more information 
regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE). (R.S. 
47:6106)

SCHEDULE I-NR – REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 4 CREDITS 

Inventory Tax Credit – Code 50F – Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
changed the limitation on the amount of the excess credit over tax that is refunded, 
and required that groups of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer for 

purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed on returns filed on 
or after July 1, 2016. Except for new business entities formed or first registered to 
do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if the total amount 
eligible for the credit is less than or equal to $500,000, 100% of any excess credit is 
refundable, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75% of any excess credit 
up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable. For new business entities formed or first 
registered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if the 
total amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000, 100% of any excess credit is 
refundable, and for total eligible amounts $10,000 or more, 75% of any excess credit 
up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable. Act 5 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary 
Session changed the inventory tax credit to a nonrefundable credit for taxes paid on 
inventory by any manufacturer who claimed the property tax exemption under the 
Industrial Tax Exemption program (ITEP) during the same year the inventory taxes 
were paid, and for taxes paid by any company related to such manufacturer on 
inventory that is related to the business of such manufacturer.  

Definition of Inventory – Act 415 of the 2015 Regular Session enacted a definition 
of “inventory”, for purposes of this credit, to mean items of tangible personal property 
that are held exclusively for sale in the ordinary course of business, in the process of 
production for subsequent sale, or to physically to become a part of the production 
of such goods. Act 415 also enacted listings of specific items that are included and 
not included in inventory. In addition to items that are clearly included by the enacted 
definition, the following items are included in inventory: used goods or trade-in mer-
chandise; by-products of a manufacturer; and raw materials and supplies that will be 
consumed in the Louisiana manufacturing process. Not included in inventory are: oil 
stored in tanks held by a producer prior to the first sale of the oil; items that haven 
been leased by the taxpayer; items that the taxpayer has depreciated for federal 
income tax purposes; items that have been used by the taxpayer and have been 
owned for more than eighteen months; and certain items stored in the state for use 
in interstate commerce.

Ad Valorem Natural Gas Credit – 51F – Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary 
Session changed the limitation on the amount of the excess credit over tax that 
is refunded, and required that groups of affiliated companies be treated as one 
taxpayer for purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed on 
returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. Except for new business entities formed or first 
registered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if the 
total amount eligible for the credit is less than or equal to $500,000, 100% of any 
excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75% of 
any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable. For new business 
entities formed or first registered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 
4 deemed that if the total amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000, 100% of 
any excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts $10,000 or more, 75% 
of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.  

SCHEDULE J-NR – NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 3 CREDITS

Child Care Credit Carried Forward From 2012 through 2015 – Line 3 – The child 
care tax credit for taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income exceeds $25,000 
may not be refunded and any unused credit amounts can be used over the next 
four years. For the 2016 tax year, credits from 2012 through 2015 can be applied 
on Line 3. Any remaining child care credit from 2011 can not be applied to the 2016 
tax liability. (R.S. 47:297.4)

School Readiness Credit Carried Forward From 2012 through 2015 – Line 5 
– The school readiness credit for taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income 
exceeds $25,000 may not be refunded and any unused credit amounts can be used 
over the next four years. For the 2016 tax year, credits from 2012 through 2015 can 
be applied on Line 5. Any remaining credit from 2011 can not be applied to the 2016 
tax liability. (R.S. 47:6104)

Inventory Tax Credit Carried Forward and ITEP – Code 218 – Use this code for 
the current year credit and carryforward of credit deemed nonrefundable by Act 5 of 
the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session (ITEP), and for carryforward of credit (not 
current year credit) deemed nonrefundable by Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Session 
and by Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session. Act 4 of the 2016 Second 
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the amount of the excess credit over 
tax that is refunded, and required that groups of affiliated companies be treated as 
one taxpayer for purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed on 
returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. Act 5 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
changed the inventory tax credit to a nonrefundable credit for taxes paid on inventory 
by any manufacturer who claimed the property tax exemption under the Industrial 
Tax Exemption program (ITEP) during the same year the inventory taxes were paid, 
and taxes paid any company related to such manufacturer for taxes paid on inventory 
that is related to the business of such manufacturer. 

Ad Valorem Natural Gas Credit Carried Forward – Code 219 – Use this code 
for carryforward of credit (not current year credit) deemed nonrefundable by Act 
133 of the 2015 Regular Session and by Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary 
Session. Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on 
the amount of the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required that groups 
of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer for purposes of the limitations on 
refundability, for the credit claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. 

WHAT’S NEW FOR LOUISIANA 2016 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX?



This space on the fourth page of the tax return is to be used only when 
specifically instructed by the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR). 
Otherwise, leave blank.

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN (Form IT-540B)
1.	 If you are a nonresident, or part-year resident, with income from 

Louisiana sources, who is required to file a federal individual income tax 
return, you must file a Louisiana return reporting income earned in 2016. 

a.	 Write amounts only on those lines that are applicable.

b.	 Use only a pen with black ink. 
c.	 Because this form is read by a machine, enter your numbers 

clearly inside the boxes like this:

	 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 X
d.		 All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Numbers 

should NOT be printed over the pre-printed zeros in the boxes 
on the far right, which are used to designate cents (.00). 

e.	 To avoid any delay in processing, use this form for 2016 only. 

f.	 If you are filing an amended return, mark an “X” in the “Amended 
Return” box.

2.	 You must file a return to obtain a refund or credit if you overpaid your 
tax through withholding, declaration of estimated tax, credit carried 
forward, composite partnership payments made on your behalf, or 
claiming a 2016 refundable child care credit.

3.	 Military - If you are military personnel whose domicile is not 
Louisiana, you must report any nonmilitary Louisiana sourced 
income on Form IT-540B. The federal Military Spouses Residency 
Relief Act has extended certain residency protections to spouses 
of military members. Under this Act, a spouse’s state of residence 
does not change when he or she moves to a new state to be with a 
service member who is under military orders to be in the new state. 
A spouse who is NOT a resident of Louisiana but is in Louisiana 
solely to be with a Louisiana stationed servicemember who is NOT a 
resident of Louisiana must report all Louisiana sourced income other 
than wages, interest, or dividends, on Form IT-540B. Income earned 
within or derived from Louisiana sources such as rents, royalties, 
estates, trusts, or partnerships is taxable to Louisiana. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 10-005 for more information.

	 If you are military personnel whose home of record is Louisiana 
and you meet the filing requirements of 1 or 2 above, you must file 
a return, regardless of where you were stationed. If you are single, 
you should file a resident return (Form IT-540), and report all of 
your income to Louisiana. If you are married, and both you and your 
spouse are residents of Louisiana, you should file a resident return 
(Form IT-540) and report all of your income to Louisiana. If you are 
married and one of you is NOT a resident of Louisiana, you may file 
as a resident (Form IT-540) or a nonresident (Form IT-540B), which-
ever is more beneficial to you and your spouse.

4.	 Surviving Spouses, Executors, Administrators, or Legal 
Representatives – A final return for a decedent must be filed if 
you are the surviving spouse, executor, administrator, or legal 
representative, and the decedent met the filing requirements at 
the date of death. If both conditions apply, mark the decedent 
box on the face of the return for the appropriate taxpayer, and 
attach a copy of the death certificate. If a refund is due to the 
decedent’s estate, survivor, etc., you must also complete and 
attach Form R-6642, Statement of Claimant to Refund Due on 
Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer found on the LDR website.

5.	 Exception – NONRESIDENT Professional Athletes – If you are a pro-
fessional athlete, who either plays for a professional sports franchise, 
or who is a member of a professional sports association or league, 
you must file Form IT-540B-NRA electronically, instead of Form 
IT-540B. Refer to Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61.I.1305 
and 61.III.1527 on LDR’s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/
policies. 

NAME, ADDRESS, AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
Enter your legal name, address, daytime telephone number, Social 
Security Number, and date of birth on your return. If there is a change in 
your name or address since last year’s return (for example, new spouse), 
mark the “Name Change” or “Address Change” box. LDR automatically 
updates your account when you change your address with the Post Office. 
Failure to notify the Post Office of your address change will result in your 
account not being updated. A direct address change can be accomplished 

by filing your return electronically or marking the "Address Change" box. 

FORMS
Forms and instructions are on the LDR website, www.revenue.louisiana.
gov/taxforms.

AMENDED RETURNS
If you file your income tax return and later become aware of any changes 
you must make to income, deductions, exemptions, or credits, you must 
file an amended (corrected) Louisiana return. You must use the correct 
form for the tax year being amended, mark an “X” in the “Amended Return” 
box on the face of the return, include an explanation of the change and 
a copy of the federal amended return, Federal Form 1040X, if one was 
filed. If you are amending your income tax return due to utilizing a Net 
Operating Loss (NOL) carryback, you must mark an “X” in the “Amended 
Return” box and also in the “NOL Carryback” box on the face of the return, 
include an explanation of the change and a copy of the federal amended 
return, Federal Form 1040X, if one was filed. See LAC 61:I.1302 for more 
information.

NOTE: Do not make any adjustments for refunds received, or for pay-
ments made with the original return. This information is already on file.

FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS
Louisiana Revised Statute (R.S.) 47:103(C) requires taxpayers, whose 
federal returns are adjusted, to furnish a statement which discloses 
the nature and amounts of the adjustments within 60 days after the 
adjustments have been made and accepted. This statement should 
accompany the amended state return.

WHEN TO FILE
1.	 A 2016 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2017.

2.	 Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of the fifth 
month after the close of the taxable year.

3.	 If the due date falls on a weekend or state legal holiday, the return is 
due the next business day.

WHERE TO FILE AND PAY TAX
Enter your legal name and Social Security Number on your return and 
any correspondence. NOTE: On a joint return, list the names and Social 
Security Numbers on Form IT-540B in the same order that you listed them 
on your federal return.

A return for which a payment is due should be mailed to P.O. Box 3550, 
Baton Rouge LA 70821-3550. Print the last four digits of your Social 
Security Numbers on your check or money order. DO NOT SEND 
CASH. An electronic payment option is available on the LDR website 
at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.
You can also pay your taxes by credit card over the internet or by 
telephone. Visit www.officialpayments.com or call 1.888.2PAY TAX 
(1.888.272.9829).

All other individual income tax returns should be mailed to P.O. Box 
3440, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3440. 

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING A RETURN
The Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue may grant an 
extension of time for filing returns not to exceed six months from the date 
the Louisiana income tax return is due. State extensions must be filed 
electronically before the due date of the return. An extension can be 
requested on the LDR website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. 
See page 11 for more options.  

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting additional time 
to file your tax return. An extension does not extend the time to pay 
the tax. Payments received after the due date will be charged interest 
and penalties. 

INSTALLMENT REQUEST
If you are unable to pay the balance in full by the due date, you may 
submit an installment request, Form R-19026, which is available on www.
revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms. There is a fee of $105 to establish a 
standard installment payment agreement.

INTEREST AND PENALTIES 
See Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheet on page 11.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS
You should keep copies of federal and state tax returns and W-2 
statements for four years. In most cases, you do not have to submit a 
copy of your federal return with your state returns. If you have completed 
Schedule H-NR to claim federal disaster relief credits, submit the specified 
forms as indicated in the instructions.

General Information for Filing your 2016 Louisiana Nonresident and  
Part–Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return

!
•	 Please use black ink only.
•	 Free internet filing and E-pay services are available for most Louisiana taxpayers on www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.
•	 See the inside back cover for What’s New for 2016.

SPEC
CODE
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Tax Computation Worksheet (Keep this worksheet for your records.)

A Taxable Income: Enter the amount from Form IT-540B, Line 11. A 00

B First Bracket: If Line A is greater than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), enter $12,500 ($25,000 if fil-
ing status is 2 or 5). If Line A is less than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), enter amount from Line A.  B 00

C1 Combined Personal Exemption – Standard Deduction: If your filing 
status is 2, 4, or 5, enter $9,000; if 1 or 3, enter $4,500. C1 00

C2
Credit for Dependents: Enter $1,000 for taxpayers and/or spouses 
who are 65 or over, or blind, and for each dependent claimed on Form 
IT-540B, Line 6C.

C2 00

C3 Total: Add Lines C1 and C2. C3 00

D Ratio: Enter the ratio from Form IT-540B, Line 9. D %

E Allowable Deduction: Multiply Line C3 by the ratio on Line D. E 00 TAX

F
Taxable First Bracket: Subtract Line E from Line B. Multiply balance by 2% and enter the result in the 
TAX column. F 00

2%
Rate

00

G
Second Bracket: Subtract Line B from Line A; and, if the balance is greater than zero, enter the balance or 
$37,500 ($75,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), whichever is less. Note: Reduce this amount by the amount that Line E 
exceeds Line B. Multiply balance by 4%, and enter the result in the TAX column.

G 00
4%

Rate
00

H
Third Bracket: Subtract $50,000 ($100,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), from Line A, and enter the balance. If less 
than zero, enter “0.” Multiply the balance by 6%, and enter the result in the TAX column.

H 00
6%

Rate
00

I Total Tax: Add the amounts in the TAX column on Lines F, G, and H. Enter here and on Form IT-540B, Line 12. I 00

Instructions for Preparing your 2016 Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return
NOTE: If you are not required to file a federal return, but had Louisiana 
income tax withheld in 2016, complete Lines 1 through 6D. In the appro-
priate boxes above Line 7, enter the total amount of wages and income 
even though you may not be required to file a federal return and mark the 
box to the right. Skip to Line 14, enter zero “0” and complete the remainder 
of the return. You must enter the total amount of wages and income in 
the boxes above Line 7. Failure to do so will result in processing delays.

Lines 1-5 – Filing status – You must use the same filing status on your 
Louisiana return as you did on your federal return. In the box on the left, 
enter the number corresponding to your filing status: “1” for Single, “2” 
for Married Filing Jointly, “3” for Married Filing Separately, “4” for Head of 
Household, and “5” for Qualifying Widow(er). Head of Household status 
is for unmarried people who paid over half the cost of keeping up a home 
for a qualifying person. If you file as Head of Household, you must show 
the name of the qualifying person in the space provided, if the person is 
not a dependent.

Lines 6A and 6B – Exemptions – Mark an “X” in the appropriate boxes. 
You must use the same number of exemptions on your Louisiana return 
as you did on your federal return, unless: you are listed as a dependent 
on someone else’s return, you are age 65 or over, or you are blind. You 
must claim an exemption for yourself on Line 6A, even if someone else 
claimed you on their federal tax return. This box has already been marked 
with an “X” for you.

Line 6C – Enter the names of the dependents listed on your federal 
return. Complete the required information. If you have more than 6 depen-
dents, attach a statement to your return with the required information. In 
the box on Line 6C, enter the total number of dependents claimed.

Line 6D – Add Lines 6A, 6B, and 6C.

Line 7 – Enter the amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. This 
amount is taken from the Nonresident and Part-year Resident (NPR) 
Worksheet, Federal column, Line 12. If your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income is less than zero, enter zero “0.”

Line 8 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Adjusted Gross Income. 
This amount is taken from the Nonresident and Part-year Resident (NPR) 
Worksheet, Louisiana column, Line 33. If your Louisiana Adjusted Gross 
Income is less than zero, enter zero “0.”

Line 9 – Divide Line 8 by Line 7. Carry out to two decimal places in the 
percentage, for example 48.32 percent. Do not round up. The percentage 
cannot exceed 100 percent. When Federal Adjusted Gross Income is less 
than Louisiana income, the ratio shall be 100 percent (R.S. 47:293(10)).

Lines 10A, 10B and 10C – If you did not itemize your deductions on your 
federal return, skip Lines 10A, 10B, and 10C and go to Line 10D.

Line 10A – If you itemized your deductions on your federal return, enter 
on Line 10A the amount of your federal itemized deductions, shown on 
Form 1040, Schedule A, Line 29. 

Line 10B – If you itemized your deductions on your federal return, and your 
filing status is 1 or 3, enter $6,300; 2 or 5, enter $12,600; 4, enter $9,300.

Line 10C – Subtract Line 10B from Line 10A. If less than zero, enter zero “0.”

Line 10D – If you claimed federal disaster relief credits on your federal 
return as a result of Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita, you must com-
plete Schedule H-NR to determine your modified federal income tax 
deduction for Louisiana. The federal disaster relief credits claimed for 
this year and allowed by the IRS could be credits that are carried forward 
from previous years. However, the credits must be utilized on your federal 
return. Attach a copy of your federal return that indicates the amount of 
the credit, a copy of Federal Form 3800, and a copy of the appropriate IRS 
form to substantiate the amount of the credit.

If you have not claimed federal disaster relief credits, enter your federal 
income tax liability on Line 10D. This amount is taken from your federal 
return. 

Below are the federal returns and line numbers that indicate your federal 
income tax liability.

•		Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 10.

•		Federal Form 1040A, Line 37, minus the amount from Line 29.

•		Federal Form 1040, use the worksheet below. 

Optional deduction – The federal tax deduction above may be increased 
by the amount of foreign tax credit associated with Louisiana income that 
was claimed on Federal Form 1040, Line 48. If this additional deduction 
is claimed, no special allowable credit may be claimed on Louisiana 
Nonrefundable PRIORITY 1 Credits, Schedule C-NR, Line 3.

Federal Income Tax Deduction Worksheet
1	 Enter the tax from Federal Form 1040, Line 56 	 $_____________

2	 Net Investment Income Tax. Enter amount from
 	 Federal Form 8960, Line 17	 $_____________

3	 Federal Tax. Add lines 1 and 2.	 $_____________

4a 	Enter the amount from Form 4972, Line 30.	 $_____________

4b	 Enter the amount from Form 8962, Line 29.	 $_____________

5 	 Add lines 4a and 4b.	 $_____________

6 	 Subtract line 5 from line 3 and enter on line 10D. 
	 If amount is negative enter zero.	 $_____________

Line 10E – Add Lines 10C and 10D.

Line 10F – Multiply Line 10E by the percentage on Line 9. This amount of 
deduction is the portion applicable to your Louisiana income.

Line 11 – Subtract Line 10F from Line 8. If less than zero, enter “0.”

Line 12 – Calculate your Louisiana income tax by using the Tax 
Computation Worksheet below. DO NOT USE RESIDENT TAX TABLES.
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Line 13 – Enter the amount of the Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits from 
Form IT-540B, Schedule C-NR, Line 8.

Line 14 – Subtract Line 13 from Line 12.

Line 15 – Enter the amount of your 2016 Louisiana Refundable Child 
Care Credit. This amount is from the 2016 Louisiana Refundable Child 
Care Credit Worksheet, page 15, Line 11. Your Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income must be $25,000 or less to claim a credit on this line, and 
your child care expenses must have been incurred in Louisiana. See 
instructions on page 12.

Line 15A – Enter the amount from 2016 Louisiana Refundable Child Care 
Credit Worksheet, page 15, Line 3.

Line 15B – Enter the amount from 2016 Louisiana Refundable Child Care 
Credit Worksheet, page 15, Line 6.

Line 16 – Enter the amount of your 2016 Louisiana Refundable School 
Readiness Credit. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be less 
than or equal to $25,000 to claim this credit. The amount is determined 
from your Refundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet on page 16. In 
the boxes under Line 16, enter the number of your qualified dependents 
who attended the associated star rated facility or facilities.

Line 17 – Enter the amount of the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 
assessment that was included in your homeowner’s insurance premium 
in boxes 17A. Multiply the amount by 25 percent (.25) and enter the result 
on Line 17. A copy of the declaration page from your premium notice must 
be attached to your return. For additional information regarding this credit, 
visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/citizens. 

Line 18 – Enter the amount of the Other Refundable Priority 2 Credits 
from Louisiana Form IT-540B, Schedule F-NR, Line 10.

Line 19 – Add Lines 15, and 16 through 18. Do not include amounts on 
Lines 15A, 15B and 17A.

Line 20 – If Line 14  is greater than Line 19, subtract Line 19 from Line 14. 
Also, enter a zero “0” on Line 21 and go to Line 22. Otherwise, enter a zero 
“0” on Line 20 and go to Line 21.

Line 21 – If Line 19 is greater than Line 14, subtract 14 from Line 19. 

Line 22 – Enter the amount of the Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits from 
Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 16. These credits are limited to the 
tax liability calculated on Line 20.

Line 23 – Subtract Line 22 from Line 20. If the result is less than zero, or 
if you are not required to file a federal return, enter “0” and complete the 
remainder of the return.

Lines 24A and 24B – During 2016, if you purchased goods for use in 
Louisiana from outside the state and were not charged Louisiana state 
sales tax, you are required to file and pay the tax directly to LDR. This 
includes purchases from catalogs, television, Internet, another state, or 
outside the U.S. See Consumer Use Tax Worksheet below. If any of the 
items were alcoholic beverages or tobacco products, you are required to 
file a Consumer Excise Tax Return, R-5629, which is posted on LDR’s 
website. Do not include purchases made for your business. You must 
register your business with LDR and report the use tax for your business 
under that account. Mark the box to indicate if no use tax is due or the 
amount from the Consumer Use Tax Worksheet. 

Line 25 – Add Lines 23, 24A and 24B.

Line 26 – Enter the amount from Line 21, if applicable.

Line 27 – Enter the amount of Refundable Priority 4 Credits from Form 
IT-540B, Schedule I-NR, Line 6.

Line 28 – Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in 2016. 

You must attach copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms that indicate tax was 
withheld.

Line 29 – Enter the amount of any credit carried forward from 2015. This 
amount is shown on your 2015 Form IT-540, Line 34, or IT-540B, Line 34.

Line 30 – Enter the amount of any payment made on your behalf by a 
composite partnership filing. Enter the name of the partnership on the line 
provided on the return. If more than one partnership made a payment on 
your behalf, attach a schedule labeled with your name and Social Security 
Number and list each partnership and payment made.

Line 31 – Enter the total amount of estimated payments you made for the 
2016 tax year.

Line 32 – Enter the amount of the payment made with your 2016 exten-
sion request.

Line 33 – Add Lines 26 through 32.

Line 34 – Overpayment - If Line 33 is greater than Line 25, subtract 
Line 25 from Line 33. Your overpayment may be reduced by the 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty. If Line 33 is equal to Line 
25, enter a zero on Lines 34 through 41 and go to Line 42. If Line 33 is 
less than Line 25, enter a zero on Lines 34 through 40 and go to Line 41.

Line 35 – See instructions for Underpayment Penalty, page 11.

Line 36 – If Line 34 is greater than Line 35, subtract Line 35 from Line 
34. If Line 35 is greater than Line 34, enter zero “0”, subtract Line 34 from 
Line 35 and enter the balance on Line 41.

Line 37 – You may donate all or part of your overpayment (Line 36) to 
various organizations or funds listed on Schedule D-NR, Lines 2 through 
23. Enter the amount from Schedule D-NR, Line 24. This amount cannot 
be greater than Line 36.

Line 38 – Subtract Line 37 from Line 36. This amount of overpayment is 
available for credit or refund.

Line 39 – Enter the amount of available overpayment shown on Line 38 
that you wish to credit to 2017.

Line 40 – Subtract Line 39 from Line 38. This amount is to be refunded. 
You must select how you want to receive your refund. If this is your first 
time filing, your refund cannot be directly deposited. Enter a “2” in the box 
if you want to receive your refund by paper check. Enter a “3” in the box if 
you want your refund directly deposited into your bank account. Carefully 
enter the information in the boxes to indicate the type of bank account, 
the routing number, and the account number. Your nine digit routing 
number appears under the memo line of your check; your bank account 
number will appear to the right of your routing number. You are required 
to answer the question regarding the location of the bank account. 
If the information is unreadable or if you do not select a method to 
receive your refund, you will receive your refund by paper check. 
Option 1 was omitted on purpose.

Line 41 – If Line 25 is greater than Line 33, subtract Line 33 from Line 25. If 
you entered an amount from Line 35 as the result of underpayment penalty 
exceeding an overpayment, complete Lines 42 through 44, enter zero “0” on 
Lines 45 through 48, and go to Line 49.

Lines 42 through 44 – You may make an additional donation to the funds 
listed on Lines 42 through 44. You must include payment for the amount 
being donated with your return. The donation will not be made unless you 
make payment and can not be refunded at a later date.

Line 45 – Interest is charged on all tax amounts not paid by the due date. 
Enter the amount from the Interest Calculation Worksheet, page 11, Line 5.

Line 46 – If you fail to file your tax return by the due date – on or before 
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Consumer Use Tax Worksheet

Under La. R.S. 47:302(K), LDR is required to collect an 8 percent tax on out of state purchases made before April 1, 2016 and 9 percent tax on out of 
state purchases made on or after April 1, 2016. These rates (which include 4 percent to be distributed by LDR to local governments) are in lieu of the 
actual rate in effect for your area, and is payable regardless of the actual combined state and local rate for your area. 

This law ensures that Louisiana businesses are not at a competitive disadvantage with out-of-state businesses who are not required to collect sales tax.

Purchases made before April 1, 2016 Purchases made on or after April 1, 2016

1 Taxable Purchases 4 Taxable Purchases

2 Tax Rate .08 5 Tax Rate .09

3 Total use tax due - Multiply Line 1 by Line 2 
and enter result on Form IT-540B, Line 25A.  6 Total use tax due - Multiply Line 4 by Line 5 

and enter result on Form IT-540B, Line 24B.
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May 15, 2017, for calendar year filers, or on or before your fiscal year due 
date, or on or before your approved extension date, you may be charged 
delinquent filing penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Filing 
Penalty Calculation Worksheet, page 11, Line 7.

Line 47 – If you fail to pay the tax due by the due date – on or before 
May 15, 2017, for calendar year filers, you may be charged delinquent 
payment penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Payment Penalty 
Calculation Worksheet, page 11, Line 7.

Line 48 – See instructions for Underpayment Penalty, page 11.

Line 49 – Add Lines 41 through 48. You may make payment by credit card 
or electronic debit at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. You may 
also make payment by check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH. 
Make your check or money order payable to the Louisiana Department 
of Revenue. You can also pay your taxes by credit card over the internet 
or by telephone. Visit www.officialpayments.com or call 1-888-2PAY-
TAX (1-888-272-9829). Print the last four digits of your Social Security 

Numbers on your check or money order and attach it to your return.

To pay by credit card, visit www.officialpayments.com or call 1-888-2PAY-
TAX (1-888-272-9829).

Social Security Numbers – Enter your social security number in boxes 
provided on each page of the return.

Name Boxes – Enter the first 4 characters of the primary taxpayer’s last 
name in the boxes on the second, third, and fourth page of this return.

Filing – YOU MUST SIGN AND DATE YOUR RETURN. If married filing 
jointly, both spouses must sign. If your return was prepared by a paid 
preparer, that person must also sign in the appropriate space and enter 
his or her identification number. DO NOT SUBMIT A PHOTOCOPY OF THE 
RETURN. Only submit an original return.

Instructions for Preparing your 2016 Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, ...Continued

The Nonresident and Part-year Resident Worksheet is used to identify 
that portion of Federal Adjusted Gross Income that is Louisiana-sourced 
income. The worksheet has two columns, Federal and Louisiana. Using 
your federal income tax return, complete the Federal column for Lines 
1 – 12. The income lines of the worksheet correspond to specific line 
number references on Federal Form 1040EZ, or Federal Form 1040A, 
or Federal Form 1040. Under the Louisiana column, enter the amount of 
income that was earned or sourced in Louisiana on Lines 1 - 9 and use 
the 2016 Adjustments to Income lines to calculate Louisiana Adjusted 
Gross Income. Each of the Addition and Subtraction items are allowable in 
accordance with state law.

Adjusted Gross Income
Line 1 – In the Federal column, enter the amount of wages, salaries, tips, 
etc. from your Federal Form 1040 EZ, Line 1, or Federal Form 1040A, 
Line 7, or Federal Form 1040, Line 7. Of the Federal amount, enter the 
amount of income earned in Louisiana in the Louisiana column. 

Line 2 – In the Federal column, enter the amount of taxable interest from 
your Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 2, or Federal Form 1040A, Line 8a, or 
Federal Form 1040, Line 8a. Of the Federal amount, enter the amount of 
interest income earned in Louisiana in the Louisiana column. 

Line 3 – In the Federal column, enter the amount of dividends from your 
Federal Form 1040A, Line 9a, or Federal Form 1040, Line 9a. Of the 
Federal amount, enter the amount of dividends earned in Louisiana in the 
Louisiana column.

Line 4 – If you have business or farm income on your Federal Form 1040, 
Lines 12 and 18, add the amounts together including any losses from 
these lines that are included in your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. In 
the Federal column, enter the total amount of business or farm income. 
If the amount is a loss, indicate the loss by using brackets. For example, 
a business loss of $1,356 would be reflected as <1,356>. Of the Federal 
amount, enter the amount of business and farm income that was sourced 
in Louisiana in the Louisiana column.

Line 5 – If you have capital gains or ordinary gains on your Federal Form 
1040A, Line 10, or Federal Form 1040, Lines 13 and 14, add the amounts 
together including any losses from these lines that are included in your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income. In the Federal column, enter the total 
amount of capital gains and ordinary gains. If the amount is a loss, indi-
cate the loss by using brackets. For example, an ordinary loss of $3,500 
would be reflected as <3,500>. Of the Federal amount, enter the amount 
of gains or losses that was sourced in Louisiana in the Louisiana column.

Line 6 – If you have reported IRA distributions or benefits from pensions 
and annuities on your Federal Form 1040A, Lines 11b and 12b, or Federal 
Form 1040, Lines 15b and 16b, add the amounts together and enter the 
total amount in the Federal column. Of the Federal amount, enter the 
amount of IRA distributions, pensions and annuities that was earned in 
Louisiana in the Louisiana column. 

Line 7 – In the Federal column, enter the amount of rental real estate, roy-
alty, partnership, S corporation and trust income from your Federal Form 
1040, Line 17 including any losses from this line that are included in your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income. If the amount is a loss, indicate the loss 
by using brackets. For example, an S corporation loss of $2,000 would be 
reflected as <2,000>. Of the Federal amount, enter the amount of income 
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. 
that was sourced in Louisiana in the Louisiana column. 

Line 8 – In the Federal column, enter the amount of Social Security 
benefits from your Federal Form 1040A, Line 14b, or Federal Form 1040, 
Line 20b. Do not enter the taxable amount of your Social Security benefits 

in the Louisiana column. Social Security benefits taxable for Federal are 
not taxable to Louisiana as provided under R.S. 47:44.2.

Line 9 – If you have taxable refunds, credits, offsets, alimony received, 
unemployment compensation, or other income reported on Federal Form 
1040EZ, Line 3; Federal Form 1040A, Line 13; or Federal Form 1040, 
Lines 10, 11, 19, or 21, add the amounts together. Note: Prizes and 
awards, gambling winnings, including lotteries, raffles, and lump-sum 
payment from the sale of a right to receive future lottery payments are 
examples of other income as defined by IRS. In the Federal column, enter 
the total amount from the lines listed above. Of the Federal amount, enter 
the amount of income from these sources that was earned in Louisiana in 
the Louisiana column

Line 10 – Add Lines 1 through 9 for each column. 

Line 11 – In the Federal column, enter the total amount of adjustments to 
gross income from your Federal Form 1040A, Line 20, or Federal Form 
1040, Line 36. Of the Federal amount, enter the amount of Louisiana 
adjustments to income in the Louisiana column. 

Line 12 – Under the Federal column, subtract Line 11 from Line 10 and 
enter the result on Line 12. This amount should agree with Federal Form 
1040EZ, Line 4; Federal Form 1040A, Line 21; or Federal Form 1040, 
Line 37. Under the Louisiana column, subtract Line 11 from Line 10 and 
enter the result on Line 12.

Enter the Federal Adjusted Gross Income from the NPR worksheet, 
Federal column, Line 12 on Form IT-540B, Line 7. Complete the remain-
der of the worksheet to calculate Louisiana Adjusted Gross Income.

Additions
Line 13 – Tax-exempt interest and dividend income reported on your 
federal return are taxable to Louisiana, if ALL of the following conditions 
are met:

a.	 The interest and dividends were earned while you were domiciled in 
Louisiana.

b.	 The interest and dividends were received from obligations of a state 
or political subdivision of a state other than Louisiana. Obligations of 
the State of Louisiana, its political subdivisions, or public corporations 
created by them and their constituted authorities are exempt from 
Louisiana taxes.

c. 	 The obligations were purchased on or after January 1, 1980. 

If you have taxable interest or dividend income on Federal Form 1040A, 
Line 8b, or Federal Form 1040, Line 8b, add the amounts together and 
enter the result on Line 13 in the Louisiana column. See Revenue Ruling 
11-001 if you have any Build America Bonds.

Line 14 – If any previously exempted Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance 
and Revenue Trust (START) contributions were refunded to you during 
2016 by the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Aid, enter the amount in 
the Louisiana column. 

Line 15 – Add Lines 12, 13, and 14 and enter the result in the Louisiana column. 

Subtractions
Line 16 – Enter the amount of interest and dividends received from U.S. 
government obligations that are included in the amount on Line 12 under 
the Louisiana column. Include amounts received from mutual funds, which 
are identified as income from investments in U.S. government obligations. 
If the amount is not identified specifically, it is taxable and cannot be 
excluded. This amount must be included in the calculation of Line 12 in 
the Louisiana column. 

Line 17 – Enter the amount of retirement benefits received from the 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System. This amount must be 

Instructions for Nonresident and Part-year Resident (NPR) Worksheet
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included in the calculation of Line 12 under the Louisiana column. Indicate 
the date that you or your spouse retired on the appropriate line.

Line 18 – Enter the amount of retirement benefits received from the 
Louisiana State Teachers’ Retirement System. This amount must be 
included in the calculation of Line 12 under the Louisiana column. Indicate 
the date that you or your spouse retired on the appropriate line. 

Line 19 – Enter the amount of retirement benefits received from a Federal 
Retirement System. This amount must be included in the calculation of 
Line 12 under the Louisiana column. Indicate the date that you or your 
spouse retired on the appropriate line. 

Line 20 – Enter the amount of retirement benefits received from any 
retirement systems whose benefits are specifically exempted by law 
from Louisiana income tax. In the space provided, enter the name of the 
retirement system or the statutory citation exempting these benefits from 
Louisiana income tax. A list of the eligible retirement systems and their 
statutory citations can be found on the LDR website. This amount must be 
included in the calculation of Line 12 under the Louisiana column. Indicate 
the date that you or your spouse retired on the appropriate line.

Line 21 – Up to $6,000 of your annual retirement income may be 
exempted from state taxation if your filing status is single, head of 
household, married filing separately, or qualifying widow(er) and you are 
65 years of age or older. If your filing status is married filing jointly, both 
you and your spouse are age 65 years or older, and each of you received 
annual retirement income, up to $6,000 of the annual retirement income 
that each taxpayer receives may be exempt from state taxation. “Annual 
retirement income” that is taxable to Louisiana is any distributions from 
a pension, an annuity, or an IRA that you receive and report on Federal 
Form 1040A, Lines 11b and 12b, or Federal Form 1040, Lines 15b 
and 16b. Do not include retirement benefits that are listed on the NPR 
worksheet, Lines 17 through 20. Enter the name of the payor on the line 
provided. If your filing status is single, head of household, married filing 
separately, or qualifying widow(er), determine the exempt amount that 
should be entered by completing the FIRST COLUMN of the worksheet 
provided below. If your filing status is married filing jointly, determine the 
exempt amount that should be entered by completing BOTH COLUMNS 
of the worksheet provided below. 

Worksheet for Line 21	 Taxpayer	  Spouse

1.	Enter retirement income you received and 
reported on Federal Form 1040, Lines 15b 
and 16b, OR that you reported on Federal 
Form 1040A, Lines 11b and 12b. Enter 
taxpayer’s amount on Line 1(a) and enter 
spouse’s amount on Line 1(b).

a.

________

b.

________

2.	Enter retirement income you received and 	
	 reported on Lines 17 through 20 of the 	
	 NPR worksheet. Enter taxpayer’s amount 	
	 on Line 2(a) and enter spouse’s amount 	
	 on Line 2(b).

________ ________

3.	Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.
________ ________

4.	Maximum exemption for individuals 65  
	 or older. $6,000 $6,000

5.	For each taxpayer 65 or older, enter  
	 the amount from Line 3 or Line 4  
	 whichever is less. ________ ________

6.	If your filing status is single, head of household, married filing  
	 separately, or qualifying widow(er), enter the amount from Line  
	 5(a) above on Line 21 under the Louisiana column. If your filing  
	 status is married filing jointly, add the amounts on Lines 5(a) and 
	 5(b) above and enter the result on Line 21 under the Louisiana  
	 column.

Line 22 – Louisiana Administrative Code 61:I.1303 provides that income 
derived from sources on the reservation that have been earned or 
received by an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian tribe 
who resides on that tribe’s reservation shall be exempted from Louisiana 
individual income tax. The income derived from sources outside of the 
reservation, including sources outside of Louisiana, that have been 
earned or received by an enrolled member of a federally recognized 
Indian tribe residing on that tribe’s reservation is taxable for Louisiana 
individual income tax purposes. Income earned by a member of a federally 
recognized tribe residing off of the tribe’s reservation in Louisiana is 

taxable regardless of the income source. Additionally, an enrolled member 
of a federally recognized Indian tribe who resides on the reservation for a 
portion of the year and resides off the reservation for a portion of the year 
is taxed based on where the enrolled member resided when the income 
was earned. This amount must be included in the calculation of Line 12 
under the Louisiana column. 

Line 23 – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(vi) provides that any Louisiana resident who 
is a Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START) 
account holder with a filing status of single, married filing separately, head of 
household, and qualifying widow(er) can exempt up to $2,400 per beneficiary 
from Louisiana taxable income. Account holders with a filing status of married 
filing jointly can each exempt up to $4,800 per beneficiary from Louisiana 
taxable income. In certain situations, the exemption amount can be doubled. 
See Revenue Information Bulletin 06-003 for more information. 

Line 24 – R.S. 47:293(9)(e) provides an exclusion to Louisiana residents 
who were on active duty in the U.S. armed forces for 120 or more 
consecutive days. The exempt portion is the compensation earned outside 
of Louisiana during and after 120 plus consecutive days of active duty, up 
to $30,000. Example: If on January 15, 2016, you went on active duty and 
continuously remained on active duty at least through May 13, 2016  (120 
days) during which you served 40 days in Louisiana and the remainder 
outside of Louisiana, income from the 41st day forward is exempt, up to 
$30,000, once you have served more than 120 consecutive days. Retain 
a copy of your official orders, including endorsements that establish your 
120 plus consecutive days of active duty with your 2016 return. If filing 
electronically, bring a copy of your orders including endorsements to your 
tax preparer. This amount must be included in the calculation of Line 12 
under the Louisiana column. 

Line 25 – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(i) and (10) provides that any grant, loan, or 
other benefit directly or indirectly provided to a taxpayer by a hurricane 
recovery entity shall be excluded if the income was included in the 
taxpayer’s Federal Adjusted Gross Income. Hurricane recovery entities 
that provided benefits are the Road Home Corporation, the Louisiana 
Recovery Authority, the Disaster Recovery Unit of the Office of Community 
Development, or the Louisiana Family Recovery Corps. This amount must 
be included in the calculation of Line 12 under the Louisiana column. 

Line 26 – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xii) and (10) provides for an exclusion of $500 
per tax year for individuals who volunteer for recreation departments or 
serve as volunteer firefighters. To qualify for the Recreation Volunteer 
exclusion, the taxpayer must serve as a volunteer for 30 or more hours 
during the taxable year and must be registered as a volunteer with a 
recreation department operated by the state of Louisiana or a political 
subdivision of the state. The recreation department must certify that 
the taxpayer served as a volunteer and was not compensated for their 
services. To qualify for the Volunteer Firefighter exclusion, the taxpayer 
must complete 24 hours of continuing education and be an active member 
of the Louisiana State Fireman’s Association or on the departmental 
personnel roster for the State Fire Marshal’s Volunteer Fireman’s Insurance 
Program. To substantiate the exclusion, a taxpayer should retain either a 
membership card with the taxpayer’s name and the applicable tax year, a 
lifetime membership card, or a copy of the departmental personnel roster 
for the State Fire Marshal’s Volunteer Fireman’s Insurance Program and 
a certificate or other document provided to the taxpayer noting the date 
of the training, the topic covered, the duration of the training, and name 
and contact information of the person providing the training to support the 
continuing education requirements. 

Line 27 – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xiii) and (10) provides an exclusion for a 
taxpayer who voluntarily retrofits an existing residential structure on which 
the homestead exemption is claimed for ad valorem tax purposes and the 
structure is not rental property. The exclusion is for 50 percent of the cost 
paid or incurred on or after January 1, 2007, less the value of any other 
state, municipal, or federally sponsored financial incentives and is limited to 
$5,000 per retrofitted residential structure. To qualify, the voluntary retrofitting 
must not be a construction, reconstruction, alteration, or repair of an existing 
residential structure and must comply with the State Uniform Construction 
Code. See Revenue Information Bulletin 09-007 for more information. 

Line 28 – Enter the amount of your IRC 280C expense adjustment. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06-017 for further details. To substantiate 
the credit, provide LDR with a copy of the Federal Form 3800 that 
indicates the credit plus the appropriate form for the credit. A shareholder 
of an S corporation or other pass-through entities should attach a copy of 
Schedule K-1 to substantiate the credit.

Line 29 – Louisiana residents are allowed a deduction for certain school 
expenses paid during their time as a resident. R.S. 47:297.10 provides 
for the Elementary and Secondary School Tuition deduction for expenses 
paid for your qualified dependent’s enrollment in a nonpublic elementary 
or secondary school or any public elementary or secondary laboratory 

Instructions for Nonresident and Part-year Resident Worksheet, ...Continued
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Instructions for Nonresident and Part-year Resident Worksheet, ...Continued
school operated by a public college or university. R.S. 47:297.11 provides 
for the Educational Expenses for Home-Schooled Children deduction 
for expenses paid for home-schooling your qualified dependent. R.S. 
47:297.12 provides for the Educational Expenses for Quality Public 
Education deduction for expenses paid for a quality education for your 
qualified dependent’s enrollment in a public elementary or secondary 
school. The dependent must be claimed on your 2016 return or must 
have been claimed on your 2015 return. To calculate the amount of the 
deduction, use the 2016 Louisiana School Expense Deduction Worksheet.

Line 30 – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xvii) provides a deduction for net capital gains 
resulting from the sale or exchange of an equity interest; or from the sale or 
exchange of substantially all of the assets of a nonpublicly traded corporation, 
partnership, limited liability company, or other organization commercially 
domiciled in Louisiana. Act 11 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
changed the calculation of the deduction for sales or exchanges occurring 
on or after June 28, 2016. Attach a copy of your federal return and 
supporting forms and Form R-6180 showing the calculation of the deduction 
and all tiers of any flow-thru amounts. This amount must be included 
in the calculation of Line 12 under the Louisiana column. See Revenue 
Information Bulletins 10-017 and 16-039 for more information.  

Line 31 – On a separate schedule, list the source and amount of other 
income included on Line 12 under the Louisiana column that Louisiana 
cannot tax. You must attach copies of supporting documentation in order 
to verify the exemption claimed on this line. Do not list income earned in 
another state. Residents of Louisiana are taxed on all income, regardless 

of where the income was earned. Nonresident professional athletes must 
file Form IT-540B-NRA electronically. 

Employers claiming the disability deduction under R.S. 47:297.13 should 
use this line to reduce income earned by certain qualifying disabled indi-
viduals. Disabled individuals claiming an exemption under R.S.47:59.1 
for making adaptations to their home should use this line to deduct the 
expenses from their gross income. Persons receiving disability income 
(R.S. 47:44.1(B)) for a permanent, total disability may exclude up to $6,000 
of annual disability income from their taxable income. Persons claiming 
an S Bank shareholder exclusion should use this line to report the exclu-
sion, which is equal to the S Bank shareholder’s nontaxable income from 
Louisiana taxable income. “S Bank nontaxable income” means the portion 
of the income reported by an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S, Schedule 
K-1, or the portion of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent 
document, which is attributable to the net earnings used to compute the 
S Bank’s shares tax as provided in R.S. 47:1967. See Revenue Ruling 
11-001 if you have any Build America Bonds.

Note: The depletion deduction is limited to the amount of federal deple-
tion. Louisiana does not have a provision that allows excess depletion on 
individual income tax.

Line 32 – Add Lines 16 through 31.

Line 33 – Subtract Line 32 from Line 15. This is the amount of income that 
is taxable to Louisiana. Also, enter this amount on Form IT-540B, Line 8.

www.revenue. louis iana.gov	 Louis iana Depar tment of  Revenue

Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits, Schedule C-NR

Line 1 – A credit of $72 is allowed for the taxpayer, spouse, or dependent 
who is deaf, has lost the use of a limb, is mentally incapacitated, or is blind 
(R.S. 47:297(A)). Only one credit is allowed per person. The disability 
must exist at the end of the taxable year or,  if death occurred during the 
taxable year, at the date of death. If you are claiming this credit for the 
first time, a physician’s statement is required certifying the disability. For 
purposes of this credit:

•	 DEAF is defined as one who cannot understand speech through 
auditory means alone (even with the use of amplified sound) 
and must either use visual means or rely on other means of 
communication.

•	 LOSS OF LIMB is defined as one who has lost one or both hands, 
at or above the wrist, or one or both feet, at or above the ankle. 
This credit also applies if use of the limb or limbs has been lost 
permanently.

•	 MENTALLY INCAPACITATED is defined as one who is incapable of 
caring for himself, or of performing routine daily health requirements, 
due to his condition.

•	 BLIND is defined as one who is totally blind or whose central field of 
acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses 
or whose visual acuity is limited to a field no greater than 20 degrees. 

The names of the qualifying dependents must be entered on Line 1C. On 
Line 1D, enter the total number of qualifying individuals. Multiply Line 1D 
by $72 and enter the result on Line 1E.

Line 2 – Taxpayers who donate computer or other technological 
equipment to educational institutions in Louisiana are allowed a credit of 
29 percent of the value of the property donated (R.S. 47:37). The recipient 
certifies the donation of property by using Form R-3400 the Certificate 
of Donation available on LDR’s website. You must attach the completed 
certification form to your return. On Line 2A, enter the value of the property 
donated to an educational institution in Louisiana. Multiply the amount 
on Line 2A by 29 percent and enter the result on Line 2B. Round to the 
nearest dollar.

Line 3 – Taxpayers are allowed a credit of 7.2 percent of the following 
federal credits: a credit for the elderly computed on Federal Schedule R; 
a foreign tax credit found on Federal Form 1040, Line 48; a residential 
energy credit found on Federal Form 1040, Line 53; plus 7.2 percent 
of any investment tax credit or jobs credit computed on Federal Form 
3800 (R.S. 47:297(B)). If the credit was not used on the federal return 
because of the alternative minimum tax, you must reduce this amount by 
the portion of the credit that was not used. Enter the total federal credit 
on Line 3A. Multiply Line 3A by 7.2 percent and enter the result or $18, 
whichever is less, on Line 3B.

Additional Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits, Lines 4 through 7
Additional nonrefundable credits available for the tax year ending 
December 31, 2016 are referenced individually by a three-digit code. 
Enter the credit description, identifying code, and the dollar amount 
claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 4 through 7. 

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule C-NR. 
The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed 
in this booklet. 

Example:

Credit Description	  Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Bone Marrow	 1 2 0 5 0 0 00.
Line 8 – Add Lines 1E, 2B, 3B, and 4 through 7. Also enter the amount 
on Form IT–540B, Line 13.

100 – 	 Premium Tax – R.S. 47:227 provides a credit for 72 percent of  
premium taxes paid during the preceding 12 months by an insur-
ance company authorized to do business in Louisiana. The credit 
may be passed to individuals through certain legal entities such 
as partnerships. 

105 – 	 Commercial Fishing – R.S. 47:297(C) provides a credit for 72 
percent of the gasoline and special fuels taxes paid for operating 
or propelling any commercial fishing boat. Attach a schedule list-
ing all invoices and taxes paid. Do not claim the credit if you have 
already received a fuel tax refund. 

110 – 	 Family Responsibility – R.S. 47:297(F) provides a credit for the 
amount contributed in a family responsibility program under the 
provisions of R.S. 46:449. The amount of this credit is equal to 24 
percent of the contribution, not to exceed $144.  

115 – 	 Small Town Doctor/Dentist – R.S. 47:297(H) provides a credit 
for certified medical doctors and dentists licensed to practice in 
certain areas of Louisiana. The credit is limited to $3,600.

120 – 	 Bone Marrow – R.S. 47:297(I) provides a credit to employers 
authorized to do business in the state who incur bone marrow donor 
expense by developing a bone marrow donation program, educat-
ing employees related to bone marrow donations, making payments 
to a health care provider for determining tissue types of potential 
donors, and paying wages to an employee for time related to tissue 
typing and bone marrow donation. If the wage expense is used to 
obtain the credit, it cannot be deducted as an expense for income 
tax purposes. The amount of the credit is equal to 18 percent of the 
bone marrow donor expense paid or incurred by the employer dur-
ing the tax year. 
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CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits, Schedule C-NR, ...Continued

125 – 	 Law Enforcement Education – R.S. 47:297(J) provides a credit 
for certain law enforcement officers and specified employees of 
the Louisiana Departments of Public Safety or Corrections for 
specific post-secondary educational expenses incurred in the 
pursuit of an undergraduate degree related to law enforcement.  
The credit is limited to $540.

130 – 	 First Time Drug Offenders – R.S. 47:297(K) provides a credit 
for a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an individual 
who has been convicted of a first time drug offense, and who is 
less than 25 years of age at the time of initial employment. 

135 – 	 Bulletproof Vest – R.S. 47:297(L) provides a credit for the pur-
chase of a bulletproof vest for certain law enforcement personnel. 
The amount of this credit is equal to 72 percent of the purchase 
price, not to exceed $72.

140 – 	 Nonviolent Offenders – R.S. 47:297(O) provides a credit for 
a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an individual 
who has been convicted of a first-time nonviolent offense, has 
completed a court-ordered program certified by the employee’s 
probation officer, and has worked 180 days. A statement signed 
by both the employer and employee certifying the employee’s full-
time work status for the year must be attached to the return.

145 – 	 Owner of Newly Constructed Accessible Home – R.S. 47:297(P) 
provides a credit for a taxpayer who owns a newly constructed 
one or two-family dwelling on which the homestead exemption is 
claimed. The dwelling must include certain accessible and bar-
rier free design elements. The credit is for the lesser of $720 or 

tax, and is taken in the taxable year that the construction of the 
dwelling completed. Form R-1089, available on LDR’s website, 
must be attached to your return as documentation for this credit.

150 – 	 Qualified Playgrounds – R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit for 
donations to assist qualified playgrounds. The credit is for the 
lesser of $720 or 36 percent of the value of the cash, equipment, 
goods, or services donated. For more information on this credit, 
see Revenue Ruling 02-020 posted on LDR’s website.

155 –	 Debt Issuance – R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit for 72 percent 
of the amount of the filing fee paid to the Louisiana State Bond 
Commission, which is incurred by an economic development cor-
poration in the preparation and issuance of bonds.  

175 –	 Donations of Materials, Equipment, Advisors, Instructors 
R.S. 47:6012 provides a credit for employers within the state 
for donations of the newest technology available in materials, 
equipment, or instructors to public training providers, secondary 
and postsecondary vocational-technical schools, community 
colleges, or apprenticeship programs registered with the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission to assist in the development of 
training programs designed to meet industry needs. The credit is 
for 36 percent of the value of the donated materials, equipment, 
or services rendered by the instructor. When taken with other 
applicable credits, this credit cannot exceed 20 percent of the 
employer’s tax liability for any taxable year.

199 – 	 Other – Reserved for future credits. 

Instructions for Schedule D – NR – Donations
Line 1 – Enter the amount of adjusted overpayment from Form IT-540B, 
Line 36.

Line 2 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to The 
Military Family Assistance Fund. This fund provides assistance to family 
members of activated Louisiana military personnel.

Line 3 – You may donate all or a part of your adjusted overpayment to 
the Coastal Protection and Restoration Fund for the purposes of coastal 
restoration, conservation, and hurricane protection. For more information, 
visit www.coastal.louisiana.gov.

Line 4 – You may contribute an amount of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START) Savings 
Program. IMPORTANT: If filing a joint return, you or your spouse must be a 
registered account owner in the START Savings Program in order to contribute 
all or part of your overpayment. If you do not have an account, you may contact 
the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance at 1-800-259-5626, or go 
to www.startsaving.la.gov to enroll. All contributions of your overpayment will be 
equally distributed among the account holder’s beneficiaries.

Line 5 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Wildlife Habitat and Natural Heritage Trust Fund. This fund provides for the 
acquisition and management of lands used for state parks, state forests, and 
wildlife and fishery management areas.

Line 6 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Cancer and Lung Trust Fund (LCLTFB). This fund provides for 
resources to reduce the incidence, morbidity, mortality, and economic impact 
of all forms of cancer through education, prevention, research, and early 
detection.

Line 7 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Animal Welfare Commission for the purpose of promoting the 
proper treatment and well-being of animals. For more information visit www.
lawca.org.

Line 8 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to promote 
unity among member food banks in Louisiana in support of their common 
mission to feed the hungry. For more information, visit www.lafba.org.

Line 9 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Make-A-Wish Foundation of the Texas Gulf Coast & Louisiana. For more 
information, visit www.texgulf.wish.org.

Line 10 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Association of United Ways/LA 2-1-1 for the purpose of the 2-1-1 
helpline. For more information, visit www.louisiana211.org.

Line 11 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
American Red Cross. For more information, visit www.redcross.org.

Line 12 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 

Honor Guard for Military Funerals Fund. This fund provides for military funeral 
honors for members of Louisiana’s military forces. 

Line 13 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Youth Leadership Seminar Corporation, also known as Hugh 
O’Brian Youth Leadership to inspire and develop our global community of 
youth and volunteers to a life dedicated to leadership, service and innovation. 
For more information, visit www.hoby.org. 

Line 14 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Lighthouse for the Blind in New Orleans, Inc. For more information, visit 
www.lighthouselouisiana.org.

Line 15 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Association for the Blind. This association is dedicated to improving 
the quality of life for the blind through training, services and employment. For 
more information, visit www.lablind.com.

Line 16 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment 
to the Louisiana Center for the Blind. For more information, visit www.
louisianacenter.org. 

Line 17 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Affiliated Blind of Louisiana, Inc., whose missions is to teach individuals who 
are blind and deaf-blind the skills that lead to independence, employment and 
community integration. For more information, visit www.affiliatedblind.org. 

Line 18 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana State Troopers Charities, Inc. 

Line 19 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Friends of Palmetto Island State Park, Inc. for the purpose of supporting and 
enhancing the Palmetto Island State Park. 

Line 20 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
American Rose Society. For more information, visit www.rose.org. 

Line 21 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Extra Mile, Southeast Louisiana, Inc to enhance and enrich the quality of life 
for all persons served by human service agencies. For more information, visit 
www.temsela.org.

Line 22 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Naval War Memorial Commission. This fund is responsible for the 
operation and upkeep of the USS KIDD Veterans Memorial. 

Line 23 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Children’s Therapeutic Services at the Emerge Center. This fund provides for 
optimizing independent communication and social interaction skills. For more 
information, visit www.emergela.org.

Line 24 – Add Lines 2 through 23. This amount cannot be more than Line 1. 
Also, enter this amount on Form IT-540B, Line 37.
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Instructions for Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Schedule F-NR

Line 1 – R.S. 47:297.9 allows a refundable credit for 72 percent of the 
amount paid by an active or reserve military servicemember, the spouse 
of an active or reserve military servicemember, or the dependent of such 
servicemember for obtaining a Louisiana noncommercial hunting or fishing 
license. A copy of the noncommercial hunting and/or fishing license must 
be submitted to LDR in order to claim the credit. Complete all information 
requested in Lines 1A through 1D. Multiply the amount paid by 72 percent 
(.72). The credit for the license is valid only during the time the servicemem-
ber is on active duty and does not apply to purchases of lifetime licenses. 
Please contact LDR for more information concerning this credit.

Additional Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Lines 2 through 6 
Additional refundable credits available for the tax year ending December 
31, 2016 are referenced individually by a three-digit code. Please enter 
the credit description, identifying code and the dollar amount claimed in 
the appropriate spaces on Lines 2 through 6.  

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule F-NR. 
The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed 
in this booklet.

Example:

Credit Description	 Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Historic Residential	 6 0 F 4 0 0 00.
Transferable, Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Lines 7 through 9 
Complete Lines 7 through 9 only if credit code 62F is claimed. For Lines 
7A, 8A and 9A, enter the LDR State Certification Number from Form 
R-6135, for the credit claimed on Lines 7, 8, and 9 respectively. 

Line 10 – Add Lines 1D and 2 through 9. Also, enter the amount on Form 
IT-540B, Line 18.

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

52F – 	 Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels – R.S.47:6006.1 allows a 
refundable credit for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes paid 
on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act Waters. Copies 
of the tax assessment, the cancelled check in payment of the 
tax, and a completed Form LAT 11A from the Louisiana Tax 
Commission must be attached to the return.

54F – 	 Telephone Company Property – R.S.47:6014 allows a 
refundable credit for up to 40 percent of the ad valorem taxes 
paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a telephone company 
with respect to that company’s public service properties located 
in Louisiana. The credit may be passed through to individuals 
who are shareholders or members of certain legal entities. 
See Revenue Information Bulletin 01-004 on LDR’s website. A 
schedule must be attached stating which entity paid the tax and 
obtained the credit on the individual’s behalf.

55F – 	 Prison Industry Enhancement – R.S. 47:6018 allows a refund
able credit for 72 percent of the state sales and use tax paid by a 
taxpayer on purchases of specialty apparel items from a private 
sector Prison Industry Enhancement (PIE) contractor. Contact 
LDR for further information regarding this credit. 

56F – 	 Urban Revitalization – R.S. 51:1801 et seq. allows a refundable 
credit for investing in certain economically depressed areas of 
the state. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return. 

57F – 	 Mentor-Protégé – R.S. 47:6027 allows a refundable credit 
for a mentor business that fulfills the terms of a Mentor-
Protégé Agreement as approved by the Louisiana Department of 

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

	 Economic Development. A copy of the certification of the credit 
must be attached to the return.

58F – 	 Milk Producers – R.S. 47:6032 allows a refundable credit for 
a resident taxpayer engaged in the business of producing milk 
for sale. Those milk producers that have obtained permits under 
the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 51, and have met the 
requirements of the Food and Drug Administration, shall be 
certified by the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals to 
receive the credit. Revenue Information Bulletin 08-014 provides 
information regarding the credit. 

59F – 	 Technology Commercialization – R.S.51:2351 et seq. allows 
a refundable credit for a qualifying individual or business 
that invests in the commercialization of Louisiana technology. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certification of 
the credit must be attached to the return.

60F – 	 Historic Residential – R.S. 47:297.6 allows a refundable credit 
for the amount of eligible costs and expenses incurred during 
the rehabilitation of an owner-occupied residential or owner-
occupied mixed use structure located in a National Register 
Historic District, a cultural district, a local historic district, a 
Main Street District, or a downtown development district. The 
tax credit is limited to one credit per rehabilitated structure and 
can not exceed $18,500 per structure. Taxpayers must apply to 
the Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, 
Division of Historic Preservation for certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return.

61F – 	 Angel Investor – R.S. 47:6020 et seq. allows a refundable 
credit for taxpayers who made third party investments in certified 
Louisiana entrepreneurial businesses between January 1, 2005, 
and December 31, 2009. To earn the Angel Investor Credit, 
taxpayers must file an application with the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 
06-020 on LDR’s website. 

62F – 	 Musical and Theatrical Productions – R.S. 47:6034 allows 
a refundable credit for the production expenses, transportation 
costs, employment of college and vocational-technical students, 
employment of residents, and for the construction, repair, or 
renovation of facilities related to live performance industry. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certification of 
the credit must be attached to the return.

65F – 	 School Readiness Child Care Provider – R.S. 47:6105 allows a 
refundable credit for a child care provider who operates a facility or 
facilities where care is given to foster children in the custody of the 
Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) or 
to children who participate in the Child Care Assistance Program 
administered by the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE). The 
credit is based on the average monthly number of children who 
attended the facility multiplied by an amount based on the quality rating 
of the child care facility. For more information regarding this credit, 
contact LDE.  

66F – 	 School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff – R.S. 47:6106 
allows a refundable credit for eligible child care directors and 
eligible child care staff. The tax credit is based on certain attained 
qualifications for directors and staff members. The credit amount is 
variable and the 2016 amount is posted at www.qrslouisiana.org. 
For more information regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

67F – 	 School Readiness Business-Supported Child Care – R.S. 
47:6107 allows a refundable credit for a taxpayer who incurs eligible 
business-supported child care expenses. The percentage of eligible 
expenses allowed for the credit depends on the quality rating of the 

If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed. The schedule should clearly identify the 
credit, your name, and your Social Security Number. If documentation is required, you must submit the documentation with your return. For faster process-
ing, you can upload all required information when you file your return electronically. Revenue Information Bulletins are posted on www.revenue.louisiana.
gov/policies under Policy Documents.

Note: If you are claiming a credit that is recorded in the Tax Credit Registry, you must attach a completed Credit Utilization Form (R-6140, Section 2) and 
a copy of the Credit Registration Form (R-6135) to the tax return. See RIB No. 14-005.

General Information Regarding Credits
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Instructions for Schedule H-NR
Line 1 – Enter the amount of your federal income tax liability from the 
Federal Income Tax Deduction worksheet on page 1. 

Line 2 – Enter the amount of federal disaster relief credits claimed on your 
federal return. The federal disaster relief credits claimed for this year and 
allowed by the IRS could be credits that are carried forward from previous 
years. Attach a copy of your federal return that indicates the amount of the 

credit, a copy of Form 3800, and a copy of the appropriate IRS form in order 
to substantiate the amount of the credit.

Line 3 – Add the amounts from Lines 1 and 2 and enter the result. Mark 
the box on Form IT-540B, Line 10D, to indicate that your income tax 
deduction has been increased by the amount of federal disaster credits.

General Information about Disaster Relief Credits
Federal Disaster Relief Credits

Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid on Louisiana 
income. Generally, when the federal income tax liability is decreased by 
federal credits, the amount of the Louisiana income tax liability increases. 
R.S. 47:293(4)(b) expands the relief granted to Louisiana taxpayers who 
claimed certain disaster credits granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane 
Rita. To avoid paying additional income tax, Louisiana taxpayers who 
received these federal credits may increase the amount of their Louisiana 
federal income tax deduction by the amount of certain disaster relief 
credits claimed on the 2016 federal income tax form. LAC 61:I.601 
designated the following federal credits as disaster relief credits:

1.	 Employee Retention Credit

2.	 Work Opportunity Credit
3.	 Rehabilitation Tax Credit
4.	 Employer-Provided Housing Credit
5.	 Low Income Housing Credit
6.	 New Markets Tax Credit

For complete information about disaster relief credits, see LAC 61:I.601 
on the LDR website, www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies.

Consult your tax advisor or the IRS for information concerning the federal 
credits. If you claimed federal disaster relief credits on your federal return, 
complete Schedule H-NR and attach a copy of the appropriate federal 
forms to your return to substantiate your modified Louisiana federal 
income tax deduction.

Instructions for Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Schedule F-NR, ...Continued

child care facility to which the expenses are related or the quality 
rating of the child care facility that the child attends. Copies of 
cancelled checks and other documentation to support the amount of 
eligible expenses must be maintained and provided upon request. 
For more information regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana 
Department of Education (LDE).

68F – 	 School Readiness Fees and Grants to Resource and 
Referral Agencies – R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable credit 
for a taxpayer whose business pays fees and grants to child 
care resource and referral agencies. The credit cannot exceed 
$5,000 per tax year. For more information regarding this 
credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE).

70F – 	 Retention and Modernization – R.S. 51:2399.1 et seq. allows a 
refundable credit for an employer who incurs qualified expenditures 
to modernize existing operations in Louisiana to retain the business 
in the state. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return.

71F – 	 Conversion of Vehicle to Alternative Fuel – R.S. 47:6035 
allows a refundable credit for the purchase of, or conversion of 
a vehicle designed to run on an alternative fuel. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin No. 13-023 for definition of alternative fuel. 
The credit is not allowed for the costs associated with the 
purchase or conversion of a flexible fuel vehicle, designed to run 
on both alternative fuel and gasoline or diesel. The purchased 
vehicle must be properly registered with the Louisiana Department 
of Public Safety. You must attach documentation verifying the 
conversion or purchase of the vehicle. The credit is for 36 percent 
of the cost of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel 
property that has been purchased or installed. If the taxpayer is 

unable to determine the exact cost attributable to the qualified 
clean-burning motor vehicle, the credit amount currently allowed 
is equal to 7.2 percent of the cost or $1,500, whichever is less.  

73F – 	 Digital Interactive Media & Software – R.S. 47:6022 provides a 
credit to individuals for the investment in businesses specializing 
in digital interactive media and software. Taxpayers must apply to 
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to receive 
certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must be attached 
to the return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s 
website.

74F – 	 Solar Energy Systems – Leased – R.S. 47:6030 allows a refundable 
credit for taxpayers who purchased and installed, through a lease 
with the residence owner, a solar electric system at a single-family 
detached residence located in the state. Only one credit is allowed per 
residence including prior installations for which a credit was received. 
The credit is equal to 38 percent of the first $20,000 of the cost of 
such system. For the purpose of determining the amount of the credit 
on leased systems, the cost of a system is limited to no more than $2 
per watt for a system purchased and installed on or after July 1, 2015. 
Since the system is limited to providing for no more than six kilowatts 
of energy, the maximum credit base for leased systems is $12,000. 
Form R-1086, available on LDR’s website, must be attached to your 
return as documentation for this credit. When taking this credit, the 
taxpayer will not be eligible for any other state tax credit, exemption, 
exclusion, deduction, or any other tax benefit for that property. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 15-026 on LDR’s website. If you are 
claiming the solar credit, you must file your return electronically.  

80F – 	 Other Refundable Credit – Reserved for future credits.

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

Instructions for Refundable Priority 4 Credits, Schedule I-NR

Refundable Priority 4 Credits, Lines 1 through 5
Additional refundable credits available for the tax year ending December 
31, 2016 are referenced individually by a three-digit code. Please enter 
the credit description, identifying code and the dollar amount claimed in 
the appropriate spaces on Lines 1 through 5. 

Line 6 – Add Lines 1 through 5. Also, enter the amount on Form IT-540B, 
Line 27.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule I-NR. 
The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed 
in this booklet.

Credit Description	 Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Inventory Tax	 5 0 F 5 0 0 00. 	  

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

50F – 	 Inventory Tax – You must use Form R-10610 to calculate the 
amount of credit you can claim. R.S. 47:6006 allows a credit 
against income tax for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivi-
sions in Louisiana on inventory held by manufacturers, distribu-
tors, or retailers. Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
changed the limitation on the amount of the excess credit over 
tax that is refunded, and required that groups of affiliated com-
panies be treated as one taxpayer for purposes of the limitations 
on refundability.  Except for new business entities formed or first 
registered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 
4 deemed that if the total amount eligible for the credit is less 
than or equal to $500,000, 100% of any excess credit is refund-
able, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75% of any 
excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.  For 
new business entities formed or first registered to do business 
in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if the total 
amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000, 100% of any 
excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts $10,000 
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Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Schedule J – NR
Nonrefundable Child Care Credits  
Lines 1 – If you have claimed a Federal Child Care Credit on either 
Federal Form 1040A, Line 31, or Federal Form 1040, Line 49, enter the 
amount.

Line 2 – Enter the amount of your 2016 Louisiana Nonrefundable 
Child Care Credit from the Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit 
Worksheet on page 13. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be 
greater than $25,000 to claim this credit. See instructions on page 12.

Line 3 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care 
Credit carried forward from 2012 through 2015. The amount of your 
2011 Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Carryforward cannot be includ-
ed in this amount. To determine the carry forward amount, use the 
Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 13.

Line 4 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable School 
Readiness Credit. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be 
greater than $25,000 to claim this credit. The amount is determined 
from your Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet on 
page 14. In the boxes under Line 4, enter the number of your qualified 
dependents who attended the associated star rated facility or facilities.

Line 5 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable School 
Readiness Credit carried forward from 2012 through 2015. The amount 
of your 2011 Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Carryforward can-
not be included in this amount. To determine the carry forward amount, 
use the Louisiana Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet 
on page 14.

Additional Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Lines 6 through 15 
Additional nonrefundable credits available for the tax year ending 
December 31, 2016 are referenced individually by a three-digit code. 
Please enter the credit description, identifying code and the dollar 
amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 6 through 15. For 
Lines 12A, 13A, 14A and 15A, enter the State Certification Number 
from Form R-6135 for credits claimed on Lines 12 through 15.

Line 16 – Add Lines 2 through 15. Also, enter the amount on Form 
IT-540B, Line 22.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule 
J-NR. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other 
codes listed in this booklet.

Example: 

Credit Description	 Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

New Jobs Credit 	 2 2 4 5 0 0 00.
CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

200 – 	 Atchafalaya Trace – R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit to certain 
heritage-based cottage industries that have entered into a con-
tract with the State Board of Commerce and Industry. A copy of 
the contract must be attached to the return.

202 – 	 Organ Donation – R.S. 47:297(N) provides a credit to offset 
certain expenses incurred by an individual or spouse for a living 
organ donation. 

204 – 	 Household Expense for Physically and Mentally Incapable 
Persons – R.S. 47:297.2 provides a credit for a person who 
maintains a household that includes one or more dependents 

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION

	 who are physically or mentally incapable of caring for them-
selves. The credit is for the applicable percentage of employment 
related expenses allowable pursuant to Section 21 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 

208 – 	 Previously Unemployed – R.S. 47:6004 provides a credit for hir-
ing a previously unemployed person who participates in the Family 
Independence Work Program in a newly created full time job. 

210 – 	 Recycling Credit – R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for the 
purchase of certain equipment or service contracts related to 
recycling. The credit must be certified by the Louisiana Department 
of Environmental Quality and a copy of the certification must be 
attached to the return. 

212 – 	 Basic Skills Training – R.S. 47:6009 provides a credit for 
employers who pay for training to bring employees’ reading, 
writing, or mathematical skills to at least the 12th grade level. 
The credit cannot exceed $180 per participating employee and 
cannot exceed $21,600 for the tax year.

218 – 	 Inventory Tax Credit Carried Forward and ITEP – Use this code 
for the current year credit and carryforward of credit deemed non-
refundable by Act 5 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
(ITEP), and for carryforward of credit (not current year credit) 
deemed nonrefundable by Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Session 
and by Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session. R.S. 
47:6006 allows a credit against income tax for ad valorem taxes 
paid to political subdivisions in Louisiana on inventory held by 
manufacturers, distributors, or retailers. Act 4 of the 2016 Second 
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the amount of 
the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required that 
groups of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer for 
purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed 
on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. Act 5 of the 2016 Second 
Extraordinary Session changed the inventory tax credit to a non-
refundable credit for taxes paid on inventory by any manufacturer 
who claimed the property tax exemption under the Industrial Tax 
Exemption program (ITEP) during the same year the inventory 
taxes were paid, and taxes paid any company related to such 
manufacturer for taxes paid on inventory that is related to the 
business of such manufacturer. 

219 – 	 Ad Valorem Natural Gas Credit Carried Forward – Use this 
code for carryforward of credit (not current year credit) deemed 
nonrefundable by Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Session and by 
Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session. R.S. 47:6006 
allows a credit against income tax for ad valorem taxes paid 
to political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used 
or consumed by in providing natural gas storage services or 
operating natural gas storage facilities. Act 4 of the 2016 Second 
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the amount of 
the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required that 
groups of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer for 
purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed 
on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016.

224 – 	 New Jobs Credit – R.S. 47:34 and R.S. 47:287.749 provide a 
credit to employers who establish or expand a business in the 
state. A schedule that includes the calculation of the credit must 
be attached to the return and must include the name, address, 
and Social Security Number of each new employee; highest 
number of full-time and qualified part-time employees during 
the previous year; highest number of full-time and part-time 
employees during the current year; number of new employees 

Instructions for Refundable Priority 4 Credits, Schedule I-NR ...Continued

or more, 75% of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 
is refundable. Act 5 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session 
changed the inventory tax credit to a nonrefundable credit for 
taxes paid on inventory by any manufacturer who claimed the 
property tax exemption under the Industrial Tax Exemption pro-
gram (ITEP) during the same year the inventory taxes were paid, 
and for taxes paid by any company related to such manufacturer 
on inventory that is related to the business of such manufacturer.   

51F – 	 Ad Valorem Natural Gas – You must use Form R-10610 to cal-
culate the amount of credit you can claim.  R.S. 47:6006 allows 
a credit against income tax for ad valorem taxes paid to political 
subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used or consumed 
by in providing natural gas storage services or operating natural 
gas storage facilities. Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary 
Session changed the limitation on the amount of the excess 

credit over tax that is refunded, and required that groups of affili-
ated companies be treated as one taxpayer for purposes of the 
limitations on refundability, for the credit claimed on returns filed 
on or after July 1, 2016.  Except for new business entities formed 
or first registered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 
2016, Act 4 deemed that if the total amount eligible for the credit 
is less than or equal to $500,000, 100% of any excess credit is 
refundable, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75% 
of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.  
For new business entities formed or first registered to do busi-
ness in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if the 
total amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000, 100% of 
any excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts 
$10,000 or more, 75% of any excess credit up to a maximum of 
$750,000 is refundable.  

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION
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Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Schedule J - NR ...Continued

hired for new jobs created during this taxable year; and amount 
of credit carried forward from the previous year. 

226 – 	 Refund by Utilities – R.S. 47:287.664 provides a credit for 
certain court ordered refunds made by utilities to its customers. 

228 – 	 Eligible Re-entrants – R.S. 47:287.748 provides a credit to a 
taxpayer who employs an eligible re-entrant in Louisiana. An 
eligible re-entrant is defined as a person who has been convicted 
of a felony and who has successfully completed the Intensive 
Incarceration Program, as provided in R.S. 15:574.4.

230 – 	 Neighborhood Assistance – R.S. 47:35 and R.S. 47:287.753 
provide a credit for an entity engaged in the activities of providing 
neighborhood assistance, job training, education for individuals, 
community services, or crime prevention in Louisiana. The credit 
is equal to 50 percent of the amount contributed and can not 
exceed $180,000.

231 –	 Research and Development – R.S. 47:6015(K) allows a credit 
for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 26 
U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities. Use this code 
for Research and Development credits earned for expenditures 
made beginning January 1, 2015. The credit is obtained through 
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development and 
documentation from that agency must be attached to the return. 
See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on LDR’s website.

232 – 	 Cane River Heritage – R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit for a 
heritage-based cottage industry located or to be located in the 
Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. The taxpayer 
must enter into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a copy of the contract 
must be attached to the return. 

234 – 	 LA Community Economic Development – R.S. 47:6031 
provides a credit for money donated, contributed, or represented 
by a sale below cost by the taxpayer to a certified community 
development corporation or a certified community development 
financial institution. The credit must be certified by the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development, and a copy of the 
certification must be attached to the return. 

236 – 	 Apprenticeship – R.S. 47:6033 provides a credit to employers for 
one dollar for each hour of employment of an eligible apprentice, 
limited to 1,000 hours for each eligible apprentice. An eligible 
apprentice is a person who has entered into a written apprentice 
agreement with an employer or an association of employers 
pursuant to a registered apprenticeship program or who is 
enrolled in a training program accredited by the National Center 
for Construction Education and Research. For more information 
regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana Workforce Commission. 

238 – 	 Ports of Louisiana Investor – R.S. 47:6036(C) provides a credit 
to individuals to encourage investment in state port facilities in 
Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return. 

240 – 	 Ports of Louisiana Import Export Cargo – R.S. 47:6036(I) 
provides a credit to individuals to encourage the use of state 
port facilities in Louisiana. The credit is based on the number 
of tons of qualified cargo imported and exported from or to 
manufacturing, fabrication, assembly, distribution, processing, 
or warehousing facilities located in the state. Taxpayers must 
apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to 
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must 
be attached to the return.

251 – 	 Motion Picture Investment – R.S. 47:6007(C)(1) provides 
a credit for an individual taxpayer residing in Louisiana who 
invests in a state-certified, motion picture production. Taxpayers 
taking this credit may attach Form R-10611, available on 
LDR’s website, as documentation for this credit. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 15-033 for more information.

252 – 	 Research and Development – R.S. 47:6015 provides a credit 
for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 26 
U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities. Use this code 
for Research and Development credits earned for expenditures 
made in tax years beginning before January 1, 2009. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 09-020 on LDR’s website.

253 – 	 Historic Structures – R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if the 
taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the rehabilitation of a 
historic structure that is located in a Downtown Development 
District or cultural district. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 
14-007 and 14-007A on LDR’s website.

254 – 	 Digital Interactive Media – R.S. 47:6022 provides a credit to 
individuals for the investment in businesses specializing in digi-
tal interactive media. Use this code for Digital Interactive Media 
credits earned for expenditures made prior to January 1, 2012. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certification 
of the credit must be attached to the return. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s website.

256 – 	 Motion Picture Employment of Resident – R.S. 47:1125.1 
provides a credit for the employment of residents of Louisiana 
in connection with the production of a motion picture. The 
credit may flow to an individual via a partnership, limited liability 
company, Subchapter S Corporation, or other entities. Refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 05-005 on LDR’s website. 

257 – 	 Capital Company – R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit for any per-
son who invests in a certified Louisiana Capital Company. This 
credit must be approved by the Commissioner of the Louisiana 
Office of Financial Institutions. A copy of the certification must be 
attached to the return.

258 – 	 LA Community Development Financial Institution (LCDFI) 
– R.S. 51:3085 et seq. provides a credit for certain investments 
in an LCDFI to encourage the expansion of businesses in eco-
nomically distressed areas. The Louisiana Office of Financial 
Institutions administers this program. 

259 – 	 New Markets – R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the taxpayer 
makes certain qualified low-income community investments, as 
defined in Section 45D of the Internal Revenue Code. The tax-
payer must be certified by the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development and approved by LDR. Information on the program 
investment limits are posted as Revenue Information Bulletins on 
LDR’s website. 

260 – 	 Brownfields Investor Credit – R.S. 47:6021 provides a credit 
to individuals to encourage the cleanup, redevelopment, and 
productive reuse of brownfields sites in the state. The credit 
is obtained through the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development and the Louisiana Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

261 – 	 Motion Picture Infrastructure – R.S. 47:6007(C)(2) provides 
a credit for an approved state-certified infrastructure project for 
a film, video, television, or digital production or postproduction 
facility. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return. Refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06-004 on LDR’s website. 

262 – 	 Angel Investor – R.S. 47:6020 provides a credit for taxpayers 
who make third party investments in certified Louisiana 
entrepreneurial businesses on or after January 1, 2011. To earn 
the Angel Investor Credit, taxpayers must file an application 
with the Louisiana Department of Economic Development. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 12-009 on LDR’s website. 

299 – 	 Other – Reserved for future credits. 

300 – 	 Biomed/University Research – R.S. 17:3389 provides a credit 
to persons who establish research activities either in a Biomedical 
or a University Research and Development Park. The taxpayer 
must enter into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development, and a copy of the contract showing the 
credit granted must be attached to the return. 

305 – 	 Tax Equalization – R.S. 47:3201 et seq. provides a credit for tax 
equalization for certain businesses locating in Louisiana. The tax-
payer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development, and a copy of the contract showing the 
credit granted must be attached to the return.

310 – 	 Manufacturing Establishments – R.S. 47:4301 et seq. pro-
vides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments that 
have entered into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development. A copy of the contract showing the 
credit granted must be attached to the return. 

315 – 	 Enterprise Zone – R.S. 51:1781 et seq. provides a credit for 
private sector investments in certain areas that are designated 
as “Enterprise Zones.” The taxpayer must enter into a contract 
with the Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and a 
copy of the contract showing the credit granted must be attached 
to the return. 

399 – 	 Other – Reserved for future credits.

CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE	 CREDIT DESCRIPTION
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Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

Extension of Time for Filing a Return

In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not pay all 
amounts due on or before the due date.

1. 	 A 2016 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2017.

2. 	 Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of the fifth 
month after the close of the taxable year.

3. 	 If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the return is due 
the next business day.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your obligation to 
pay all tax amounts due by the original due date.

Interest – If your income tax is not paid by the due date, you will be 
charged interest on the unpaid tax until the balance is paid in full. The 
interest rate is variable and the 2017 interest rate is posted on LDR’s web-
site on Form R-1111, Interest Rate Schedule Collected on Unpaid Taxes. 
To compute the DAILY INTEREST RATE, multiply the 2017 monthly inter-
est rate by 12 then divide the result by 365 and carry out to seven places 
to the right of the decimal. Example: Assume the 2017 monthly interest 
rate is 0.5833 percent, multiply 0.005833 by 12 then divide the result by 
365 to get the daily interest rate of 0.0001917. 

Interest Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date.

2 Daily interest rate (See instructions above.)  0. _______
3 Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)

4 Amount you owe (Form IT-540B, Line 41.) .00
5

Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, and 
enter the result on Form IT-540B, Line 45.) .00

Delinquent Filing Penalty – A delinquent filing penalty will be charged for 
failure to file a timely return on or before your due date or your approved 
extension date. The penalty is five percent of the tax for each 30 days 
or fraction thereof during which the failure to file continues. By law, the 
maximum delinquent filing penalty that can be imposed is 25 percent of 
the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1
Number of days late from your due date, or 
your approved extension date.

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase to nearest whole
number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .05

5
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3	
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed
25 percent.)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540B, Line 41.) .00

7
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty 
due (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter 	
the result on Form IT-540B, Line 46.) .00

Important Notice: The sum of both the delinquent filing and delinquent 
payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due. Thirty 
day increments are used for the calculation of the delinquent filing and 
delinquent payment penalties. These penalties are based on the date LDR 
receives the return or payment. In addition to the delinquent penalties 
mentioned above, you may also incur a negligence penalty if circumstances 
indicate willful negligence or intentional disregard of rules and regulations.

Delinquent Payment Penalty – If you fail to pay the tax due by the due 
date, a delinquent payment penalty of 0.5 percent of the tax not paid by 
the due date will accrue for each 30 days, or fraction thereof, during which 
the failure to pay continues. This penalty cannot exceed 25 percent of the 
tax due. Use the worksheet below to calculate that penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date.

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase the amount to the 
nearest whole number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .005

5
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3 
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25 
percent.) 

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540B, Line 41.) .00

7
Total amount of Delinquent Payment 
Penalty (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter 
the result on Form IT-540B, Line 47.) .00

Underpayment Penalty – Louisiana imposes an underpayment penalty 
on an individual’s failure to sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year 
by withholding or declaration payments. In order to determine if an under-
payment penalty is due and to compute the amount of the underpayment 
penalty, you must complete Form R-210NR, Nonresident and Part-Year 
Resident Underpayment Penalty Return and attach the completed form to 
your return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 04-004 for the definition of 
farmer for purposes of applying underpayment penalty.

Line 35 – Although you may have an overpayment, if you failed to 
sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year, in accordance with 
R.S.47:117.1, you may be subject to the underpayment penalty. Complete 
the 2016 Form R-210NR available on LDR’s website and enter the amount 
from Line 19 on this line. Attach the completed R-210NR to your return. If 
you are a farmer, mark the box on Line 35.

Line 48 – If you have a tax deficiency, you may be charged an underpay-
ment penalty. Complete the 2016 Form R-210NR and enter the amount 
from Line 19 on this line. Attach the completed R-210NR to your return. If 
you are a farmer, mark the box on Line 48.

The Secretary of LDR may grant an extension of time for filing returns not 
to exceed six months from the date the Louisiana income tax return is 
due. Extensions must be filed before the due date of the return. The four 
options for requesting an extension are as follows: 

1.	 	 Filing an extension request electronically via LDR's website at rev-
enue.louisiana.gov/fileonline or revenue.louisiana.gov/extensions. 

2.	 	 Filing an extension request electronically via LDR’s IVR phone 
system by calling 225-922-3270 or 888-829-3071. For an extension 
request, select option #3, then select option #1. Taxpayers will need 
the social security number of the primary account holder to request 
the extension;  

3.	 	 Submitting a state extension to LDR by “checking the state extension 
box” included in the tax preparation software for an electronically-filed 
return; or

4.	 	 Submitting Form R-2867, Transmittal of Federal Extension, along 
with a copy of your federal paper extension or a copy of the receipt 
for an electronic filed federal extension. 

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting additional time 
to file your tax return. An extension does not extend the time to pay 
the tax. Payments received after the due date will be charged interest 
and penalties.

X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.
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R.S. 47:297.4 allows a state tax credit for residents for child and depen-
dent care expenses allowed by Internal Revenue Code Section 21. The 
credit is refundable for taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
is $25,000 or less and is nonrefundable for taxpayers whose Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is more than $25,000. 

The Child Care Credit may only be taken for child care expenses 
incurred in Louisiana during the time a person was a Louisiana 
resident.

INCOME EQUAL TO OR LESS THAN $25,000
Taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income is $25,000 or less are 
allowed a refundable credit whether or not a federal child care credit has 
been claimed. In order to claim the Louisiana Refundable Child Care 
Credit, the taxpayer must comply with the same law and rules of Internal 
Revenue Code Section 21 that governs the federal child care credit for the 
2016 taxable year. Use Lines 1 through 11 of the Louisiana Refundable 
Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 15 to compute your refundable 
credit. See instructions for the worksheet below.

INCOME GREATER THAN $25,000
Taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income is greater than $25,000 
are allowed a credit against their Louisiana income tax liability for a certain 
percentage of their federal child care credit. If you are unable to claim the 
credit in the year in which it is earned, the unused portion of the credit 
can be used over the next four years. Use Lines 1 through 17 of the 2016 
Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 13 to 
compute your 2016 nonrefundable credit, and to appropriately claim any 
carry forward you may have from previous years.

REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE CREDIT INSTRUCTIONS
1.	 Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be $25,000 or less to 

claim a Louisiana refundable child care credit. If you did not file and 
claim a federal child care credit, you may still file for, and receive, a 
refundable Louisiana Child Care Credit, if you meet certain criteria. 
In order to qualify for the Louisiana credit, you must meet the same 
tests for earned income, qualifying dependents, and qualifying 
expenses as required by the IRS for the federal child care credit.

2.	 In order to claim your Louisiana Child Care Credit, you must meet 
the following requirements:

A.	 Your filing status must be single, head of household, qualifying 
widow(er), or married filing jointly. See item number 3 for infor-
mation on married filing separately.

B.	 The care was provided to your dependent child to allow you, 
and your spouse if married filing jointly, to work or look for work. 
If you did not find a job and have no earned income for the year, 
you cannot claim the credit.

C.	 The qualifying child must be under age 13.

D.	 The person who provided the care cannot be your spouse, the 
parent of the qualifying child, or a person whom you can claim 
as a dependent. If your child provided the care, he can not be 
your dependent and must be age 19 or older by the end of 2016.

3.	 If your filing status is married filing separately, you will be considered 
single for purposes of calculating the credit if all of the following 
apply:

A.	 You lived apart from your spouse during the last 6 months of 2016.

B.	 Your qualifying dependent child lived in your home for more 
than half of 2016.

C.	 You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

If you meet all these requirements and meet the requirements of 
2(B), 2(C), and 2(D) you are eligible for the credit.

DEFINITIONS:

Qualifying Child - A child under age 13 who can be claimed as a 
dependent by the taxpayer. If the child turned 13 during the year, the child 
qualifies for the part of the year he was under age 13.

Qualified Expenses - Amounts paid for household services and care of 
the qualifying person while the taxpayer worked or looked for work. Child 
support payments are not qualified expenses. Also, expenses reimbursed 
by a state social service agency are not qualified expenses unless the 
reimbursement was included in the taxpayer’s income. Prepaid expenses 
are treated as paid in the year the care was provided. Do not include the 
following as qualified expenses for 2016:

A.	 Expenses incurred in 2016 but not paid until 2017.

B.	 Expenses incurred in 2015 but did not pay until 2016.

C.	 Expenses prepaid in 2016 for care to be provided in 2017.

Dependent Care Benefits - These include amounts your employer paid 
directly to either you or your care provider for the care of your qualifying 
child while you worked. Also, dependent care benefits include the fair 
market value of care in a daycare facility provided or sponsored by your 
employer and any pre-tax contributions you made under a dependent 
care flexible spending arrangement (FSA). Your salary may have been 
reduced to pay for these benefits. If you received dependent care benefits, 
they should be shown on your 2016 Forms W-2 in box 10.

Earned Income - Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, other 
taxable employee compensation, and net earnings from self employment. 
A net loss from self employment reduces earned income. Earned income 
also includes strike benefits, any disability pay you report as wages, and 
other taxable compensation. You can elect to include nontaxable combat 
pay in earned income. Earned income does not include: pensions and 
annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation, interest, 
dividends, or unemployment compensation, scholarship or fellowship 
grants, nontaxable workfare payment, or any amount received for work 
while an inmate in a penal institution.

For additional definitions, details, and information, see the Internal 
Revenue Service’s Publication 503.

2016 Louisiana Child Care Credit Instructions
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1 Enter Federal Child Care Credit from Federal Form 1040, Line 49 or Federal Form 1040A, Line 31.  1
.00

1A

Enter the applicable percentage from the chart shown below. 

	 Federal Adjusted Gross Income	 Percentage

	 $25,001 – $35,000	 30% (.30)
	 $35,001 – $60,000	 10% (.10)
	 over $60,000	 10% (.10)

1A X . _______

2
Multiply your Federal Child Care Credit shown on Line 1 by the percentage shown on Line 1A and enter the 
result. If your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is less than or equal to $60,000, this is your available 
Nonrefundable Child Care Credit for 2016. Proceed to Line 3.

2

.00

2A
Important! If your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is greater than $60,000, the amount on Line 2 is limited 
to the LESSER of $25.00, or 10 percent of the federal credit. If Line 2 is greater than $25.00, enter $25 here. 
This is your available Nonrefundable Child Care Credit for 2016.

2A
.00

3 Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax from Form IT-540B, Line 20. 3
.00

4

If Line 3 is less than or equal to zero, your entire Child Care Credit for 2016 (Line 2 or 2A above) will be carried 
forward to 2017. Also, any available carryforward from 2012 through 2015 will be carried forward to 2017. If Line 
3 above is less than or equal to zero, enter zero “0” on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR Lines 2 and 3. Stop here; 
you are finished with the worksheet.

4

Use Lines 5 through 8 to determine the amount of Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Carryforward from 2012  
through 2015 utilized for 2016.  

5 If Line 3 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 3.  5
.00

6 Enter the amount of any Child Care Credit Carryforward from 2012 through 2015. 6
.00

7 Subtract Line 6 from Line 5.  7
.00

8

If Line 7 is less than or equal to zero, the amount of Child Care Credit Carryforward used for 2016 is equal to Line 
5 above. Enter the amount from Line 5 above on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR. Line 3. If Line 7 is less than zero, 
subtract Line 5 from Line 6 and enter the result here. This amount is your unused Child Care Credit Carryforward 
from 2012 through 2015 that can be carried forward to 2017. Also, your entire Child Care Credit for 2016 (Line 2 
or 2A above) will be carried forward to 2017. Stop here; you are finished with the worksheet.  

8

.00

Use Lines 9 through 13 to determine the amount of Child Care Credit Carryforward utilized from 2012 through 2015 plus any 
amount of your 2016 Child Care Credit.  

9 If Line 7 above is greater than zero, enter the amount of carryforward shown on Line 6 above on Form IT-540B, 
Schedule J-NR, Line 3.

9

10 If Line 7 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 7.  10
.00

11 Enter the amount of your 2016 Child Care Credit (Line 2 or Line 2A above). 11
.00

12 Subtract Line 11 from Line 10.  12
.00

13
If Line 12 is greater than or equal to zero, your entire Child Care Credit for 2016 (Line 2 or 2A above) has been 
utilized. Enter the amount from Line 11 above on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 2. Stop here; you are 
finished with the worksheet. 

13

Use Line 14 to determine what amount of your 2016 Child Care Credit you can claim.  

14 If Line 12 above is less than zero, the amount on Line 10 above is the amount of your 2016 Child Care Credit. 
Enter the amount from Line 10 above on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 2

14

Use Line 15 to determine the amount of your 2016 Child Care Credit to be carried forward to 2017.  

15
If Line 12 above is less than zero, subtract Line 10 from Line 11 to compute your Child Care Carryforward to 
2017. Enter the result here and keep this amount for your records.

15
.00

X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

2016 Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet (For use with Form IT-540B)
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The Child Care Credit may only be taken for child care expenses incurred in Louisiana during the time a person was a Louisiana resident.
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X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

2016 Louisiana Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet (For use with Form IT-540B)

R.S. 47:6104 provides a School Readiness Credit in addition to the credit for child care expenses as provided under R.S. 47:297.4. To qualify for this credit, 
the taxpayer must have Federal Adjusted Gross Income GREATER THAN $25,000, must have claimed a Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit, 
and must have incurred child care expenses for a qualified dependent under age six who attended a child care facility that is participating in the Quality 
Start Rating program administered by the Louisiana Department of Education. The qualifying child care facility must have provided the taxpayer with Form 
R-10614 which verifies the facility’s name, the state license number, the LA Revenue Account number, the Quality Rating, and the rating award date. 

1
Enter the amount of 2016 Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit found on the Louisiana Nonrefundable 
Child Care Credit Worksheet on either Line 2 or Line 2A.

1
.00

2

Using the star rating of the child care facility that your qualified dependent attended during 2016, shown on Form R-10614, enter the number of your 
qualified dependents under age six who attended a: 

	 Five Star Facility	 ________	 and multiply the number by 2.0  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .            (i)	 __________ .______

	 Four Star Facility	 ________	 and multiply the number by 1.5  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .            (ii)	__________ .	 ______

	 Three Star Facility	 ________	 and multiply the number by 1.0  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .            (iii)	__________ .	 ______

	 Two Star Facility 	 ________	 and multiply the number by .50  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .            (iv)	__________ .	 ______

On Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 4 enter in the boxes designated for 5, 4, 3, or 2 the number of your qualified dependents as shown above 
for the associated star rated facility.

3 Add lines (i) through (iv) and enter the result. Be sure to include the decimal. 3 X ________________._____

4
Multiply Line 1 by the total on Line 3. If the number results in a decimal, round to the nearest dollar and 
enter the result here. This is your available Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit for 2016.

4
.00

5 Enter the amount from Form IT-540B, Line 20. 5 .00

6 Add the amounts of Nonrefundable credits from Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Lines 2 and 3. 6 .00

7 Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. 7 .00

8
If Line 7 is less than or equal to zero, your entire School Readiness Credit for 2016 (Line 4) will be carried forward to 2017. Also, any available 
carryforward from 2012 through 2015 will be carried forward to 2017. If Line 7 above is less than or equal to zero, enter zero “0” on Form IT-540B, 
Schedule J-NR, Lines 4 and 5. Stop here; you are finished with the worksheet.

Use Lines 9 through 12 to determine the amount of Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Carryforward  
from 2012 through 2015 utilized for 2016.  

9 If Line 7 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 7. 9 .00

10 Enter the amount of any School Readiness Credit Carryforward from 2012 through 2015. 10 .00

11 Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. 11 .00

12

If Line 11 is less than or equal to zero, the amount of School Readiness Credit Carryforward used for 2016 
is equal to Line 9. Enter the amount from Line 9 on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 5. If Line 11 is 
less than zero, subtract Line 9 from Line 10 and enter the result here. This amount is your unused School 
Readiness Credit Carryforward from 2012 through 2015 that can be carried forward to 2017. Also, your entire 
School Readiness Credit for 2016 (Line 4) will be carried forward to 2017. Stop here; you are finished with 
the worksheet.

12

.00

Use Lines 13 through 17 to determine the amount of School Readiness Credit Carryforward utilized  
from 2012 through 2015 plus any amount of your 2016 School Readiness Credit.

13 If Line 11 above is greater than zero, enter the amount of carryforward shown on Line 10 above on Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 5.

14 If Line 11 is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 11. 14 .00

15 Enter the amount of your 2016 School Readiness Credit (Line 4). 15 .00

16 Subtract Line 15 from Line 14. 16 .00

17
If Line 16 is greater than or equal to zero, your entire School Readiness Credit for 2016 (Line 4) has been utilized. Enter the amount from Line 15 
on IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 4. Stop here; you are finished with the worksheet.

Use Line 18 to determine what amount of your 2016 School Readiness Credit you can claim.

18
If Line 16 is less than zero, the amount on Line 14 is the amount of your 2016 School Readiness Credit. Enter the amount from Line 14 above on 
Form IT-540B, Schedule J-NR, Line 4.

Use Line 19 to determine the amount of your 2016 School Readiness Credit to be carried forward to to 2017.

19
If Line 16 is less than zero, subtract Line 14 from Line 15 to compute your School Readiness Carryforward 
to 2017. Enter the result here and keep this amount for your records.

19 .00
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