

Application for Authority to Make Direct Shipments of Wines to Louisiana Consumers

Louisiana Revised Statutes 26:2 and 26:241

Mail To:

Louisiana Department of Revenue

P.O. Box 201

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0201 Phone: (855) 307-3893 Email: excise.inquiries@la.gov

Date of Application (mm/dd/yyyy)

						Bate of Application	211 (<i>1111111</i> dd/yy	yy /		
Filing Period 6/30/2026 July 1, 2025 t					gh June 30, 2026		PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE			
LA Revenue Accoun	nt Number				Federal Employer ID	No.				
Legal Name of Business Mailing Address					Trade Name of Business Location Address					
Unit Type	Unit Number			Unit Type		Unit Number				
City		Sta	te ZII	P	City			State	ZIP	
Foreign Nation, if no	ot United States (Do	not abbreviate	.)							
Contact Person				Title						
Telephone					Email Address					
Check ONL	Y ONE box tha	t best descri	bes yo	our business	:		Δ	\nnual F	Fee Due	
_	ducer domiciled					1.	\$	15	0.00	
2. Manufac	turer domiciled o	outside of Lou	isiana	(Annual fee	of \$150)	2. \$ 150.00				
☐ 3. Retailer o	domiciled outsid	e of Louisiana	(Ann	ual fee of \$1	.000)	3.	\$	1,00	0.00	
	Due (Enter the		-		or 3 here.)		<u>-</u>			
Make pa	yment payable	to the Louisia	na De	partment of			\$			
DO NOT	SEND CASH.									
NOTE: You must A copy of that lie					oroducer, manufa	cturer, or retai	ler licens	e by yo	our home state.	
				Decla	ration					
sales and use tax consumers and re as specified in the requirements. I am	es assessed by t mit the applicable e instructions for n not a party to a	he State of Lo taxes by elec this form. I ac ny direct or ind	uisiana tronic f knowle irect aç	s of sparkling a a. I agree to el- funds transfer. edge that Loui greement with	and/or still wines to concertronically file a most of further agree to obtain a law provides a Louisiana register with this application.	onthly return listi oserve all require for a civil penal	ng all dired ments con ty of \$25,0	ct shipme cerning o	ents to Louisiana direct shipments, iolation of those	
Signature					Date (mm/dd/yyyy)					
PAID	Print Preparer's Na	ame	Prep	arer's Signature		Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	Check [if self-employed.	
PREPARER	Firm's Name >	>					Firm's FEIN ➤			
USE ONLY	Firm's Address ➤					Т	elephone >			
						N, or LDR Account of Paid Preparer	Number			



	or raid rieparer	or raid rieparer								
or Office se Only										

8732

Requirements for Direct Shipments of Wines to Louisiana Consumers

For the purposes of making direct shipments of wines into Louisiana, below are the applicable definitions as found in La. R.S. 26:2 and 26:241.

"Manufacturer" means any person, other than a wine producer, who personally or through any agent whatever engages in the making, blending, rectifying, or processing of any alcoholic beverage in Louisiana; engages in the making, blending, rectifying, or processing of any alcoholic beverage outside of Louisiana for sale in Louisiana; or engages in the business of supplying alcoholic beverages to licensed wholesale dealers in Louisiana.

"Retail dealer" means any person who offers for sale, exposes for sale, has in his possession for sale or distribution, or sells alcoholic beverages in any quantity to persons other than licensed wholesale or retail dealers.

"Wine producer" means any person who, directly or indirectly, personally or through any agency, cultivates and grows grapes, fruits, berries, honey, or vegetables from which wine of an alcoholic content in excess of six percent by volume is produced and bottled from a fermentation of such grapes, fruits, berries, honey, or vegetables in Louisiana or outside the state for shipments to licensed wholesale dealers within the state subject to the provisions of La. R.S. 26:364.

In order to direct ship sparkling wines or still wines to Louisiana consumers, ALL of the following conditions must be met:

- 1. The seller or shipper who is a wine producer or manufacturer must not be a party to any direct or indirect agreement with a Louisiana wholesale dealer that grants the wholesale dealer the right to purchase and sell the same brand of sparkling wine or still wine produced by the wine producer or manufacturer that is to be shipped direct to the consumer. This prohibition does not include any sale of sparkling wine or still wine if the sale is perfected when the Louisiana consumer is physically present on the premises of the wine producer or manufacturer and completed by shipment to the consumer in Louisiana or when the wine bears a properly registered label that is not assigned by the wine producer or manufacturer to a wholesaler licensed in Louisiana for sale by such wholesaler.
- 2. The required annual fee must have been paid, and written authorization to make direct shipments must have been granted by the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) prior to selling or shipping any wine to a consumer in the state of Louisiana. The seller or shipper must also apply for an annual permit with the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) (www.atc.la.gov), and the required annual fee must be paid prior to making direct shipments of sparkling wine and still wine.
- The wine producer, manufacturer, or retailer making direct shipments to Louisiana consumers must hold a valid license issued by its state of domicile. A copy of that license must be provided with this application.
- 4. The sparkling wine or still wine must be for the consumer's personal consumption.
- 5. The consumer must be 21 years of age or older.
- 6. All packages in which sparkling wine or still wine is shipped must be received by a person 21 years of age or older.
- 7. The total amount of sparkling wine or still wine shipped to a single household address must not exceed twelve cases of wine per calendar year per adult person at the household. A case of wine is defined as nine liters of wine by volume which may be packaged in any of the following ways: twelve 750-milliliter bottles, six 1.5-liter bottles, or three 3-liter bottles. The maximum allowable annual volume is 108 liters per adult per household address per calendar year.
- 8. The package in which the sparkling wine or still wine is shipped must be prominently labeled as containing beverage alcohol.
- 9. Each package in which the sparkling wine or still wine is shipped must contain an invoice indicating the date of shipment, and it must give a full and complete description of all items included in the shipment, including price.
- 10. The excise tax reported on Form R-5696, Louisiana Tax Return for Wines Shipped Directly to Consumers, must be filed and paid electronically at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap. Those authorized to make direct shipments to Louisiana consumers must file and report the quantity and type of products shipped within the month and remit the applicable taxes on or before the 20th of the following month. Copies of the invoices should be retained by the authorized party for inspection upon request of the Secretary.

The sales and use taxes imposed by the state of Louisiana on sparkling wine or still wine shipped direct to Louisiana consumers must be paid from an account in the name of the permit holder and remitted with the proper form. If a Wine Direct Shipper has physical presence in Louisiana, they are considered a dealer and must file Form R-1029, *Louisiana Sales Tax Return*, in addition to registering with the appropriate local tax collector(s). All Wine Direct Shippers that meet the definition of a remote seller must register with the Louisiana Sales and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers (Commission) at https://remotesellers.louisiana.gov. Additionally, any Wine Direct Shippers not required to register with the Commission may still voluntarily register with LDR for a Direct Marketer Sales Tax Account and collect and remit the combined 9% tax rate. You can file and pay the Louisiana Sales Tax and Direct Marketer Sales Tax at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap.

If you have a foreign address, enter the city name in the appropriate space. Follow the country's practice for entering the postal code and the name of the province, country, or state. Enter the foreign country name in the appropriate space. Do not abbreviate the country name.

Instructions for Paid Preparer

If your return was prepared by a paid preparer, that person must also sign in the appropriate space, complete the information in the "Paid Preparer Use Only" box, and enter his or her identification number in the space provided under the box. If the paid preparer has a PTIN, the PTIN must be provided; otherwise, the FEIN or LDR account number must be provided. If the paid preparer represents a firm, the firm's FEIN must be entered in the "Paid Preparer Use Only" box. The failure of a paid preparer to sign or provide an identification number will result in the assessment of the unidentified preparer penalty on the preparer. The penalty of \$50 is for each occurrence of failing to sign or failing to provide an identification number.