IT-540B-NRAi (1/21)

General Information for Filing Your 2020 Louisiana Nonresident

Professional Athlete Individual Income Tax Return

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN (Form IT-540B-NRA)

1. All nonresident and part-year resident individuals must file
Form IT-540B-NRA, Louisiana Nonresident Professional
Athlete Individual Income Tax Return, if he or she is a
professional athlete who earned income as a result of
services rendered within Louisiana and is required to file a
federal individual income tax return.

2. Any nonresident professional athlete who has overpaid their
tax through withholding or declaration of estimated tax must
file a return to obtain a refund or credit.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Under the provisions of Louisiana Revised
Statute (R.S.) 47:1602.1, penalties will be imposed for failure
to use Form IT-540B-NRA when filing and reporting Louisiana
income. A $500 penalty will be imposed for the first failure to file
the correct form, a $1,000 penalty for the second failure to file the
correct form, and $2,500 each additional failure to file the correct
form within a three year period.

ELECTRONIC FILING MANDATE

Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:111.1527 requires the
electronic filing of all reports and returns related to the Sports
Facility Assistance Fund. This rule requires all professional
athletes that participate in athletic events within the state of
Louisiana to file all tax returns, including extension requests,
electronically. A $1,000 penalty will be imposed for each failure
to file electronically.

All nonresident and part-year resident professional athletes must
file Form IT-540B-NRA electronically. Form IT-540B-NRA can
be filed electronically through Louisiana File Online or through
tax preparation software.

A resident professional athlete is required to file Form IT-540,
Louisiana Resident Individual Income Tax Return, and must file
electronically under LAC 61:111.1527.

INCOME TO BE REPORTED ON THIS FORM

1. The Louisiana income of a nonresident or part-year resident
who is a member of a professional athletic team should be
reported to Louisiana. Louisiana income is the portion of the
total compensation for services rendered as a member of
a professional athletic team during the taxable year earned
while in Louisiana. The reported income is proportional to the
number of duty days spent within the state rendering services
for the team in any manner, compared to the total number
of duty days spent both within and without the state during
the taxable year. This reporting requirement shall include all
employees who are active players, players on the disabled
list, and any other persons required to travel and perform
services on behalf of a professional athletic team on a regular
basis. This includes, but is not limited to, coaches, managers,
and trainers.

2. The Louisiana income of a nonresident or part-year resident
athlete who is NOT a member of a professional athletic
team (e.g. PGA golfer) should be reported to Louisiana. The
amount to be reported is the gross amount earned in the state
less the ordinary and necessary business expenses directly
attributable to the state, and a pro-rata share of indirect
business expenses not directly attributable to income from

any particular source.

3. All other Louisiana-sourced income should be reported.
Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the athlete
for endorsements, royalties, promotional advertising, etc. The
amount earned is calculated on a pro-rata basis for Louisiana.

FORMS
Forms and instructions are on the Louisiana Department of Rev-
enue (LDR) website, www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms.

AMENDED RETURNS

If you file your Louisiana income tax return and later become
aware of any changes you must make to income, deductions, or
credits, you must file an amended (corrected) Louisiana return.
You must use the correct form for the tax year being amended,
mark an “X” in the “Amended Return” box on the face of the return,
include an explanation of the change and a copy of the federal
amended return, Federal Form 1040X, if one was filed. If you are
amending your income tax return due to utilizing a Net Operating
Loss (NOL) carryback, you must mark an “X” in the “Amended
Return” box and also in the “NOL Carryback” box on the face of
the return, include an explanation of the change and a copy of the
federal amended return, Federal Form 1040X, if one was filed.

NOTE: Do not make any adjustments for refunds received or
for payments made with the original return. This information
is already on file.

FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS

R.S. 47:103(C) requires taxpayers whose federal returns are
adjusted to furnish a statement disclosing the nature and amounts
of the adjustments within 60 days after the adjustments have
been made and accepted. This statement must accompany the
amended state return.

WHEN TO FILE
1. A 2020 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2021.

2. Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of
the fifth month after the close of the taxable year.

3. If the due date falls on a weekend or legal state holiday, the
return is due the next business day.

PAYMENT OPTIONS

You may make an electronic payment at www.revenue.louisiana.
gov/latap. You may also make payment by check or money order.
DO NOT SEND CASH. Make your check or money order payable
to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Print the last four
digits of your Social Security Number on your check or money
order and attach it to your payment voucher.

You can also pay your taxes by credit card over the internet or by
telephone. Visit LDR’s website for more information.

VISA =2 & =
NETWORK EXPRESS

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING A RETURN
The Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue may grant
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an extension of time for filing returns not to exceed six months from
the date the Louisiana income tax return is due. State extensions
must be filed electronically before the due date of the return.
An extension can be requested on the LDR website at www.
revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. See page 17 for more options.

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting
additional time to file your tax return. An extension does not
extend the time to pay the tax. Payments received after the
due date will be charged interest and penalties.

INTEREST AND PENALTIES
See Interest and Penalty Calculation worksheets, page 17.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS

You should keep copies of federal and state tax returns and W-2
statements for four years. In most cases, you do not have to submit
a copy of your federal return with your state return unless request-
ed by LDR. If you have completed Schedule H-NRA to claim fed-
eral disaster relief credits, submit the specified forms as indicated
in the instructions.

Instructions for Preparing Your 2020 Nonresident Professional

Athlete Individual Income Tax Return, Form IT-540B-NRA

ABOUT THIS FORM

If you are a nonresident or part-year resident individual who is a
professional athlete and earned income as a result of services ren-
dered within Louisiana, you must file IT-540B-NRA electronically.

a. All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar.
b. To avoid any delay, use this form for 2020 only.

c. |If you are filing an amended return, mark an “X” in the
‘Amended Return” box.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER - Enter
your legal name, address, daytime telephone number, Social
Security Number, and date of birth on your return. For the unit
type, use postal abbreviations such as APT, FL, STE, and RM. If
you have a foreign address, enter the city name in the appropriate
space. Follow the country’s practice for entering the postal code
and the name of the province, county, or state. Enter the foreign
country name in the appropriate space. Don’t abbreviate the
country name.

If there is a change in your name or address since last year's
return (for example, new spouse), mark an “X” in the “Name
Change” or “Address Change” box. LDR automatically updates
your account when you change your address with the Post
Office. A direct address change can be accomplished by marking
the “Address Change” box when filing your return, or can be
submitted by accessing your account at www.revenue.louisiana.
gov/latap. If married, enter Social Security Numbers and date of
birth for both you and your spouse. On a joint return, your names
and Social Security Numbers must be listed in the same order that
you listed them on your federal return.

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS ASSOCIATION OR LEAGUE

Mark an “X” in the box to indicate the professional sports associa-
tion or league affiliated. You must be affiliated with one of these
leagues to file Form IT-540B-NRA.

Lines 1-5 — Filing status — You must use the same filing status on
your Louisiana return as you did on your federal return. In the box on
the left, enter the number corresponding to your filing status: “1” for
Single, “2” for Married Filing Jointly, “3” for Married Filing Separately,
“4” for Head of Household, and “5” for Qualifying Widow(er). Head

of Household status is for unmarried people who paid over half the
cost of keeping up a home for a qualifying person. If you file as Head
of Household or Qualifying Widow(er), you must show the child’s
name if the qualifying person is a child but not your dependent.

Lines 6A and 6B — Exemptions — Mark an “X” in the appropriate
boxes. You must use the same number of exemptions on your
Louisiana return as you did on your federal return, unless: you are
listed as a dependent on someone else’s return; you are age 65 or
over; or, you are blind. You must claim an exemption for yourself
on Line 6A, even if someone else claimed you on their federal
tax return. This box has already been marked with an “X” for you.

Line 6C — Enter the names of the dependents claimed on your
federal return. Complete the required information. If you have
more than 6 dependents, attach a statement to your return with
the required information. In the box on Line 6C, enter the total
number of dependents claimed.

Line 6D — Add Lines 6A, 6B, and 6C.

Line 7 — Enter the amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross
Income. This amount is taken from Federal Form 1040 or 1040-
SR, Line 11. If your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is less than
zero, enter zero, “0”.

Line 8A — Enter the amount of earned compensation from Schedule
NRA-1, Line 5.

Line 8B — Enter the amount of other income that was earned in
Louisiana. Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the
athlete for endorsements, royalties, promotional advertising, etc.
The amount earned is calculated on a pro-rata basis for Louisiana.

Line 8C — Add Lines 8A and 8B.

Line 9 — Divide Line 8C by Line 7. Carry out to two decimal places
in the percentage; for example, 48.32 percent. Do not round up.
The percentage cannot exceed 100 percent.

Lines 10A, 10B, and 10C - If you did not itemize your deductions on
your federal return, skip Lines 10A, 10B, and 10C and go to Line 10D.

Line 10A — If you itemized your deductions on your federal return,
enter the amount of your federal itemized deductions, shown on
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule A, Line 17.
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Line 10B — If you itemized your deductions on your federal return,
and your filing status is 1 or 3, enter $12,400; 2 or 5, enter $24,800;
4, enter $18,650

Line 10C — Subtract Line 10B from Line 10A. If less than zero,
enter zero “0.”

Line 10D - If you claimed federal disaster relief credits on your
federal return as a result of Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita,
you must complete Schedule H-NRA to determine your modified
federal income tax deduction for Louisiana. The federal disaster
relief credits claimed for this year and allowed by the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) could be credits that are carried forward
from previous years. However, the credits must be utilized on your
federal return. Attach a copy of your federal return that indicates
the amount of the credit, a copy of Federal Form 3800, and a copy
of the appropriate IRS form to substantiate the amount of the credit.

If you have not claimed federal disaster relief credits, use the
worksheet below to calculate your federal income tax deduction
and enter the result on Line 10D.

Federal Income Tax Deduction Worksheet

1. Enter the tax from Federal Form 1040
or 1040-SR, Line 22.

2. Net Investment Income Tax. Enter the
amount from Federal Form 8960, Line 17. $

3. Federal Tax. Add lines 1 and 2. $
4a. Enter the amount from Form 4972, Line 30. $
4b. Enter the amount from Form 8962, Line 29. $
5. Add lines 4a and 4b. $

6. Subtract line 5 from line 3 and enter on Line 10D.
If amount is negative, enter zero.

Line 10E — Add Lines 10C and 10D.

Line 10F — Multiply Line 10E by the percentage on Line 9. This
amount of deduction is the portion applicable to your Louisiana
income.

Line 11 — Subtract Line 10F from Line 8C. If less than zero, enter
zero, “0”

Line 12 — Enter the total tax amount from Line | of the tax
computation worksheet.

Line 13 — Enter the amount of the Nonrefundable Priority 1
Credits from Form IT-540B-NRA, Schedule C-NRA, Line 5.

Line 14 — Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. If the result is less than
zero, enter zero “0.”

Line 15 — Enter the amount of the Refundable Priority 2 Credits
from Form IT-540B-NRA, Schedule F-NRA, Line 9.

Line 16 — If Line 14 is greater than Line 15, subtract Line 15
from Line 14. Also, enter a zero “0” on Line 17 and go to Line 18.
Otherwise, enter a zero “0” on Line 16 and go to Line 17.

Line 17 — If Line 15 is greater than Line 14, subtract Line 14 from Line 15.

Line 18 — Enter the amount of the Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits
from Form IT-540B-NRA, Schedule J-NRA, Line 11. These credits
are limited to the tax liability calculated on Line 16.

Line 19 — Subtract Line 18 from Line 16. If less than zero, enter
zero “0”.

Line 20 — Enter the amount from Line 17, if applicable.

Line 21 — Enter the amount of the Refundable Priority 4 Credits
from Form IT-540B-NRA, Schedule I-NRA, Line 6.

Line 22 - Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld
in 2020. You must attach copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms that
indicate tax was withheld.

Line 23 — Enter the amount of any credit carried forward from
2019. This amount is shown on your 2019 Form IT-540, Line 38,
or Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 34.

Line 24 — Enter the total amount of estimated payments you made
for the 2020 tax year.

Line 25 — Enter the amount of the payment made with your 2020
extension request.

Line 26 — Add Lines 20 through 25.

Line 27 — Overpayment - If Line 26 is greater than Line 19,
subtract Line 19 from Line 26. Your overpayment may be reduced
by Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty. If Line 26 is equal to
Line 19, enter a zero on Lines 27 through 34 and go to Line 35. If
Line 26 is less than Line 19, enter a zero on Lines 27 through 33
and go to Line 34.

Line 28 — See instructions for Underpayment Penalty.

Line 29 — If Line 27 is greater than Line 28, subtract Line 28 from
Line 27 and enter the balance on Line 29. If Line 28 is greater than
Line 27, enter zero “0”, subtract Line 27 from Line 28, and enter
the balance on Line 34.

Line 30 — You may donate all or part of your overpayment (Line
29) to various organizations or funds listed on Schedule D-NRA,
Lines 2 through 18. Enter the amount from Schedule D-NRA, Line
19. This amount cannot be greater than Line 29.

Line 32 — Enter the amount of available overpayment shown on Line
31 that you wish to credit to 2021.

Line 33 — Subtract Line 32 from Line 31. This amount of overpayment
is available for credit or refund.

Line 33 — Subtract Line 32 from Line 31. This amount is to be
refunded. You must select how you want to receive your refund.
If this is your first time filing, your refund cannot be directly
deposited. Enter a “2” in the box if you want to receive your refund
by paper check. Enter a “3” in the box if you want your refund
directly deposited into your bank account. Carefully enter the
information in the boxes to indicate the type of bank account, the
routing number, and the account number. Your nine digit routing
number appears under the memo line of your check; your bank
account number will appear to the right of your routing number.
You are required to answer the question regarding the
location of the bank account. If the information is unreadable
or if you do not select a method to receive your refund, you
will receive your refund by paper check. Option 1 was omitted
intentionally.



Calculate your Louisiana tax by using the Tax Computation Worksheet.
(DO NOT USE RESIDENT TAX TABLES—USE WORKSHEET BELOW.)

TAX COMPUTATION WORKSHEET (Keep this worksheet for your records.)

A | Taxable Income: Enter the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 11. A .00
First Bracket: If Line A is greater than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), enter
B | $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5). If Line A is less than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing | B .00
status is 2 or 5), enter amount from Line A.
Combined Personal Exemption - Standard
C1 | Deduction: If your filing status is 2, 4, or 5, enter | C1 .00
$9,000; if 1 or 3, enter $4,500.
Credit for Dependents: Enter $1,000 for tax-
c2 payers and/or spouses who are 65 or over, or c2 00
blind, and for each dependent claimed on Form .
IT-540B-NRA, Line 6C.
C3 | Total: Add Lines C1 and C2. C3 .00
Ratio: Enter the ratio from Form IT-540B-NRA,
; D %
Line 9.
Allowable Deduction: Multiply Line C3 by the ratio on Line D. E .00 TAX
E Taxable First Bracket: Subtract Line E from Line B. If the result is zero or less than E 2%
zero, enter “0”. Multiply balance by 2% (.02) and enter the result in the TAX column. -00 Rate -00
Second Bracket: Subtract Line B from Line A; and, if the balance is greater than
G zero, enter the balance or $37,500 ($75,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), whichever is G 0 4% 0
less. Note: Reduce this amount by the amount that Line E exceeds Line B. Multiply -0 Rate 0
balance by 4% (.04) and enter the result in the TAX column.
Third Bracket: Subtract $50,000 ($100,000 if filing status is 2 or 5) from Line A 6%
H | and enter balance. If less than zero, enter “0.” Multiply the balance by 6% (.06) and | H .00 ° .00
enter the result in the TAX column. Rate
| | Total Tax: Add the tax on Lines F, G, and H. Enter here and on of Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 12. | .00

Line 34 - If Line 19 is greater than Line 26, subtract Line 26 from
Line 19. If you entered an amount from Line 29 as the result of
an underpayment penalty exceeding an overpayment, complete
Lines 35 through 37, enter zero “0” on Lines 38 through 41, and
go to Line 42.

Lines 35 through 37 — You may make an additional donation
to the funds listed on Lines 35 through 37. You must include
payment for the amount being donated with your return. The
donation will not be made unless you make payment and the
donation cannot be refunded at a later date.

Line 38 — Interest is charged on all tax amounts that are not paid
by the due date. Enter the amount from the Interest Calculation
Worksheet, Line 5.

Line 39 - If you fail to file your tax return by the due date —
on or before May 15, 2021, for calendar year filers, or on or
before your fiscal year due date, or on or before your approved
extension date, you may be charged a delinquent filing penalty.
Enter the amount from the Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation
Worksheet, Line 7.

Line 40 - If you fail to the pay the tax due by the due date — on
or before May 15, 2021, for calendar year filers, you may be
charged a delinquent payment penalty. Enter the amount from the

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet, Line 7.
Line 41 — See instructions for Underpayment Penalty.

Line 42 — Add Lines 34 through 41. You may make an electronic
payment at www.revenue.louisiana.gov. You may also make
payment by check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH.
Make your check or money order payable to the Louisiana
Department of Revenue. Print the last four digits of your Social
Security Number on your check or money order and attach it to
your payment voucher.

Paid Preparer Instructions — If this return was prepared by
a paid preparer, he or she must provide the paid preparer
information. The paid preparer must enter their name and
identification number when preparing and filing the return. If the
paid preparer has a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN),
the PTIN must be provided; otherwise, the Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN) or LDR account number must be
provided. If the paid preparer represents a firm, the firm’s FEIN
must also be provided. The failure of a paid preparer to sign or
provide an identification number will result in the assessment of
the unidentified preparer penalty on the preparer. The penalty is
$50 for each occurrence of failing to sign or failing to provide an
identification number.


http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov

General Information Regarding Tax Credits

If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed. The schedule should
clearly identify the credit, your name, and your Social Security Number. If documentation is required, you must submit the documentation
with your return. For faster processing, you can upload all required information when you file your return electronically. Revenue
Information Bulletins are posted on www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies under Policy Documents.

Note: If you are claiming a credit that is recorded in the Tax Credit Registry, you must attach a completed Form R-6140, Credit Utilization
Form, (Section 2) and a copy of Form R-6135, Credit Registration Form, to the tax return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 14-005
for information on the Tax Credit Registry and Revenue Information Bulletin 17-008 for claiming a purchased transferable tax credit.

Pass-through Entity Tax Election: If you are a shareholder, member, or partner of an entity that made the pass-through entity tax
election to pay Louisiana income tax at the entity level, any credits earned by the entity for 2020 cannot be used on the individual
income tax return. Credits earned in the year the election was made or after the election was made are tax items of the entity and the
credit and its future carryforward must be reported on the entity’s return. Tax credits earned in tax years prior to the election that have
previously passed through to the owners are tax items of the owners and any credit carryforward remaining can only be used on the
individual income tax return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 19-019 and Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.1001(C)(6) for
more information.

Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits, Schedule C-NRA

Additional Nonrefundable Priority 1 Credits, Lines 1 through 4 CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

Additional nonrefundable credits available for the tax year ending
December 31, 2020, are referenced individually by a three-digit
code. Please enter the credit description, identifying code, and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 4.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule
C-NRA. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Bone Marrow 11210 51010

Line 5 — Add Lines 1 through 4. Also, enter the amount on Form
IT-540B-NRA, Line 13.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

100 — Premium Tax — R.S. 47:227 provides a credit for premium
taxes paid during the preceding 12 months by an insurance
company authorized to do business in Louisiana. The
credit may be passed to individuals through certain legal
entities such as partnerships. A schedule must be attached
listing the entities that paid the premium tax and generated
the credit on behalf of the individual.

115 - Small Town Health Professionals — R.S. 47:297(H)
provides a credit for certified primary care physicians,
primary care physician assistants, dentists, optometrists,
or primary care nurse practitioners licensed to practice
in certain areas of Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to
the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) during the
application period of September 1, 2020, through October
31, 2020, and a copy of the certificate letter must be
attached to the return. The credit amount is listed on the
certificate letter and is limited to tax. For more information,
see Revenue Information Bulletin 18-028 and Louisiana
Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.1915.

120 — Bone Marrow — R.S. 47:287.758 provides a credit to
employers authorized to do business in the state who
incur bone marrow donor expense by developing a bone
marrow donation program, educating employees related to
bone marrow donations, making payments to a health care
provider for determining tissue types of potential donors,
and paying wages to an employee for time related to tis-
sue typing and bone marrow donation. If the wage expense
is used to obtain the credit, it cannot be deducted as an
expense for income tax purposes. The credit can only be
passed through to individuals who are shareholders or
members of certain legal entities. The amount of the credit
is equal to 18 percent of the bone marrow donor expense
paid or incurred by the employer during the tax year.

150 — AQualified Playgrounds — R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit
for donations to assist qualified playgrounds. The credit
is for the lesser of $720 or 36 percent of the value of the
cash, equipment, goods, or services donated. For more
information on this credit, see Revenue Ruling 02-020
posted on LDR’s website.

155 — Debt Issuance — R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit for
72 percent of the amount of the filing fee paid to the
Louisiana State Bond Commission, which is incurred by
an economic development corporation in the preparation
and issuance of bonds.

185 — Conversion of Vehicle to Alternative Fuel - R.S.
47:6035 provides a credit for the purchase of or conver-
sion of a vehicle designed to run on an alternative fuel.
The credit for the purchase of a qualifying new vehicle is
equal to 10 percent of the cost of the qualified vehicle or
$2,500, whichever is less. The credit for vehicle conver-
sions or building of fueling stations is equal to 30 percent
of the cost of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle
fuel property. See Revenue Information Bulletin 13-023
for definition of alternative fuel and Revenue Information
Bulletin 17-016 for more information. You must attach
documentation verifying the conversion or purchase of the
vehicle and the vehicle’s registration with the Louisiana
Department of Public Safety.

199 — Other — Reserved for future credits.
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Instructions for Donations, Schedule D-NRA

Line 1 — Enter the amount of adjusted overpayment from Form
IT-540B-NRA, Line 29.

Line 2 - You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to
The Military Family Assistance Fund. This fund provides assistance
to family members of active Louisiana military personnel.

Line 3 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Coastal Protection and Restoration Fund for the purposes
of coastal restoration, conservation, and hurricane protection. For
more information, visit www.coastal.louisiana.gov.

Line 4 — You may contribute an amount of your adjusted
overpayment to the Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance and
Revenue Trust (START) Savings Program. Contributions are not
allowed to a START K12 account. IMPORTANT: If filing a joint
return, you or your spouse must be a registered account owner
in the START Savings Program in order to contribute all or part
of your overpayment. If you do not have an account, you may
contact the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance at
1-800-259-5626, or go to www.startsaving.la.gov to enroll. All
contributions of your overpayment will be equally distributed
among the account holder’s beneficiaries.

Line 5 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Wildlife Habitat and Natural Heritage Trust Fund. This fund
provides for the acquisition and management of lands used for state
parks, state forests, and wildlife and fishery management areas.

Line 6 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Louisiana Cancer and Lung Trust Fund Board (LCLTFB).
This fund provides for resources to reduce the incidence,
morbidity, mortality, and economic impact of all forms of cancer
through education, prevention, research, and early detection.

Line 7-You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to
the Louisiana Pet Overpopulation Advisory Council for the purpose
of promoting the proper treatment and well-being of animals. For
more information, visit www.louisianapetoverpopulation.orq.

Line 8 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to promote unity among member food banks in Louisiana in
support of their common mission to feed the hungry. For more
information, visit www.feedinglouisiana.org/lfba.

Line 9 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to
the Make-A-Wish Foundation of the Texas Gulf Coast & Louisiana.
For more information, visit www.texqulf.wish.org.

Line 10 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Louisiana Association of United Ways/LA 2-1-1 for
the purpose of the 2-1-1 helpline. For more information, visit
www.louisiana211.org.

Line 11 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the American Red Cross. For more information, visit
WWWw.redcross.org.

Line 12 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Honor Guard for Military Funerals Fund. This fund provides
for military funeral honors for members of Louisiana’s military forces.

Line 13 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Louisiana State Troopers Charities, Inc. to assist in
educational and community oriented programs that promote
or improve the standing of the Louisiana State Police in the
communities of this State.

Line 14 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Friends of Palmetto Island State Park, Inc. for the purpose of
supporting and enhancing the Palmetto Island State Park.

Line 15 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Children’s Therapeutic Services at the Emerge Center. This
organization provides for optimizing independent communication and
social interaction skills. For more information, visit www.emergela.org.

Line 16 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Louisiana Horse Rescue Association. The purpose of this
association is to provide sanctuary for abused or abandoned horses
of racing breeds until caring homes are found for them. For more
information, visit www.louisianahorserescue.com

Line 17 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence (LCADV) fund.
The purpose of this fund is to provide resources to educate women
who are victims of domestic violence. For more information, visit

www.lcadv.org.

Line 18 — You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment
to the Dreams Come True, Inc. for the purpose of fulfilling dreams
of children with life-threatening illnesses. For more information, visit
www.dctofla.com.

Line 19 — Add Lines 2 through 18. This amount cannot be more than
Line 1. Also, enter this amount on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 30.


http://www.coastal.louisiana.gov
http://www.startsaving.la.gov
http://www.louisianapetoverpopulation.org
http://www.feedinglouisiana.org/lfba
http://www.texgulf.wish.org
http://www.louisiana211.org
http://www.redcross.org
http://www.emergela.org
http://www.louisianahorserescue.com
http://www.lcadv.org
http:// www.dctofla.com
http:// www.dctofla.com

Instructions for Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Schedule F-NRA

Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Lines 1 through 5

Additional refundable credits available for the tax year ending
December 31, 2020, are referenced individually by a three-digit
code. Please enter the credit description, identifying code and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 5.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule
F-NRA. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code  Amount of Credit Claimed
Historic Residential 6|0|F 41010 .

Transferable, Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Lines 6 through
8 — Complete Lines 6 through 8 if you are claiming the Musical and
Theatrical Production credit. For Lines 6A, 7A, and 8A, enter the
LDR State Certification Number from Form R-6135, for the credit
claimed on Lines 6, 7, and 8 respectively. See Revenue Information
Bulletin 17-008 for claiming a purchased transferable tax credit.

Line 9 — Add Lines 1 through 8. Also, enter the amount on Form
IT-540B-NRA, Line 15.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

52F — Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels — R.S.47:6006.1 allows
a refundable credit for 100 percent of the ad valorem
taxes paid on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf Lands
Act Waters. Copies of the tax assessment, the canceled
check in payment of the tax, and a completed Form
LAT 11A from the Louisiana Tax Commission must
be attached to the return. Act 56 of the 2020 Second
Extraordinary Legislative Session allows taxpayers who
make payment of ad valorem taxes after December 31,
2020 and before April 16, 2021, to elect to treat these
payments as having been made on December 31, 2020,
for purposes of the credit. Taxpayers making this election
must submit a schedule showing the ad valorem tax
payments, the actual payment date of each payment and
a statement that they elect these taxes to be treated as
paid on December 31, 2020.

54F — Telephone Company Property — R.S5.47:6014 allows
a refundable credit for up to 40 percent of the ad
valorem taxes paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a
telephone company with respect to that company’s public
service properties located in Louisiana. The credit may
be passed through to individuals who are shareholders
or members of certain legal entities. See Revenue
Information Bulletin 01-004 on LDR’s website. A schedule
must be attached stating which entity paid the tax and
obtained the credit on the individual’s behalf. Act 56 of the
2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session allows
taxpayers who make payment of ad valorem taxes after
December 31, 2020 and before April 16, 2021, to elect to
treat these payments as having been made on December

CODE

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

55F -

57F -

58F -

59F -

60F —

62F —

31, 2020, for purposes of the credit. Taxpayers making
this election must submit a schedule showing the ad
valorem tax payments, the actual payment date of each
payment and a statement that they elect these taxes to
be treated as paid on December 31, 2020.

Prison Industry Enhancement — R.S. 47:6018 allows a
refundable credit for 72 percent of the state sales and use
tax paid by a taxpayer on purchases of specialty apparel
items from a private sector Prison Industry Enhancement
(PIE) contractor. Contact LDR for further information
regarding this credit.

Mentor-Protégé — R.S. 47:6027 allows a refundable
credit for a mentor business that fulfills the terms of a
Mentor-Protégé Agreement as approved by the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development. A copy of the
certification of the credit must be attached to the return.

Milk Producers — R.S. 47:6032 allows a refundable
credit for a resident taxpayer engaged in the business of
producing milk for sale. Those milk producers that have
obtained permits under the Louisiana Administrative
Code, Title 51, and have met the requirements of the
Food and Drug Administration, shall be certified by the
Louisiana Department of Health to receive the credit.
Revenue Information Bulletin 08-014 provides information
regarding the credit.

Technology Commercialization — R.S.51:2351 et seq.
allows a refundable credit for a qualifying individual
or business that invests in the commercialization of
Louisiana technology. Taxpayers must apply to the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development to
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the
credit must be attached to the return.

Historic Residential — R.S. 47:297.6 allows a refundable
credit for the amount of eligible costs and expenses
incurred during the rehabilitation of an owner-occupied
residential or owner-occupied mixed use structure located
in a National Register Historic District, a cultural district, a
local historic district, a Main Street District, or a downtown
development district. The tax credit is limited to one credit
per rehabilitated structure and cannot exceed $18,500
per structure. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana
Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Division
of Historic Preservation for certification. A copy of the
certification of the credit must be attached to the return.

Musical and Theatrical Production — R.S. 47:6034
allows a refundable credit for the production expenses,
transportation costs, employment of college and vocational-
technical students, employment of residents, and for the
construction, repair, or renovation of facilities related to the
live performance industry. Taxpayers must apply to the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development to receive
certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must be
attached to the return.



Instructions for Refundable Priority 2 Credits, Schedule F-NRA ...Continued

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

65F — School Readiness Child Care Provider — R.S. 47:6105
allows a refundable credit for a child care provider who
operates a facility or facilities where care is given to
foster children in the custody of the Louisiana Department
of Children and Family Services (DCFS) or to children
who participate in the Child Care Assistance Program
administered by the Louisiana Department of Education
(LDE). The credit is based on the average monthly number
of children who attended the facility multiplied by an amount
based on the quality rating of the child care facility. For more
information regarding this credit, contact LDE.

66F — School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff — R.S.
47:6106 allows a refundable credit for eligible child care
directors and eligible child care staff. You must enter the
facility license number from Form R-10615 on Line 5A
and attach a copy of Form R-10615 to your return. Failure
to do so will result in processing delays. The tax credit is
based on certain attained qualifications for directors and
staff members. The credit amount is variable and the
2020 amount is posted at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/
SchoolReadiness. For more information regarding this
credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education.

67F — School Readiness Business-Supported Child Care —
R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable credit for a taxpayer who
incurs eligible business-supported child care expenses.
The percentage of eligible expenses allowed for the credit
depends on the quality rating of the child care facility to
which the expenses are related or the quality rating of the
child care facility that the child attends. Copies of canceled
checks and other documentation to support the amount of
eligible expenses must be maintained and provided upon
request. For more information regarding this credit, contact
the Louisiana Department of Education.

68F — School Readiness Fees and Grants to Resource and
Referral Agencies — R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable
credit for a taxpayer whose business pays fees and grants
to child care resource and referral agencies. The credit
cannot exceed $5,000 per tax year. For more information
regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana Department of
Education.

70F — Retention and Modernization — R.S. 51:2399.1 et seq.
allows a refundable credit for an employer who incurs
qualified expenditures to modernize existing operations in
Louisiana to retain the business in the state. Taxpayers must
apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development
to receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit
must be attached to the return.

73F — Digital Interactive Media & Software — R.S. 47:6022
allows a credit to individuals for the investment in businesses
specializing in digital interactive media and software.
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of
the certification of the credit must be attached to the return.
See Revenue Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR'’s website.

75F — COVID-19 Pandemic ATC License — Act 60 of the
2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session allows a
refundable credit for the amount of the 2020 annual state
license and permit fees imposed by Alcohol and Tobacco
Control (“ATC”) paid by a business such as a bar that is
licensed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages for consumption
on their premises by paying customers. Complete a separate
Form R-90001, COVID-19 Pandemic ATC License Income
Tax Credit worksheet, for each location. This worksheet
must be attached to each return claiming a share of the
credit along with a schedule detailing each individual partner,
member, or shareholder’s proportionate share.

80F — Other Refundable Credit — Reserved for future credits.

General Information about Disaster Relief Credits for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita

Federal Disaster Relief Credits

Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid on
Louisiana income. Generally, when the federal income tax liability
is decreased by federal credits, the amount of the Louisiana
income tax liability increases. R.S. 47:293(4)(b) expands the
relief granted to Louisiana taxpayers who claimed certain disaster
credits granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita. To
avoid paying additional income tax, Louisiana taxpayers who
received these federal credits may increase the amount of their
Louisiana federal income tax deduction by the amount of certain
disaster relief credits claimed on the 2020 federal income tax
form. Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.601 designated
the following federal credits which were earned pursuant to
either the Katrina Emergency Tax Relief Act of 2005 or the Gulf
Opportunity Zone Act of 2005 as disaster relief credits:

1. Employee Retention Credit

2. Work Opportunity Credit

3. Rehabilitation Tax Credit

4. Employer-Provided Housing Credit
5. Low Income Housing Credit

6. New Markets Tax Credit

For complete information about disaster relief credits, see LAC
61:1.601 on the LDR website, www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies.

Consult your tax advisor or contact the IRS for information
concerning the federal credits. If you claimed federal disaster relief
credits on your federal return, complete Schedule H-NRA and
attach a copy of the appropriate federal forms to your return to
substantiate your modified Louisiana federal income tax deduction.


http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/SchoolReadiness
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/SchoolReadiness
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies

Instructions for Modified Federal Income Tax Deduction, Schedule H-NRA

Line 1 — Enter the amount of your federal income tax liability from
the Federal Income Tax Deduction worksheet on page 3.

Line 2 — Enter the amount of federal disaster relief credits claimed
on your federal return. The federal disaster relief credits utilized for
this year and allowed by the IRS could be credits that are carried
forward from previous years. Attach a copy of your federal return
which indicates the amount of the credit, a copy of Form 3800,

and a copy of the appropriate IRS form in order to substantiate
the amount of the credit.

Line 3 — Add the amounts from Lines 1 and 2 and enter the
result on Line 3 and on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 10D. Mark an
“X” in the box on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 10D to indicate that
your income tax deduction has been increased by the amount of
federal disaster credits.

Instructions for Refundable Priority 4 Credits, Schedule I-NRA

Refundable Priority 4 Credits, Lines 1 through 5

Additional refundable credits available for the tax year ending
December 31, 2020, are referenced individually by a three-digit
code. Please enter the credit description, identifying code and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 5.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule
I-NRA. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with
other codes listed in this booklet.

Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed

Inventory Tax 5|0|F 51010

Line 6 — Add Lines 1 through 5. Also, enter the amount on Form
IT-540B-NRA, Line 21.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

50F — Inventory Tax—You mustattach Form R-10610, Schedule
of Ad Valorem Tax Credit Claimed by Manufacturers,
Distributors, and Retailers, to your return. R.S. 47:6006
allows a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdi-
visions in Louisiana on inventory held by manufacturers,
distributors, or retailers. For purposes of the limitations
on refundability, members included in a consolidated
federal tax return will be treated as one taxpayer. If the
total amount eligible for the credit is less than or equal to
$500,000, 100 percent of any excess credit is refundable,
and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75 per-
cent of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000
is refundable. For businesses formed or first registered
to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, if the
total amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000,

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

100 percent of any excess credit is refundable, and for
total eligible amounts of $10,000 or more, 75 percent of
any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refund-
able. The inventory tax credit is nonrefundable for taxes
paid on inventory by any manufacturer who claimed the
property tax exemption under the Industrial Tax Exemption
program (ITEP) during the same year the inventory taxes
were paid. See Revenue Information Bulletin 20-026
and Form R-10610 for more information on the changes
from the 2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session.

51F — Ad Valorem Natural Gas - You must attach Form
R-10610 to your return. R.S. 47:6006 allows a credit
for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions in
Louisiana on natural gas held, used or consumed in pro-
viding natural gas storage services or operating natural
gas storage facilities. For purposes of the limitations
on refundability, members included in a consolidated
federal tax return will be treated as one taxpayer. If the
total amount eligible for the credit is less than or equal to
$500,000, 100 percent of any excess credit is refundable,
and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75 per-
cent of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000
is refundable. For businesses formed or first registered
to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, if the
total amount eligible for the credit is less than $10,000,
100 percent of any excess credit is refundable, and for
total eligible amounts of $10,000 or more, 75 percent
of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is
refundable. See Revenue Information Bulletin 20-026
and Form R-10610 for more information on the changes
from the 2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session.



Instructions for Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Schedule J — NRA

Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Lines 1 through 6 -
Additional nonrefundable credits available for the tax year ending
December 31, 2020, are referenced individually by a three-digit
code. Please enter the credit description, identifying code and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 6.

Transferable, Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits, Lines 7
through 10 — Complete Lines 7 through 10 if you are claiming
a transferable credit. For Lines 7A, 8A, 9A, and 10A, enter the
State Certification Number from Form R-6135 for credits claimed
on Lines 7 through 10 respectively. See Revenue Information
Bulletin 17-008 for claiming a purchased transferable tax credit.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on
Schedule J-NRA. The codes listed here are not interchange-
able with other codes listed in this booklet.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
New Jobs Credit 21118 51010

Line 11 — Add Lines 1 through 10. Also, enter the amount on
Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 18.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

200 — Atchafalaya Trace — R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit to cer-
tain heritage-based cottage industries that have entered into
a contract with the State Board of Commerce and Industry. A
copy of the contract must be attached to the return.

202 — Organ Donation — This credit is no longer available
because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in
your ten (10) year carryover period.

204 - Household Expense for Physically and Mentally
Incapable Persons — This credit is no longer available
because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in
your one (1) year carryover period.

208 — Previously Unemployed — This credit was repealed by
Act 202 of the 2019 Regular Legislative Session effective
December31,2018. Ifyouhave an eligible carryoveramount,
use this code to utilize the carryover amount for any years
you have remaining in you or five (5) year carryover period.

210 - Recycling Credit — R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for
the purchase of certain equipment or service contracts
related to recycling. The credit must be certified by the
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and a
copy of the certification must be attached to the return.

212 - Basic Skills Training — This credit was repealed by Act
202 of the 2019 Legislative Session effective December
31, 2018. If you have an eligible carryover amount, use
this code to utilize the carryover amount for any years you
have remaining in your two (2) year carryover period.

213 — Donation to School Tuition Organization - R.S.
47:6301 provides a credit for donations made to a school
tuition organization that provides scholarships to quali-
fied students to attend a qualified school. Attach Form
R-10604, Receipt of Donation for Louisiana Tuition
Donation Tax Credit, to your return. See Revenue
Information Bulletin 18-024 for more information.

218 — Inventory Tax Credit Carried Forward and ITEP - R.S.
47:6006 provides a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to
political subdivisions in Louisiana on inventory held by
manufacturers, distributors, or retailers. Manufacturers,
distributors, or retailers should use this code for the car-
ryforward of unused nonrefundable credits (not current
year credit) from 2015 through 2019. Manufacturers who
claimed the property tax exemption under the Industrial
Tax Exemption program (ITEP) during the same year
the inventory taxes were paid and members of their
federal consolidated group, should use this code for the
carryforward of unused nonrefundable credits from 2015
through 2019 and the current year credit calculated on the
2020 Form R-10610-ITE, Schedule of Ad Valorem Tax
Credit Claimed by ITEP Manufacturers for Ad Valorem
Tax Paid on Inventory, which must be attached to the
return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 20-026 and
Form R-10610 for more information on the changes from
the 2020 Second Extraordinary Legislative Session.

219 — Ad Valorem Natural Gas Credit Carried Forward — R.S.
47:6006 provides a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to
political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas held,
used or consumed in providing natural gas storage ser-
vices or operating natural gas storage facilities. Use this
code for the carryforward of unused nonrefundable credits
(not current year credit) from 2015 through 2019. See
Revenue Information Bulletin 20-026 and Form R-10610
for more information on the changes from the 2020
Second Extraordinary Legislative Session.

221 - Owner of Accessible and Barrier-free Home - This
credit is no longer available because Act 403 of the 2017
Regular Legislative Session ended the credit effective
December 31, 2019. If you have an eligible carryover
amount, use this code to utilize the carryover amount
for any years you have remaining in your five (5) year
carryover period.

223 — QMC Music Job Creation Credit — R.S.47:6023 provides
a credit to a Qualifying Music Company (QMC) that is a
music publisher, sound recording studio, booking agent,
or artist management that is engaged directly or indirectly
in the production, distribution, and promotion of music.
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of



CODE
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CREDIT DESCRIPTION

CODE

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

224 -

226 —

228 -

230 -

231 -

232 -

236 -

Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of the
certification of the credit must be attached to the return. The
credit is limited to 50 percent of the taxpayer’s tax liability.

New Jobs Credit — This credit is no longer available
because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in
your five (5) year carryover period.

Refund by Utilities — R.S. 47:287.664 provides a credit
for certain court ordered refunds made by utilities to its
customers.

Eligible Re-entrants — This credit is no longer available
because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in
your five (5) year carryover period.

Neighborhood Assistance — R.S. 47:35 and R.S.
47:287.753 provide a credit for an entity engaged in the
activities of providing neighborhood assistance, job train-
ing, education for individuals, community services, or crime
prevention in Louisiana. The credit is equal to 50 percent of
the amount contributed and cannot exceed $180,000.

Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015(K) provides
a credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal income
tax credit under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research
activities or for a taxpayer who employs fewer than 50
employees and who meets the requirements of R.S.
47:6015(B)(3)(i). Beginning with the 2018 tax year, credits
earned based upon patrticipation in the Small Business
Technology Transfer program or the Small Business
Innovative Research Grant program should be claimed
using credit code 252. The credit is obtained through the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development and
documentation from that agency must be attached to
the return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on
LDR’s website.

Cane River Heritage — R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit for
a heritage-based cottage industry located or to be located
in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. The
taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana
Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a
copy of the contract must be attached to the return.

Apprenticeship — R.S. 47:6033 provides a credit to
employers for one dollar for each hour of employment
of an eligible apprentice, limited to 1,000 hours for each
eligible apprentice. An eligible apprentice is a person who
has entered into a written apprentice agreement with an
employer or an association of employers pursuant to a
registered apprenticeship program or who is enrolled
in a training program accredited by the National Center
for Construction Education and Research. For more
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238 -

240 -

251 -

252 -

253 -

254 -

257 -

information regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana
Workforce Commission.

Ports of Louisiana Investor — R.S. 47:6036(C) provides
a credit to individuals to encourage investment in state
port facilities in Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development to
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit
must be attached to the return.

Ports of Louisiana Import Export Cargo — R.S.
47:6036(I) provides a credit to individuals to encourage
the use of state port facilities in Louisiana. The credit is
based on the number of tons of qualified cargo imported
and exported from or to manufacturing, fabrication,
assembly, distribution, processing, or warehousing
facilities located in the state. Taxpayers must apply to
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit
must be attached to the return.

Motion Picture Investment - R.S. 47:6007(C)(1)
provides a credit for an individual taxpayer residing in
Louisiana who invests in a state-certified, motion picture
production. Taxpayers taking this credit may attach
Form R-10611, Motion Picture Investment Tax Credit
Schedule, as documentation for this credit. See Revenue
Information Bulletin 17-019, and www.revenue.louisiana.
gov/CreditCaps for more information. This credit can only
be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015 provides a
credit for any taxpayer who earned the credit based on
participation in the Small Business Technology Transfer or
the Small Business Innovation Research Grant program.
This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Historic Structures — R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if the
taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the rehabilitation
of a historic structure that is located in a Downtown
Development District or cultural district. Refer to Revenue
Information Bulletins 14-007 and 14-007A on LDR’s website.
This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Digital Interactive Media — R.S. 47:6022 provides a
credit to individuals for the investment in businesses
specializing in digital interactive media. Use this code for
Digital Interactive Media credits earned for expenditures
made prior to January 1, 2012. Taxpayers must apply to
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit
must be attached to the return. See Revenue Information
Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s website. This credit can only be
claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Capital Company — R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit
for any person who invests in a certified Louisiana
Capital Company. This credit must be approved by
the Commissioner of the Louisiana Office of Financial
Institutions. A copy of the certification must be attached


http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps
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CODE

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

258 —

259 -

260 -

261 -

262 -

299 -
300 -

305 -

to the return. This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7
though 10.

LA Community Development Financial Institution
(LCDFI) — R.S. 51:3085 et seq. provides a credit for
certain investments in an LCDFI to encourage the expan-
sion of businesses in economically distressed areas.
The Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions administers
this program. This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7
through 10.

New Markets — R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the
taxpayer makes certain qualified low-income community
investments, as defined in Section 45D of the Internal
Revenue Code. The taxpayer must be certified by the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development and
approved by LDR. Information on the program investment
limits are posted as Revenue Information Bulletins on
LDR’s website. This credit can only be claimed on Lines
7 through 10.

Brownfields Investor Credit — R.S. 47:6021 provides
a credit to individuals to encourage the cleanup, rede-
velopment, and productive reuse of brownfields sites in
the state. The credit is obtained through the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development and the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality. This credit can only
be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Motion Picture Infrastructure — R.S. 47:6007(C)(2) pro-
vides a credit for an approved state-certified infrastructure
projectforafilm,video, television, ordigital production or post-
production facility. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development to receive certifica-
tion. A copy of the certification of the credit must be attached
to the return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 17-019, and
www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps for more informa-
tion. This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Angel Investor — R.S. 47:6020 provides a credit for
taxpayers who make third party investments in certified
Louisiana entrepreneurial businesses on or after
January 1, 2011. To earn the Angel Investor Credit,
taxpayers must file an application with the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development. See Revenue
Information Bulletin 12-009 on LDR’s website. This credit
can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 10.

Other — Reserved for future credits.

Biomed/University Research — R.S. 17:3389 provides a
credit to persons who establish research activities either in
a Biomedical or a University Research and Development
Park. The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and a
copy of the contract showing the credit granted must be
attached to the return.

Tax Equalization — R.S. 47:3201 et seq. provides a
credit for tax equalization for certain businesses locating
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310 -

315 -

399 —

in Louisiana. The taxpayer must enter into a contract with
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and
a copy of the contract showing the credit granted must be
attached to the return.

Manufacturing Establishments — R.S. 47:4301 et seq.
provides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments
that have entered into a contract with the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development. A copy of the
contract showing the credit granted must be attached to
the return.

Enterprise Zone — R.S. 51:1781 et seq. provides a credit
for private sector investments in certain areas that are
designated as “Enterprise Zones.” The taxpayer must
enter into a contract with the Louisiana Department of
Economic Development, and a copy of the contract show-
ing the credit granted must be attached to the return.

Other — Reserved for future credits.


http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps

Instructions for Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail

The Louisiana income tax of a nonresident professional athlete
is attributable to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund, as created
by R.S. 39:100.1. Schedule NRA-1 and Schedule NRA-Duty Day
Detail must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA in order to comply
with the statute.

A professional athlete is defined as an athlete that either plays for a
professional sports franchise or who is a member of a professional
sports association or league. This reporting requirement includes
all employees who are active players, players on the disabled list,
and any other persons required to travel and who do travel with
and perform services on behalf of a professional athletic team
on a regular basis. This includes, but is not limited to, coaches,
managers, and trainers.

NAME AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
Enter your name and Social Security Number in the spaces
provided.

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS ASSOCIATION OR LEAGUE
In the space provided, indicate the professional sports association
or league you are affiliated with.

“Professional sports association or league” means any of the following:

Professional Golfers Association of America (PGA Tour);
National Football League (NFL);

National Basketball Association (NBA);

National Hockey League (NHL);

East Coast Hockey League (ECHL);

Pacific Coast League (PCL).

o0 s~

SPORTS FRANCHISE AFFILIATION - In the column designated
“Name of Professional Sports Franchise” enter the name of the
professional sports franchise you are affiliated with. “Professional
sports franchise” means a member team of a professional sports
association or league.

In Section |1 of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail — Complete a
single line of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail for each event where
income was earned in Louisiana.

In Section Il of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail — Complete a
single line of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail for each team of
which you were a member and that had no activity in Louisiana.

In Section Il of Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail — Enter the total
duty days associated with each team in Section | and Il above.
Total duty days should not be more than 365.

An explanation of each column follows:

TOTAL DUTY DAYS - In the column designated “Total Duty
Days,” enter the total duty days associated with the team.

DUTY DAYS IN LOUISIANA - In the column designated “Number
of Duty Days in Louisiana,” enter the total duty days associated
with the event.

Duty Days are defined as follows:

“Duty days” means all days during the taxable year from the
beginning of the professional athletic team’s official preseason
training period through the last game in which the team competes
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or is scheduled to compete.

I. Duty days shall also include days on which a member of
a professional athletic team renders a service for a team
on a date that does not fall within the period described
in the general definition of duty days above, for example,
participation in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or
other promotional caravans. Rendering a service includes
conducting training and rehabilitation activities, but only if
conducted at the facilities of the team.

Il. Included within duty days shall be game days, practice days,
days spent at team meetings, promotional caravans, and
preseason training camps, and days served with the team
through all postseason games in which the team competes
or is scheduled to compete.

Ill. Duty days for any person who joins a team during the season
shall begin on the day that person joins the team, and for a
person who leaves a team shall end on the day that person
leaves the team. If a person switches teams during a taxable
year, a separate duty day calculation shall be made for the

period that person was with each team.

Days for which a member of a professional athletic team
is not compensated and is not rendering services for the
team in any manner, including days when the member of a
professional athletic team has been suspended without pay
and prohibited from performing any services for the team,
shall not be treated as duty days.

Days for which a member of a professional athletic team is on
the disabled list shall be presumed not to be duty days spent
in the state. They shall, however, be included in total duty
days spent within and without the state.

VI. Travel days that do not involve either a game, practice, team
meeting, promotional caravan, or other similar team event
are not considered duty days spent in the state, but shall be

considered duty days spent within and without the state.

Dates of Duty Days From (MM/DD) — In this column enter the
dates duty days begin in Louisiana.

Dates of Duty Days To (MM/DD) - In this column enter the dates
duty days end in Louisiana.

NAME OF SPORTS FACILITY - In the column designated
“Sports Facility at Which Income Was Earned” enter the name of
the arena/stadium/course where the event was held. For example:
Louisiana Superdome, Baton Rouge River Center, Shrine on
Airline. Also include the name of the Louisiana city in which the
facility is located.
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Schedule NRA-1

1. Total Louisiana Duty Days - See Instructions. . . . . . . . . ... ... ... ... ... ... ...

2. Total Duty Days EVERYWHERE - See Instructions. . . . . . .. .. ... ... ... .........
3. Divide Line 1 by Line 2 and enter result here.

Carry out to two decimal places in the percentage. (€.9.24.19%) . . . . . . . . . . .. .. ... ...
4. Total compensation - See instructions. . . . . . . . ...
5. Muliiply Line 4 by the ratio on Line 3. See instructions.. . . . . . . ... ... ... .. ... ...,

This form must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA along with Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail (page 14).

Instructions for Schedule NRA-1

Line 1: Total Louisiana Duty Days — Enter the amount from
Schedule NRA - Duty Day Detail, Section llI.

Line 2: Enter Total Duty Days Everywhere — This is the total of
all “Duty Days” associated with the athletic season during this
taxable year. See definition of “Duty Days” on page 13.

Line 3: Ratio of Louisiana Duty Days to Total Duty Days — Divide
Line 1 by Line 2 and enter result here. Carry out two decimal
places in the percentage; for example, 24.19 percent. Do not
round up.

Line 4: Total Compensation — Enter the amount of total
compensation received for services rendered as a member of the
team. The amount(s) to include are defined below.

Total compensation includes salaries, wages, bonuses, and any
other type of compensation paid during the taxable year to a
member of a professional athletic team for services performed in
that year.

I. Total compensation shall not include strike benefits,
severance pay, termination pay, contract or option-year
buyout payments, expansion or relocation payments, or
any other payments not related to services rendered to
the team.

Il.  For purposes of this rule, “bonuses” subject to the alloca-
tion procedures described in this Subsection, are:

(a) bonuses earned as a result of play during the sea-
son, including performance bonuses, bonuses paid
for championship, playoff or bowl games played by
a team, or for selection to all-star league or other
honorary positions; and

bonuses paid for signing a contract, unless all of the
following conditions are met:

(i) the payment of the signing bonus is not condi-
tional upon the signee playing any games for
the team, or performing any subsequent ser-
vices for the team, or even making the team;

(ii)

the signing bonus is payable separately from
the salary and any other compensation; and

(iii) the signing bonus is nonrefundable.

Total compensation for services rendered as a member of a
professional athletic team means the total compensation received
during the taxable year for services rendered:

I.  from the beginning of the official preseason training
period through the last game in which the team competes
or is scheduled to compete during that taxable year; and

Il.  during the taxable year on a date that does not fall within
the period in clause “I” above; for example, participation
in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or promotional
caravans.

Line 5: Louisiana Income - Multiply Line 4 by the percentage on
Line 3. Enter the amount on Line 8A of Form IT-540B-NRA. This
is the amount of your “total compensation” earned in Louisiana.



Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not
pay all amounts due on or before the due date.

1. A 2020 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2021.

2. Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of
the fifth month after the close of the taxable year.
3. If the due date falls on a weekend or legal state holiday, the

return is due the next business day.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your obliga-
tion to pay all tax amounts due by the original due date.

Interest — If your income tax is not paid by the due date, you will be
charged interest on the unpaid tax until the balance is paid in full.
The interest rate is variable and the 2021 interest rate is posted on
LDR’s website on Form R-1111, Interest Rate Schedule-Collected
on Unpaid Taxes. To compute the DAILY INTEREST RATE,
multiply the 2021 monthly interest rate by 12 then divide the result
by 365 and carry out to seven places to the right of the decimal.
Example: Assume the 2021 monthly interest rate is 0.5833 percent,
multiply 0.00583 by 12 then divide the result by 365 to get the daily
interest rate of 0.0001917.

Interest Calculation Worksheet

Number of days late from the due date

Daily interest rate (See instructions above.)

Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)
Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 34)

Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, and
enter the result on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 38.)

.00
.00

a | ~AWON =

Delinquent Filing Penalty — A delinquent filing penalty will be
charged for failure to file a return on or before your due date, or
your approved extension date. The penalty is five percent of the
tax for each 30 days, or fraction thereof, during which the failure
to file continues. The maximum delinquent filing penalty that can
be imposed is 25 percent of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from your due date, or
your approved extension date

2 | Divide Line 1 by 30 days. m
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of

3 | days remain, increase the amount to the
nearest whole number.)

4 | 30-day penalty percentage “
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3

5 | by Line 4. The result cannot exceed
25 percent.)

6 | Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 34) .00
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty due

7 | (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter the result
on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 39.) .00

16

Important Notice: The sum of both the delinquent filing and
delinquent payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent of the
tax due. Thirty-day increments are used for the calculation of
the delinquent filing and delinquent payment penalties. These
penalties are based on the date LDR receives the return or
payment. In addition to the delinquent penalties, you may also
incur a negligence penalty under R.S. 47:1604.1 if circumstances
indicate willful negligence or intentional disregard of rules and
regulations.

Delinquent Payment Penalty — If you fail to pay the tax due
by the due date, a delinquent payment penalty of 0.5 percent
of the tax not paid by the due date will accrue for each 30 days,
or fraction thereof, during which the failure to pay continues.
This penalty cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due. Use the
worksheet below to calculate that penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1

Number of days late from the due date

2 | Divide Line 1 by 30 days.

Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase the amount to the
nearest whole number.)

30-day penalty percentage

Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25
percent.)

Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 34)

.00

Total amount of delinquent payment penalty
(Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter the result
on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 40.)

.00

Underpayment Penalty — Louisiana imposes an underpayment
penalty on an individual’s failure to sufficiently pay income tax
throughout the year by withholding or declaration payments. In
order to determine if an underpayment penalty is due and to
compute the amount of the underpayment penalty, you must
complete Form R-210NRA, Underpayment of Individual Income
Tax Penalty Computation, and attach the completed form to your
return.

Line 28 — Although you may have an overpayment, if you failed
to sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year, in accordance
with R.S. 47:117.1, you may be subject to the underpayment
penalty. Complete the 2019 Form R-210NRA available on LDR’s
website and enter the amount from Line 19 on Line 28. Attach the
completed Form R-210NRA to your return.

Line 41 - If you have a tax deficiency, you may be charged an
underpayment penalty. Complete the 2019 Form R-210NRA and
enter the amount from Line 19 on Line 41. Attach the completed
Form R-210NRA to your return.



Extension of Time for Filing a Return

The Secretary of LDR may grant an extension of time for filing
returns not to exceed six months from the date the Louisiana
income tax return is due. Extensions must be filed electroni-
cally before the due date of the return. The three options for
requesting an extension are as follows:

1. Filing an extension request electronically via LDR's website
at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline or www.revenue.
louisiana.gov/extensions;

2. Filing an extension request electronically via LDR’s IVR
phone system by calling 225-922-3270 or 888-829-3071. For
an extension request, select option #3, then select option #1.
Taxpayers will need the social security number of the primary
account holder to request the extension; or
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3. Submitting a state extension to LDR by “checking the state
extension box” included in the tax preparation software for an
electronically-filed return.

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting addi-
tional time to file your tax return. An extension does not
extend the time to pay the tax. Payments received after the
due date will be charged interest and penalties.


http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/extensions
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/extensions

