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LOUISIANA

DEPARTMENT of REVENUE

The tax on beverages of low alcoholic content (beer) is an excise
tax and is collected from the wholesale dealer who first handles
and distributes such beverages within Louisiana. Before com-
mencing business as a Louisiana wholesale alcoholic beverage
dealer, a company must (1) file a surety bond or certificate of
deposit with the Louisiana Department of Revenue, and (2)
obtain a permit from the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control.
The minimum amount of the surety bond or certificate of deposit
is $10,000. The maximum amount is at the discretion of the
Secretary.

In addition to meeting the requirements of the Office of Alcohol
and Tobacco Control, a dealer is required to file a return each
month with the Department of Revenue disclosing all movements
of beer for the month.

Louisiana Revised Statute 26:342 provides that the state beer tax
is to be computed at the rate of $12.50 for each barrel containing
not more than thirty-one gallons. The tax is computed on a pro-
portional rate for fractional parts of a barrel.

In addition to the state beer tax, Louisiana R.S.26:493 provides
that the state must collect a Parish & Municipal (P & M) beer tax in
the amount of $1.50 per standard barrel of thirty-one gallons.

The wholesale dealer is allowed a 1.5% discount for State beer
tax and 2% discount for P & M beer tax on the gross amount of
tax due for accurately reporting and timely remitting all taxes due,
and as an offset for taxes paid on unsaleable products.

The monthly return, Louisiana State and Parish and Municipality
Beer Tax Return, (Form R-5621) is furnished by the Louisiana
Department of Revenue and is the means whereby a dealer
reports and pays the State beer tax and the P & M beer tax
each month. Calculate entries on Lines 1 through 16 to four
decimal places. Detailed instructions for completing the monthly
return (Form R-5621) are as follows:

Line 1 - Enter the beginning inventory on the first day of the
month. The figure must agree with the ending inventory reported
for the previous month.

Line 2 - Enter the total non tax-paid beer purchased within the
state plus beer produced within the state for the month. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). Column B, Line 2 must
equal the sum of Column A, Lines 2 and 3.

Line 3 - Enter the amount of all tax-paid beer purchased from
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other wholesale dealers within the state in Column A. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 4 - Add lines 1 through 3. Column A and Column B must be
identical.

Line 5 - Enter the total shipments to out-of-state breweries or cus-
tomers. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). Attach
bills of lading for shipments to out-of-state breweries.

Line 6 - Enter total beer sales to federal agencies, such as military
installations. Attach Tax Exemption Certificate (Form R-5606).

Line 7 - Enter total beer sales to ships and consulates. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A) and Tax Exemption
Certificate (Form R-5607).

Line 8 - Enter total claims against carriers for merchandise
broken, lost, or stolen in transit. Attach Supplemental Schedule
(Form R-5621A).

Line 9 - Enter total beer returned to the brewery. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 10 - Enter in Column B all P & M beer sales in parishes/
municipalities that do not impose a P & M beer tax. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 11 - Enter in Column B all P & M beer sold to other
Louisiana bonded dealers. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form
R-5621A).

Line 12 - Enter in Column B total P & M beer claims for warehouse
breakage. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 13 - Enter total State and P & M beer destroyed. Attach
Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A) and Certificate of
Destruction (Form R-5605, “ABT-100").

Line 14 - Enter the ending inventory on the last day of the month.
Line 14 must reflect a physical inventory count at the end of the
month.

Line 15 - Add Lines 5 through 14.

Line 16 - Subtract Line 15 from Line 4. Line 16 represents taxable
disposals for the month.

Line 17 - Multiply Column A, Line 16 by $12.50 and Column B,
Line 16 by $1.50.

Line 18 - Multiply Column A, Line 3 by $12.50.
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Line 19 - Subtract Column A, Line 18 from Column A, Line 17 and
enter in Column A. Enter the amount from Column B, Line 17 in
Column B, Line 19.

Line 20b - Compute the discount amount allowed if the return is
filed and payment is made timely. For each column, multiple the
amount on Line 19 by the discount rate shown on Line 20a and
enter the result in the respective column. Round to the nearest dol-
lar. Enter zero if the return or payment is delinquent.

Line 21 - Subtract Line 20b from Line 19.

Line 22 - If the return is delinquent not more than 10 days multiply
Line 21 by 5 percent. If the return is delinquent more than 10 days,
multiply Line 21 by 20 percent. If the return is filed timely, enter
zero.

Line 23 - Interest is due if the payment of the tax is late. Refer
to the Tax Interest Rate Schedule (R-1111) for monthly interest
rates that apply. Form R-1111 is available on the Department’s
website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Line 24 - Add Line 21 through Line 23.
Line 24a - Enter the amount from Column A, Line 24.
Line 24b - Enter the amount from Column B, Line 24.

Line 25 - Add Line 24a and Line 24b. Make payment to the Louisiana
Department of Revenue. Do not send cash.

The reverse side of the monthly tax return (Form R-5621) is for
the distribution of taxable P & M beer sales. When beer is sold into
a parish or municipality that has an ordinance in effect authoriz-
ing the Department of Revenue to collect the P & M beer tax, the
wholesale dealer must list the location and the monthly total sold
on the schedule on the reverse side of Form R-5621. The total
amount of tax must agree with Line 19 on the face of the tax
return for P & M beer. If a current P & M code list is needed,
please contact the Baton Rouge main office of the Department of
Revenue. If additional P & M distribution schedules are needed,
please make photocopies or call the Baton Rouge main office to
request extra forms. Please use the P & M distribution schedule
provided; printouts may not be substituted, but they may be
sent to provide backup information.



