GENERAL INFORMATION FOR FILING 2007 LOUISIANA NONRESIDENT PROFESSIONAL ATHLETE
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN? (FORM IT-540B-NRA)

1. A nonresident individual must file Form IT-540B-NRA if
he or she is a professional athlete who earned income as
a result of services rendered within Louisiana and is
required to file a federal individual income tax return.

2. Any taxpayer who has overpaid their tax through with-
holding or declaration of estimated tax must file a return
to obtain a refund or credit.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Under the provisions of R.S. 47:1602.1,
penalties will be imposed for failure to use Form IT-540B-NRA
when filing and reporting Louisiana income. A $500 penalty
will be imposed for the first failure to file the correct form, a
$1,000 penalty for the second failure to file the correct form,
and $2,500 each additional failure to file the correct form
within a three year period.

INCOME TO BE REPORTED ON THIS FORM

1. The Louisiana income of a nonresident individual who is
a member of a professional athletic team should be
reported to Louisiana. Louisiana income is the portion of
the total compensation for services rendered as a
member of a professional athletic team during the taxable
year earned while in Louisiana. The reported income is
proportional to the number of duty days spent within the
state rendering services for the team in any manner,
compared to the total number of duty days spent both
within and without the state during the taxable year.

This reporting requirement shall include all employees
who are active players, players on the disabled list, and
any other persons required to travel and perform services
on behalf of a professional athletic team on a regular
basis. This includes, but is not limited to, coaches, man-
agers, and trainers.

2. The Louisiana income of a nonresident athlete who is
NOT a member of a professional athletic team (e.g. PGA
golfer) should be reported to Louisiana. The amount to be
reported is the gross amount earned in the state less: a)
ordinary and necessary business expenses directly
attributable to the state, and b) a pro rata share of
indirect business expenses not directly attributable to
income from any particular source.

3. All other Louisiana-sourced income should be reported.
Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the
athlete for endorsements, royalties, promotional advertis-
ing, etc. The amount earned is calculated on a pro-rata
basis for Louisiana.

FORMS

Forms and instructions may be obtained from the
Department’s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

AMENDED RETURNS

If you file your Louisiana income tax return and later become
aware of any changes you must make to income, deductions,
or credits, you must file an amended Louisiana return. A cor-
rected return, Form IT-540B-NRA should be submitted along
with an explanation of the change(s) and a copy of the
federal amended return if one was filed. The form should be
clearly marked with an “X” in the “Amended Return” box. Do
not make any adjustments for the refunds received or for
payments made with the original return. This information is
already on file.

FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:103(C) requires taxpayers
whose federal returns are adjusted to furnish a statement
disclosing the nature and amounts of such adjustments
within 60 days after the adjustments have been made and
accepted.

WHEN TO FILE AND PAY TAX
1. A calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2008.

2. Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day
of the fifth month after the close of the taxable year.

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING A RETURN

Louisiana recognizes the extension granted by the Internal
Revenue Service. Attach a copy of Federal Form 4868 or a
copy of your acknowledgement from the Internal Revenue
Service which contains your confirmation number that your
Federal extension has been approved. Use Form R-2868 for
requesting an extension beyond the date required for filing
your federal return. You must submit Form R-2868 by October
15, 2008, if you have an approved federal extension, or by
May 15, 2008, if you have not filed a federal extension. The
form is available on the Department’s website. An extension
does not lengthen the time to pay any tax that may be
due.

Interest and Penalties - See Interest and Penalty
Calculation worksheets, page 15.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS

Taxpayers should keep copies of federal and state returns
and W-2 statements for four years. Do not submit a copy of
your federal return, unless requested by the Department.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING YOUR
2007 NONRESIDENT ATHLETE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN, FORM IT-540B-NRA

ABOUT THIS FORM

If you are a nonresident person who is a professional athlete and
earned income as a result of services rendered within Louisiana,
you should complete Form IT-540B-NRA.

1.  Write amounts only on those lines that are applicable.
2. Please use black ink to complete the form.

3. All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar and
numbers should not be printed over the zeros that designate
cents.

4. To avoid any delay, use this form for 2007 only.

5. If you are fiing an amended return, mark an “X” in the
“Amended Return” box.

Name, Address, and Social Security Number(s) — Print your
Social Security Number(s) in the space provided. If married,
please give Social Security Numbers for both you and your
spouse. List in the same order as they were listed on your federal
return.

Lines 1-5: Filing Status — You must use the same filing status on
your Louisiana return as you did on your federal return. In the box
on the left, print the number corresponding to your filing status:
“1” for single, “2” for married filing jointly, “3” for married filing
separately, “4” for head of household, and “5” for qualifying
widow(er). If your filing status is head of household, you must list
the name of the qualifying person in the space provided if that
person is not a dependent. Head of household status is for
unmarried people who paid over half the cost of keeping up a
home for a qualifying person.

Lines 6A and 6B — Exemptions — Mark an “X” in the appropriate
box(es). You must use the same number of exemptions on your
Louisiana return as you did on your federal return, unless: (A) you
are listed as a dependent on someone else’s return, (B) you are
age 65 or over, or (C) you are blind. You must claim an exemption
for yourself on Line 6A, even if someone else claimed you on his
or her federal tax return. This box has already been marked with
an “X” for you.

Line 6C — Print the name(s) of the dependents listed on your fed-
eral return. Complete the required information. If you have more
than 6 dependents, attach a statement to your return with the
required information. In the box on Line 6C, print the total number
of dependents claimed.

Line 6D — Add Lines 6A, 6B, and 6C and print the result.

Line 7 — Print the amount of your federal adjusted gross income.
This amount is taken from federal Form 1040, Line 37, or federal
Form 1040A, Line 21, or federal Form 1040EZ, Line 4. If your
federal adjusted gross income is less than zero, print “0.”

Line 8A — Print the amount from Schedule NRA-1, Line 5, page 14.

Line 8B — All other Louisiana-sourced income should be reported.
Examples of such income items are amounts paid to the athlete for
endorsements, royalties, promotional advertising, etc. The amount
earned is calculated on a pro-rata basis for Louisiana.

Line 9 — Divide Line 8C by Line 7. Carry out to two decimal places
in the percentage; for example, 48.32 percent. DO NOT ROUND
UP. The percentage can not exceed 100 percent.

Line 10A — If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal
return, leave Lines 10A, 10B, 10C, and 10D blank. If you did item-
ize your deductions, enter on Line 10A the amount of your federal
itemized deductions, shown on Form 1040, Schedule A, Line 29.

Line 10B — If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal
return, leave this line blank. If you did itemize your deductions and
your filing status is: 1 or 3, print $5,350; 2 or 5, print $10,700; 4,
print $7,850.

Line 10C — Subtract Line 10B from Line 10A. If less than zero,
print zero "0."

Line 10D — Multiply Line 10C by 57.5% (.575). Print the result on
Line 10D. If you did not itemize your deductions on your federal
return, leave this line blank.

Line 10E — If you HAVE claimed a federal disaster relief credit on
your federal return as a result of Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane
Rita, you must complete Schedule H-NRA in order to determine
your modified federal income tax deduction for Louisiana. The fed-
eral disaster relief credits utilized for this year and allowed by the
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) could be credits that are carried
forward from 2005 or 2006. However, the credits must appear on
your federal return. Attach a copy of your federal return which
indicates the amount of the credit, a copy of Form 3800, and a
copy of the appropriate IRS form in order to substantiate the
amount of the credit.

If you HAVE NOT claimed federal disaster relief credits, print your
federal income tax liability on Line 10E. This amount is taken from
your federal return. Below are the federal returns and line numbers
that indicate your federal income tax liability

¢ Federal Form 1040EZ filers: This amount is on Line 10.
e Federal Form 1040A filers: This amount is on Line 35.

¢ Federal Form 1040 filers: This amount is on Line 57, less
the amount from Form 4972 included on Line 44.

Optional deduction — The federal tax deduction above may be
increased by the amount of foreign tax credit (associated with
Louisiana income) that was claimed on Federal Form 1040, Line
51. If this additional deduction is claimed, no special allowable
credit may be claimed on Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule
G-NRA, Line 3.

Line 10F — Add Lines 10D and 10E and print the result.

Line 10G — Multiply Line 10F by the percentage on Line 9 and
print the result. This amount of deduction is the portion applicable
to your Louisiana income.

Line 11 — Subtract Line 10G from Line 8C. If less than zero, print
“O.H



Line 12 — Print the amount from Line | of the tax computation worksheet shown below.

Calculate your Louisiana tax by using the Tax Computation Worksheet.
(DO NOT USE RESIDENT TAX TABLES—USE WORKSHEET BELOW.)

TAX COMPUTATION WORKSHEET (Keep this worksheet for your records.)

A | Taxable Income: Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 11. A .00

First Bracket: If Line A is greater than $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5),
B | print $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5). If Line A is less than $12,500 | B .00
($25,000 if filing status is 2 or 5), print amount from Line A.

Combined Personal Exemption — Standard
C1| Deduction: If your filing status is 2, 4, or 5, print | C1 .00
$9,000; if 1 or 3, print $4,500.

Credit for Dependents: Print $1,000 for
taxpayers and/or spouses who are 65 or

c2 over, or blind, and for each dependent C2 00

claimed on Line 6C of Form IT-540B-NRA.

C3| Total: Add Lines C1 and C2. C3 .00
Ratio: Enter the ratio from Form IT 540B- °
D NRA, Line 9. D 70
E | Allowable Deduction: Multiply Line C3 by the ratio on Line D and print the result. | E .00 TAX
Taxable First Bracket: Subtract Line E from Line B. If the result is .
F | zero or less than zero, print “0”. Multiply balance by 2% (.02) and print | F .00 Ffa/t"e .00

the result in the TAX column.

Second Bracket: Subtract Line B from Line A; and, if the balance is
greater than zero, print the balance or $12,500 ($25,000 if filing status .
G | is 2 or 5) whichever is less. Note: Reduce this amount by the amount | G .00 F?a/t"e .00
that Line E exceeds Line B. Multiply balance by 4% (.04) and print the
result in the TAX column.

Third Bracket: Subtract $25,000 ($50,000 if filing status is 2 or 5) from

H | Line A and print balance. If less than zero, print “0.” Multiply the balance | H .00 F?;/t"e .00
by 6% (.06) and print the result in the TAX column.
| | Total Tax: Add the tax on Lines F, G, and H. Print here and on of Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 12. | .00

Line 13A: A credit of $25 is allowed for each dependent child
claimed on Line 6C who attended school from kindergarten
through 12th grade for at least part of this year. Multiply the
number of qualified dependents by $25 and print the result.

Line 13B: Print the amount from Schedule G-NRA, Line 10.
Line 13C: Add Lines 13A and 13B and print the result.

Line 14: Subtract Line 13C from Line 12 and print the balance. If
less than zero, print “0.”

Line 15A: Print the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in
2007. A copy of the withholding tax Form(s) W-2 must be attached
to your return for credit to be allowed.

Line 15B: Print the amount of total payments made on your esti-
mated taxes, any credit carried forward to this year, payments
remitted with extensions, and any composite team payments made
on your behalf.

Line 15C: Print the amount of your refundable credit if you paid an
assessment for the LA Citizens Property Insurance Corporation on
your homeowner's or other owned property. See Revenue
Information Bulletin (RIB) 07-015 on the Department's website at
www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Line 15D: Print the amount of the total Other Refundable Tax
Credits. This amount is from Louisiana IT-540B-NRA, Schedule
F-NRA, Line 5.

Line 15E: Add Lines 15A through 15D and print the result.

Line 16: If Line 15E is equal to Line 14, print zero "0" on Line 16
and go to Line 17. If Line 15E is greater than Line 14, subtract
Line 14 from Line 15E and print the result. Your overpayment
may be reduced by Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty.
If Line 14 is greater than Line 15E, print zero "0" on Lines 16
through 20 and go to Line 21.

Line 17: Although you may have an overpayment, if you failed to
sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year, in accordance
with R.S. 47:117.1, you may be subject to the underpayment
penalty. Complete the 2007 Form R-210NRA and print the
amount from Line 19 of the form on this line. Attach the complet-
ed R-210NRA to your return.

Line 18: If Line 16 is greater than Line 17, subtract Line 17 from
Line 16 and print the result. If Line 17 is greater than Line 16, print
zero "0", subtract Line 16 from Line 17, and print the balance on
Line 21.

Line 19: Print the amount of your available overpayment (Line 18)
that you want credited to your 2008 tax.

Line 20: Subtract Line 19 from Line 18 and print the result. Mail
to: Louisiana Department of Revenue, PO Box 4998, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-4998.



Line 21: - If Line 14 is greater than Line 15E, subtract Line 15E
from Line 14 and print the result. If this amount is the result of
underpayment penalty exceeding an overpayment, go to Line 26.

Line 22: Interest is charged on all tax amounts that are not paid
on time. Enter the amount from Line 5 of the Interest Calculation
Worksheet. The worksheet is on page 15 of this booklet.

Line 23: If you fail to pay any tax owed by the due date — on or
before May 15, 2008 for calendar year filers, you may be
changed a Delinquent Filing Penalty. Print the amout from Line 7
on the Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet. The
worksheet is on page 15 of this booklet.

Line 24: If you fail to pay any tax owed by the due date — on or
before May 15, 2008 for calendar year filers, you may be
charged a Delinquent Payment Penalty. Please refer to the
Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet on page 15.

Line 25: If you have a tax deficiency, you may be charged an

underpayment penalty. Complete the 2007 Form R-210NRA and
print the amount from Line 19 of the form on this line. Attach the
completed R-210NRA to your return.

Line 26: Add Lines 21 through 25 and print the result. Make your
check or money order payable to the Louisiana Department of
Revenue. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH. Write your Social
Security Number(s) on your check or money order, and attach it
to your return. A direct debit option is available on the
Department’s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

FILING: You must sign and date your return. On a joint return, your
spouse must also sign in the space provided. If you paid someone
to prepare your return, they must also sign in the appropriate space
and print their identification number.

PRINT A DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER IN THE SPACE PROVIDED.
We may need to contact you during normal business hours.

GENERAL INFORMATION
If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed. The schedule

should clearly identify the credit, your name(s), and Social Security Number(s).

For complete information regarding the

credits, refer to the publication, Credits, Exemptions, Exclusions, and Deductions for Individual and Corporation Income Tax,
Corporation Franchise Tax, and Inheritance and Gift Tax. This publication may be obtained on the Department’'s website at

www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Instructions for Refundable Tax Credits, Schedule F-NRA

Line 1 — A refundable credit (Act 306 of the 2007 Regular Session) is
allowed against individual income tax for 100 percent of the amount paid
by an active or reserve military servicemember, the spouse of an active or
reserve military servicemember, or the dependent of such servicemember
for obtaining a Louisiana noncommercial hunting or fishing license. A copy
of the noncommercial hunting and/or fishing license must be submitted to
the Department in order to claim the credit. Complete all information
requested in Lines 1A through 1D. The license purchased shall be valid
only during the time the servicemember is on active duty. The credit does
not apply to purchases of lifetime licenses. Please contact the Department
for more information concerning this credit.

Additional Refundable Tax Credits Lines 2 through 4

Below is a list of additional refundable tax credits available for the tax year
ending December 31, 2007. Please print the credit description, identifying
code, and the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Line 2
through 4.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule
F-NRA. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other
codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Historic Residential 6|0|F 410]0 .

Line 5 — Total Refundable Tax Credits - Add Lines 1D, 2 through 4 and
print the result on Schedule F-NRA, Line 5 and on Form IT-540B-NRA,
Line 15D.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

50F — Inventory Tax — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6006) is allowed
against income tax for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes paid
to political subdivisions in Louisiana on inventory held by manu-
facturers, distributors, or retailers. For information on qualifying for
this credit please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 06-036 on
the Department’s website.

51F — Ad Valorem Natural Gas — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6006) is
allowed against income tax for 100 percent of the ad valorem
taxes paid to political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas
held, used, or consumed in providing natural gas storage servic-
es or operating natural gas storage facilities. Both a copy of the
tax assessment and a copy of the cancelled check in payment of
the tax must be attached to the return.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

52F — Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels — A refundable credit (R.S.
47:6006.1) is allowed against income tax for 100 percent of the ad
valorem taxes paid on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf Lands
Act Waters. The following must be attached to the return: (A) a
copy of the inventory tax assessment, (B) a copy of the cancelled
check in payment of the tax, and (C) a copy of a completed Form
LAT 11A from the Louisiana Tax Commission.

53F — Sound Recording—A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6023) is allowed
against income tax for investing in certain state-certified musical
recording productions and infrastructure. The Department of
Economic Development certifies the credit and a copy of the cer-
tification must be attached to the return.

54F — Telephone Company Property — A refundable credit (R.S.
47:6014) is allowed against income tax for up to 40 percent (.40) of
the ad valorem taxes paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a
telephone company, with respect to that company’s public service
properties located in Louisiana. The credit may be passed through
to individuals who are shareholders or members of certain legal
entities. See Revenue Information Bulletin 01-004, on the
Department’s website. A schedule must be attached stating which
entity paid the tax and obtained the credit on the individual's behalf.

55F — Prison Industry Enhancement — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:6018)
is allowed against income tax for purchases by a taxpayer of
specialty apparel items from a private sector Prison Industry
Enhancement (PIE) contactor. Please contact the Department for
further information concerning this credit.

56F — Urban Revitalization — A refundable credit (R.S. 51:1801) is
allowed against income tax for investing in certain economically
depressed areas of the state. The Department of Economic
Development certifies the credit and a copy of the certification
must be attached to the return.

57F — Mentor — Protégé — A refundable credit (Act 356 of the 2007
Regular Session) is allowed against income tax for a mentor busi-
ness that commits and provides professional guidance and sup-
port to its protégés to facilitate their development and growth as a
competitive contractor, subcontractor, joint venture partner, or
supplier of local, state, federal, and private markets. The
Department of Economic Development certifies this credit and
documentation from that agency must be attached to the return.




CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

CODE

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

58F — Milk Producers — A refundable credit (Act 461 of the 2007
Regular Session) is allowed against income tax for a resident
taxpayer engaged in the business of producing milk for sale.
Those milk producers that have obtained permits under the
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 51 and have met the require-
ments of the Food and Drug Administration shall be certified by
the Department of Health and Hospitals to receive the credit.

59F — Technology Commercialization — A refundable credit (Act 401
of the 2007 Regular Session) is allowed against income tax for a
qualifying individual or business that invests in the commercializa-
tion of Louisiana technology. The Department of Economic
Development certifies this credit and documentation from that
agency must be attached to the return.

60F — Historic Residential — A refundable credit (R.S. 47:297.6) is
allowed against income tax for the amount of eligible costs and
expenses incurred during the rehabilitation of an owner-occupied
residential or owner-occupied mixed use structure located in a
National Register Historic District, a local historic district, a Main
Street District, or a downtown development district. The structure
must have been listed or is eligible for listing on the National
Register or has been certified by the State Historic Preservation
Office. The tax credit shall be limited to one credit per rehabilitat-
ed structure and shall not exceed $25,000 per structure. Please
contact the Department of Revenue for additional information on
qualifying for this credit.

61F — Angel Investor —A refundable credit (Act 445 of the 2007 Regular
Session) is allowed against income tax to encourage third party
investment of taxpayers who make qualified investments to certi-
fied Louisiana entrepreneurial businesses between January 1,
2005 and December 31, 2009. To earn the Angel Investor Tax
Credit, taxpayers must file an application with the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development, which has the exclusive
authority to implement and administer the credit program and
approve the credit applications. Please refer to Revenue
Information Bulletin 06-020 on the Department’s website.

62F — Broadway South — A refundable credit (Act 482 of the 2007
Regular Session) is allowed against income tax for the production
expenses, transportation costs, employment of college and
vocational-technical students, employment of residents, and for
the construction, repair, or renovation of facilities related to pro-
ductions and performances. No credit shall be allowed under this
provision if credit has been granted for the Motion Picture
Investment credit (R.S. 47:6007) or the Sound Recording
Investment credit (R.S. 47:6023). The Department of Economic
Development, the Commissioner of Administration, and the Office
of the Governor shall certify the production or project.

63F — Quality Jobs — A refundable credit (R.S. 51:2452 et seq.) is
allowed against income tax for certain businesses that locate or
expand existing operations within Louisiana. The employer must
enter into a contract with the State Board of Commerce and
Industry, or its successor, with the approval of the governor. A
copy of the contract must be attached to the return.

80F — Other Refundable Credit — Reserved for future credits.

Schedule H-NRA

Federal Disaster Relief Credits

Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid on Louisiana
income. Generally, when the federal income tax liability is decreased by
federal credits, the amount of Louisiana income tax liability increases. Act
25 of the First Extraordinary Louisiana Legislative Session of 2006
expanded the relief granted to Louisiana taxpayers who claimed federal
disaster credits granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita. To
prevent Louisiana taxpayers from paying additional state income tax
because they received federal disaster relief credits, you may increase the
amount of the federal income tax deduction for Louisiana by the amount
of certain federal disaster relief tax credits claimed on your 2007 federal
income tax form. The Louisiana Secretary of Revenue has, through
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.601, determined which federal
credits are disaster relief credits. The federal credits that have been estab-
lished to be federal disaster relief credits are:

Employee Retention Credit

Work Opportunity Credit
Rehabilitation Tax Credit
Employer-Provided Housing Credit
Low Income Housing Credit

New Markets Tax Credit

You must review LAC 61:1.601 for complete information about the federal
credits. LAC 61:1.601 can be found on the Department’s website at
www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

ook 0bhd =

Consult your tax advisor or contact the IRS for complete information
concerning the federal credits. You must attach a copy of the appropriate
federal form(s) to your return in order for your modified Louisiana federal
income tax deduction to be allowed.

Instructions for Schedule H-NRA

If you have claimed federal disaster relief credits, complete Schedule H-NRA.

Line 1 — Print the amount of your federal income tax liability from Federal
Form 1040, Line 57.

Line 2 — Print the amount of federal disaster relief credits claimed on your
federal return. The federal disaster relief credits utilized for this year and
allowed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) could be credits that are
carried forward from 2005 or 2006. Attach a copy of your federal return

which indicates the amount of the credit, a copy of Form 3800, and a copy of
the appropriate IRS form in order to substantiate the amount of the credit.

Line 3 — Add the amounts from Lines 1 and 2 and print the result. Mark
the box on Line 10E to indicate that your income tax deduction has been
increased by the amount of federal disaster credits.

Instructions for Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G-NRA

Line 1 — CREDIT FOR CERTAIN DISABILITIES - (R.S.
47:297(A)) If you are a taxpayer, spouse, or dependent of a
person who is deaf, has lost the use of a limb, is mentally
incapacitated, or is blind, you can earn a credit of $100 against the
tax. Only one credit is allowed per person. The disability must
exist at the end of the taxable year, or if death occurred during the
taxable year, at the date of death. If you are claiming this credit for
the first time, a physician’s statement is required certifying the
disability. If this statement is not submitted with the return, it will
be requested later. For purposes of this credit, refer to the defini-
tions below:

* DEAF is defined as one who cannot understand speech
through auditory means alone (even with the use of amplified
sound) and must either use visual means or rely on other
means of communication.

¢ LOSS OF LIMB is defined as one who has lost one or both
hands at or above the wrist or one or both feet at or above the
ankle. This credit also applies if use of the limb or limbs has
been permanently lost.

MENTALLY INCAPACITATED is defined as one who is
incapable of caring for himself or performing routine daily
health requirements due to his mental condition.

BLIND is defined as one who is totally blind or whose central
field of acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with
correcting lenses or whose visual acuity is limited to a field no
greater than 20 degrees.

The name(s) of the qualifying dependent(s) must be printed
on Line 1C. Print on Line 1D the total number of qualifying
individuals. Multiply Line 1D by $100 and print the result on
Line 1E.



Line 2 — CREDIT FOR CONTRIBUTIONS TO EDUCATIONAL
INSTITUTIONS (R.S. 47:37) Taxpayers who donated
computer equipment to educational institutions, are allowed a
credit of forty percent (.40) of the value of the property donated
from your Louisiana income tax. The recipient must certify the
donation or contribution of property by using the Certificate
of Donation, Form R-3400. This form is available on the
Department’'s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov. The
completed certification form must be attached to the individual
income tax return. On Line 2A, print the value of the property
donated to an educational institution in Louisiana. Multiply the
amount on Line 2A by forty percent (.40), and print the result on
Line 2B. Round this number to the nearest dollar.

Line 3 — CREDIT FOR CERTAIN FEDERAL CREDITS -
(R.S. 47:297(B)) Taxpayers are allowed a credit of ten percent
(.10) of the credits taken on Lines 47 and 49 on Federal Form
1040, plus ten percent (.10) of any investment tax credit or jobs
credit computed on Federal Form 3800. If Federal Form 1040A is
used, the allowed credit is ten percent (.10) of the credit on Line 30
of the federal return. If the credit was not used on the federal return
because of the alternative minimum tax, you must reduce this
amount by the portion of the credit that was not used. Print the total
federal credit on Line 3A. Multiply Line 3A by ten percent (.10), and
enter the result, or $25, whichever is less, on Line 3B.

Additional nonrefundable credits Lines 4 through 9

Below, is a list of additional nonrefundable credits available for the
taxable year ended December 31, 2007. Please print the credit
description, identifying code, and the dollar amount claimed, in the
appropriate spaces on Lines 5 through 10. Note: Use only the
codes referenced in the table on Schedule G-NRA. The codes
listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed in
this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Vehicle Alternative Fuel 121016 51010

Line 10—Total Nonrefundable Credits — Add Lines 1E, 2B, 3B, and
4 through 9. Print the result here and on Line 13B of Form
IT-540B-NRA.

CODE
100

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

Premium Tax — R.S. 47:227 provides a credit against Louisiana
income tax for premium taxes paid during the preceding 12 months
by an insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana.
The credit may be passed to individuals through certain legal enti-
ties (e.g. partnership). A schedule must be attached stating what
entity(ies) paid the premium tax and generated the credit on behalf
of the individual.

105 Commercial Fishing — R.S. 47:297(C) provides a credit for the
amount of gasoline and special fuels taxes paid for operating or
propelling any commercial fishing boat. Attach a schedule listing all

invoices and taxes paid.

110 Family Responsibility — R.S. 47:297(F) provides a credit against
an individual’s income tax for the amount contributed in a family
responsibility program under the provisions of R.S. 46:449. The
amount of this credit shall not exceed 331/, percent (.333) of the

contribution, or $200 per year, whichever is less.

115 Small Town Doctor/Dentist — R.S. 47:297(H) provides a credit for
a certified medical doctor possessing an unrestricted license from
the State of Louisiana to practice medicine, or for a dentist licensed
by the State of Louisiana to practice dentistry in certain geographic

areas of Louisiana. The credit is limited to $5,000.

120 Bone Marrow — R.S. 47:297(l) provides a credit for any
individual taxpayer required to file a Louisiana tax return,
acting as a business entity authorized to do business in the state,
operating as either a sole proprietorship, a partner in a partnership,

or as a Subchapter S Corporation, for bone marrow donor expense.
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CODE

CREDIT DESCRIPTION

125

130

135

140

150

155

165

175

199
200

202

204

206

Law Enforcement Education — R.S. 47:297(J) provides a credit
for certain law enforcement officers and specified employees of the
Department of Public Safety and Corrections for specific post-sec-
ondary educational expenses incurred in the pursuit of an under-
graduate degree related to law enforcement.

First Time Drug Offenders — R.S. 47:297(K) provides a
credit for a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an indi-
vidual who has been convicted of a first time drug offense, and who
is less than 25 years of age at the time of initial employment.

Bulletproof Vest — R.S. 47:297(L) provides a credit for the
purchase of a bulletproof vest for certain law enforcement
personnel, as designated in the statute. The credit is limited to $100.

Nonviolent Offenders — R.S.47:297 (O) provides a credit for a
taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an individual who
has been convicted of a first-time nonviolent offense. Please con-
tact the Department for information on qualifying for this credit.

Qualified Playgrounds — R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit against
Louisiana income tax for donations to assist qualified playgrounds.
The credit shall be an amount equal to the lesser of $1,000 or
one-half of the value of the cash, equipment, goods, or services
donated. Please contact the Department for information on qualify-
ing for this credit. For taxable years 1993 through 2000, Acts 405
of the 2005 Regular Legislative Session allows an amended return
to be filed if this credit was not originally claimed. The amended
return must be filed by December 31, 2008.

Debt Issuance — R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit against Louisiana
income tax for the filing fee paid to the Louisiana State Bond
Commission, which is incurred by an economic development
corporation in the preparation and issuance of bonds.

Employee and Dependent Health Insurance — R.S. 47:287.759
provides a credit against Louisiana income tax for a contractor or
subcontractor who offers health insurance coverage to full-time
employees and their dependents. Please see Louisiana
Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.1195 on the Department's website
for information regarding this credit.

Donations of Materials, Equipment, Advisors, Instructors —
R.S. 47:6012 provides a credit for employers within the state for
donations of the latest technology available in materials, equip-
ment, or instructors to public training providers, secondary and
postsecondary vocational-technical schools, apprenticeship
programs registered with the Louisiana Department of Labor, or
community colleges to assist in the development of training
programs designed to meet industry needs. The credit is equal to
50% (.50) of the value of the donated materials, equipment, or
services rendered by the instructor. When taken with other applica-
ble credits, this credit cannot exceed 20% of the employer’s tax lia-
bility for any taxable year.

Other — Reserved for future credits.

Atchafalaya Trace — R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit to certain
heritage-based cottage industries. You must attach a copy of your
contract to the return.

Organ Donation — R.S. 47:297(N) provides a credit to offset
certain expenses incurred by an individual and/or spouse for a
living organ donation.

Household Expense for Physically and Mentally Incapable
Persons — R.S. 47:297.2 provides a credit against the individual
income tax for a person who maintains a household that includes
one or more dependents who are physically or mentally incapable
of caring for themselves. The credit is equal to the applicable per-
centage of employment-related expenses allowable pursuant to
Section 21 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Vehicle Alternative Fuel — R.S. 47:38 provides a credit for the
conversion of a vehicle to an alternative fuel source.
Documentation verifying the conversion must be attached to the
return.



CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION
208 Previously Unemployed - R.S. 47:6004 provides that 251 Motion Picture Investment — R.S. 47:6007 provides a credit for an
business proprietors are possibly eligible for a credit for individual taxpayer residing in Louisiana who invests in a state-cer-

hiring the previously unemployed. tified, motion picture production. For information on qualifying for

. . this credit please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 06-004 on

210 Recycling Credit — R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for the the Department’s website.
purchase of certain equipment and/or service contracts
related to recycling. The credit must be certified by the Louisiana 252 Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015 provides a credit for
Department of Environmental Quality and a copy of the certification any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 26 U.S.C.
must be attached to the return. §41(a) for increasing research activities.

212 Basic Skills Training — R.S. 47:6009 provides a credit 253 Historic Structures — R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if the taxpay-
against Louisiana income tax for employers who pay for er incurs certain expenses during the rehabilitation of a historic
training to bring employees’ reading, writing, or mathematical structure that is located in a Downtown Development District. For
skills to at least the 12th grade level. The credit is limited to $250 per information on qualifying for this credit, please refer to Revenue
participating employee, not to exceed $30,000 for the tax year. Information Bulletin 06-002 on the Department’s website.

216 Brownfields Investor Credit — R.S. 47:6021 provides a credit to 254 Digital Interactive Media — R.S.47:6022 provides a credit to indi-
individuals to encourage the cleanup, redevelopment, and produc- viduals for the investment in businesses specializing in digital inter-
tive reuse of brownfields sites in the state. The credit is obtained active media. The credit is obtained through the Department of
through the Department of Economic Development and the Economic Development and documentation from that agency must
Department of Environmental Quallty be attached to the return.

220 Dedicated Research — R.S. 51:2203 provides a credit of 255 Technology Commercialization — R.S. 51:2354 provides
35 percent (.35) of a cash donation of $200,000 or more to the a credit of 15 percent (.15) of the amount of money invested by the
Dedicated Research Investment Fund, which is administered by taxpayer in commercialization costs for one business location. The
the Louisiana Board of Regents. The Board of Regents must certi- Louisiana Department of Economic Development certifies this
fy that the person is qualified for the credit. A copy of your certifica- credit. A copy of your certification must be attached to the return.
tion must be attached to the return.

i . 256 Motion Picture Employment of Resident — R.S. 47:1125.1

224 New Jobs Credit — R.S. 47:34 and R.S. 47:287.749 provide a provides a credit against Louisiana income tax for the employment
credit to employers who establish or expand a business in the of residents of Louisiana in connection with the production of a
state. A schedule that includes the ca!culatlon of the cr«_adlt _must be motion picture. The credit may flow to an individual via a partner-
e_lttached to the return and must a_Iso |nc|ude the following informa- ship, limited liability company, Subchapter S Corporation, or other
tion: (1) name, address, and Social Security Number of each new entities. Please refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 05-005 on the
employee; (2) highest number of full-time and qualified part-time Department's website.
employees during the previous year; (3) highest number of full-time
and part-time employees during the current year; (4) number of 257 Capital Company — R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit for any person
new employees hired for new jobs created during this taxable year; who invests in a certified Louisiana Capital Company. This credit
and (5) amount of credit carried forward from the previous year. For must be approved by the Commissioner of the Office of Financial
additional information, please contact the Department. Institutions. A copy of your certification must be attached to the

226 Refund by Utilities — R.S. 47:287.664 provides a credit for certain return.
court ordered refunds made by utilities to its customers. Please 258 LCDFI - R.S. 51:3081 et seq. provides a credit to encourage the-
contact the Department for additional information. expansion of businesses in economically distressed areas. The

228 Eligible Re-entrants — R.S. 47:287.748 provides a credit to Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions administers this program.
encourage the employment of full-time jobs in the state of 259 New Markets — R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the taxpayer-
Louisiana of re-entrants who have been convicted of a felony and makes certain qualified low-income community investments, as
who have successfully completed the Intensive Incarceration defined in Section 45D of the Internal Revenue Code.

Program as provided for in R.S. 15:574.4. For additional informa-
tion, please contact the Department. 299 Other — Reserved for future credits.

230 Neighborhood Assistance — R.S. 47:35 and R.S. 47:287.753 300 Biomed/University Research — R.S. 17:3389 provides a credit
provide a credit for an entity engaged in the activities of providing against the Louisiana individual income tax to persons who estab-
neighborhood assistance, job training, education for individuals, lish research activities either in a Biomedical or a University
community services, or crime prevention in the state of Louisiana. Research and Development Park. You must attach a copy of your
The tax credit is limited to 70 percent (.70) of the actual amount contract to the return. The Louisiana Department of Economic
contributed for investment in programs approved by the commis- Development certifies this credit.
sioner of administration or his successor. Such credit shall not L . .
exceed $250,000 annually. For additional information, please 305 Tax Equalization — R.S. 47:3201 et. seq. provides a credit for tax
contact the Department. equalization for certain businesses locating in Louisiana. You must

attach a copy of your contract to the return. The Louisiana

232 Cane River Heritage — Act 299 of the 2007 Regular Session pro- Department of Economic Development certifies this credit.
vides for a credit for a heritage-based cottage industry located or to i .
be located in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. ~ 310 Manufacturing Establishments — R.S. 47:4301 et seq.
The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Department of provides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism. A copy of the contract must be that have entered into a contract with the Department of
attached to the return. Economic Development. You must attach a copy of your

contract to the return.

234 LA Community Economic Development — Act 374 of the 2007 . . . .
Regular Session provides for a credit for the amount of money 315  Enterprise Zone — R.S. 51:1781 et seq. provides a credit against
donated, contributed, or represented by a sale below cost by the the Louisiana individual income tax for pr!yate sector |nvestrpents
taxpayer to a certified community development corporation or a in certain areas that are designated as "Enterprise Zones.” You
certified community development financial institution. The credit- must attach a copy of your contract to the return. The Louisiana
must be certified and approved by the Department of Economic Department of Economic Development certifies this credit.
Development. Documentation from that agency must be attached- 399 Other — Reserved for future credits.

to the return.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE NRA-DUTY DAY DETAIL

The Louisiana income tax of a nonresident professional athlete is
attributable to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund, as created by
R.S. 39:100.1. Schedule NRA - 1 and Schedule NRA-Duty Day
Detail must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA in order to comply
with the statute.

A professional athlete is defined as an athlete that either plays
for a professional sports franchise or who is a member of a
professional sports association or league. This reporting
requirement includes all employees who are active players,
players on the disabled list, and any other persons required to
travel and who do travel with and perform services on behalf of a
professional athletic team on a regular basis. This includes, but is
not limited to, coaches, managers, and trainers.

If more than one schedule is required, please appropriately
indicate the page numbering of the schedules.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Print your name, address and Social Security Number in the
spaces provided.

SPORTS FRANCHISE AND LEAGUE AFFILIATION

In the space provided, indicate the professional sports franchise
and the professional sports association or league you are affiliated
with. Please see the definitions below:

“Professional sports franchise” means a member team of a
professional sports association or league.

“Professional sports association or league” means any of the
following:

1. Professional Golfers Association of America (PGA);
2 National Football League (NFL);

3 National Basketball Association (NBA);

4. National Hockey League (NHL);

5 East Coast Hockey League (ECHL);

6. Pacific Coast League (PCL).

SCHEDULE NRA-DUTY DAY DETAIL — Complete a single line of
Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail for each event in which income was
earned in Louisiana at a sports facility using Lines 1 through 10.

An explanation of each column is given below.

DATES OF DUTY DAYS - In the columns designated “Dates of
Duty Days,” print the beginning and ending dates for the duty days
associated with the event. Duty Days are defined as follows:

“Duty Days” means all days during the taxable year from the
beginning of the professional athletic team’s official preseason
training period through the last game in which the team competes
or is scheduled to compete.
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I.  Duty days shall also include days on which a member of
a professional athletic team renders a service for a team
on a date that does not fall within the period described in
the general definition of duty days above, for example,
participation in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or
other promotional caravans. Rendering a service includes
conducting training and rehabilitation activities, but only if
conducted at the facilities of the team.

II. Included within duty days shall be game days, practice
days, days spent at team meetings, promotional
caravans, and preseason training camps, and days
served with the team through all postseason games in

which the team competes or is scheduled to compete.

1I. Duty days for any person who joins a team during the
season shall begin on the day that person joins the team,
and for a person who leaves a team shall end on the day
that person leaves the team. If a person switches teams
during a taxable year, a separate duty day calculation
shall be made for the period that person was with each

team.

IV. Days for which a member of a professional athletic team
is not compensated and is not rendering services for the
team in any manner, including days when the member of
a professional athletic team has been suspended without
pay and prohibited from performing any services for the

team, shall not be treated as duty days.

Days for which a member of a professional athletic team
is on the disabled list shall be presumed not to be duty
days spent in the state. They shall, however, be included
in total duty days spent within and without the state.

VI. Travel days that do not involve either a game, practice,
team meeting, promotional caravan, or other similar team
event are not considered duty days spent in the state, but
shall be considered duty days spent within and without

the state.

DUTY DAYS IN LOUISIANA - In the column designated “Number
of Duty Days in Louisiana,” print the total duty days associated with
the event.

NUMBER OF SPORTS FACILITY - In the column designated
“Sports Facility at Which Income Was Earned” print the name of
the arena /stadium/course where the event was held. For example:
Louisiana Superdome, Baton Rouge Centroplex, Zephyr Field.

LOCATION OF SPORTS FACILITY — In the column designated
“Location of Sports Facility” print the name of the Louisiana city in
which the facility is located.

Line 11: Total Louisiana Duty Days — Print the total of “Number of
Duty Days in Louisiana” here.



SCHEDULE NRA-1

1. Total Louisiana Duty Days - See INStrUCHIONS. ........ccoiiiiiiiiieerierie e

2. Total Duty Days EVERYWHERE - See INStruCtioNS. .........cccevviiiiiee e

3. RATIO OF LOUISIANA DUTY DAYS TO TOTAL DUTY DAYS - Divide Line 1 by Line 2 and
print result here. Carry out to two decimal places in the percentage. (e.g. 24.19%)

4. Total Compensation - See INSTIUCHIONS. .....ccceiiiiiiiiiiee e

5. Louisiana Income - Multiply Line 4 by the ratio on Line 3. Print the result here and on

Form IT-540B-NRA, LINE BA. ...ttt bbb
This form must be attached to Form IT-540B-NRA along with Form Schedule NRA-Duty Day Detail (page 12).

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE NRA-1

Line 1: Total Louisiana Duty Days — Print the amount from Line
11 from Schedule NRA - Duty Day Detail. If more than one
Schedule NRA - Duty Day Detail has been prepared, sum the
amounts from Line 11 of each schedule prepared.

Line 2: Total Duty Days Everywhere — This is the total of all “Duty
Days” associated with the athletic season. See definition of “Duty
Days” on page 13.

Line 3: Ratio of Louisiana Duty Days to Total Duty Days —
Divide Line 1 by Line 2 and print result here. Carry out to two dec-
imal places in the percentage; for example, 24.19 percent. Do not
round up.

Line 4: Total Compensation — Print the amount of total compen-
sation received for services rendered as a member of a profession-
al athletic team. The amount(s) to include are defined below.

Total compensation includes salaries, wages, bonuses, and any
other type of compensation paid during the taxable year to a
member of a professional athletic team for services performed in
that year.

I. Total compensation shall not include strike benefits,
severance pay, termination pay, contract or option-year
buyout payments, expansion or relocation payments, or
any other payments not related to services rendered to
the team.

1. For purposes of this rule, “bonuses” subject to the

allocation procedures described in this Subsection, are:

(a) bonuses earned as a result of play during the
season, including performance bonuses, bonuses
paid for championship, playoff or bowl games played
by a team, or for selection to all-star league or other
honorary positions; and

(b) bonuses paid for signing a contract, unless all of the
following conditions are met:

(i) the payment of the signing bonus is not condi-
tional upon the signee playing any games for the
team, or performing any subsequent services
for the team, or even making the team;

(ii) the signing bonus is payable separately from the
salary and any other compensation; and

(iii) the signing bonus is nonrefundable.

Total compensation for services rendered as a member of a
professional athletic team means the total compensation received
during the taxable year for services rendered

1. from the beginning of the official preseason training
period through the last game in which the team competes
or is scheduled to compete during that taxable year; and

II. during the taxable year on a date that does not fall within
the period in clause “I” above; for example, participation
in instructional leagues, the Pro Bowl, or promotional

caravans.

Line 5: Louisiana Income - Multiply Line 4 by the percentage on Line
3. Print the amount on Line 5 and on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 8A.

NOTE: For additional information regarding the nonresident athlete apportionment of
compensation, see Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.1304
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Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not pay all
amounts due on or before May 15, 2008. If the return is for a fiscal year,
you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not pay on or before the
15" day, of the 5™ month after the close of the taxable year.

Important: The granting of an extension DOES NOT relieve you of
your obligation to pay all tax amounts due by the due date.

Interest — If your 2007 calendar year income tax amount is not paid by
May 15, 2008, you may be charged interest on tax obligations that have
not become final and nonappealable through December 31, 2008.
Because the interest rate varies from year to year and is not determined
until the latter part of 2007, the Department is unable to provide a specif-
ic rate at the time of printing. Please see Revenue Information Bulletin
(RIB) 08-001 for the 2008 interest rate. The RIB is available on the
Department’s website, at www.revenue.louisiana.gov. In order to com-
pute the INTEREST RATE PER DAY, divide the 2008 interest rate by 365
and carry out to seven places to the right of the decimal. Example:
Assume the 2008 interest rate is determined to be 17% (0.17) per annum.
Divide 0.17 by 365. 0.17/365 = .0004657, which equals the INTEREST
RATE PER DAY. NOTE!! You must carry out your computation to 7 places
to the right of the decimal point.

Interest Calculation Worksheet

Number of days late from *May 15, 2008
(*or days late from fiscal year due date)

Interest rate per day (See instructions above.)

Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)

Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 21.)
Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, and

.00

G (R WIN| =

.00

print the result on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 22.)

Important Notice: The sum of BOTH the delinquent filing and
delinquent payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent (.25) of the tax
due. Thirty (30) day increments are used for the calculation of the
delinquent filing and delinquent payment penalties. These penalties are
based on the date the Department receives the return and/or payment,
not the date the envelope is postmarked.

Delinquent Filing Penalty — A delinquent filing penalty will be charged for-
failure to file a timely return on or before May 15, 2008, for calendar year
filers, your fiscal year due date, or your approved extension date. A penal-
ty of 5 percent (.05) of the tax due accrues if the delay in filing is not more
than 30 days. An additional 5 percent (.05) is assessed for each additional
30 days, or fraction thereof, during which the failure to file continues. By
law, the maximum delinquent filing penalty that can be imposed is 25 per-
cent (.25) of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

Number of days late from May 15, 2008,
1 | for calendar year filers, your approved
extension date, or your fiscal year due date.
2 | Divide Line 1 by 30 (days).
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
3 | days remain, increase to nearest whole
number.)
4 | 30-day penalty percentage “
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3
5 | by Line 4. The result cannot exceed
25 percent [.25].)
6 | Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 21.) .00
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty due
7 | (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and print
the result on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 23.) .00
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Delinquent Payment Penalty — If you fail to pay 90 percent (.90) of the
tax due by the due date (May 15, 2008), a delinquent payment penalty
will be assessed. A penalty of 0.5 percent (.005) of the tax not paid by
the due date will accrue for each 30 days, or fraction thereof, during
which the failure to pay continues. This penalty cannot exceed 25
percent (.25) of the tax due.

To determine if you owe a delinquent payment penalty, answer the
following questions:

1. Are you paying a 2007 tax liability after May 15, 2008?

2. Have you paid at least 90 percent (.90) of total tax due?

a. Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 14. .00
b. Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 15C. .00
c. Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 15D. .00
d Subtract Lines “b” and “c” from Line “a” above. .00
e. Multiply Line “d” by 10 percent (.10). .00
f. Print the amount from Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 21. .00

If the amount on Line “f” is less than or equal to the amount on Line “e,”
you have paid at least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due. If the amount
on Line “f” is greater than the amount on Line “e,” you have not paid at
least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due.

If you are paying a 2007 tax liability after May 15, 2008, AND have not
paid at least 90 percent (.90) of the total tax due, then you owe the
delinquent payment penalty. Use the worksheet below to calculate that
penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from *May 15, 2008
(*or days late from fiscal year due date)

2 | Divide Line 1 by 30 days. m
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of

3 | days remain, increase the amount to the
nearest whole number.)

4 | 30-day penalty percentage m
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3

5 | by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25
percent [.25].)

6 | Amount you owe (Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 21.) .00
Total amount of Delinquent Payment Penalty

7 | (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and print the result
on Form IT-540B-NRA, Line 24.) .00

Underpayment Penalty — Louisiana imposes an underpayment penalty
on an individual's failure to sufficiently pay income tax throughout the year
by withholding or declaration payments. In order to determine if an under-
payment penalty is due and to compute the amount of the underpayment-
penalty, you must obtain Form R-210NRA, Underpayment of Individual
Income Tax Penalty Computation for Nonresident and Part-Year Resident
Filers. Complete R-210NRA and attach the complete form to your return.
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