

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS VENDOR'S COMPENSATION

CLAIM FOR REFUND

Mail to this address: Louisiana Department of Revenue Taxpayer Compliance Division-SSEW P.O. Box 66362 Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6362 Phone: (225) 219-2270 Email: LDRTax.Refunds@LA.gov

	Taxpayer Information			
Taxpayer Legal Name (If taxpayer is corporation, enter corporation name.)		Requested	Requested Periods	
Taxpayer Trade Name		Taxpayer ⁻	Telephone	
Address				
City		State	ZIP	
Represented by (Give name and title.)		Contact Telephone		
Contact Email Address			Power of Attorney Attached?	
Federal Employer Identification Number	Are you registered with the Louisiana Dept. of Revenue?		•	
LA Motor Vehicle Commission License Number	LA Motor Vehicle Commission Dealer Code			
LA Used Motor Vehicle Commission License Number	LA Used Motor Vehicle Commission Dealer Code			
Total Amount of Tax Requested to Be Refunded (Must match total on Refund Request Schedule)	\$			

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this claim form and accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, they are true, correct, and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.								
Taxpayer's Signature			Date (mm/	Date (mm/dd/yyyy)				
and enter his or her id account number must to sign or provide an id	If your claim for refund was prepared by a paid preparer, that person must also sign in the appropriate space, complete the information in the "Paid Preparer Use Only" box, and enter his or her identification number in the space provided under the box. If the paid preparer has a PTIN, the PTIN must be provided; otherwise, the FEIN or LDR account number must be provided. If the paid preparer represents a firm, the firm's FEIN must be entered in the "Paid Preparer Use Only" box. The failure of a paid preparer to sign or provide an identification number will result in the assessment of the unidentified preparer penalty on the preparer. The penalty is \$50 for each occurrence of failing to sign or failing to provide an identification number.							
	Print Preparer's Na	ame	Preparer's Signature	Date (mm/dd/yyyy)	Check 🗌 if Self-employed			
PAID PREPARER USE ONLY	Firm's Name 🗲			Firm's FEIN >				
	Firm's Address 🕨			Telephone 🕨				

PTIN, FEIN, or LDR Account Number of Paid Preparer

	•	

For Office Use Only.



MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS VENDOR'S COMPENSATION CLAIM FOR REFUND

Mail to this address: Louisiana Department of Revenue Taxpayer Compliance Division-SSEW P.O. Box 66362 Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6362 Phone: (225) 219-2270 Email: LDRTax.Refunds@LA.gov

		Vendor's Compens	sation Refund Requ	est (Please round to	the nearest dollar.)	
	1	2	3	4	5	6
Reportin	ng Period Year	Total State Sales Tax Collected on Sales of New or Used Motor Vehicles Taxable Value x Applicable Tax Rate	State Vendor's Compensation Rate	Vendor's Compensation on the Sales of New or Used Motor Vehicles (Col 2 x 3)	Vendor's Compensation Cap	Requested Vendor's Compensation Refund (Lesser of Col 4 or 5)
April	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Мау	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
June	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
July	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Aug	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Sept	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Oct	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Nov	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Dec	2023	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Jan	2024	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Feb	2024	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
March	2024	\$	0.944%	\$	\$1,500	\$
Total		\$		\$		\$

INSTRUCTIONS Motor Vehicle Dealers Vendor's Compensation Claim for Refund

General Information

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:306(A)(3)(a) limits sales tax vendor's compensation per dealer to \$1,500 per reporting period effective April 1, 2016. Form R-1386, *Motor Vehicle Dealer Vendor's Compensation Claim for Refund*, allows new and used motor vehicle dealers to claim vendor's compensation on those sales reported to the Office of Motor Vehicles on which vendor's compensation was not allowed.

In order to receive vendor's compensation, the state sales tax must be reported and remitted timely to the collecting agency. In addition, no refund will be issued for those amounts in excess of \$1,500 for the reporting period. The vendor's compensation cap includes any sales tax reported to the Office of Motor Vehicles as well as any sales tax reported to the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR). Any vendor's compensation allowed by LDR on filed sales tax returns will be applied to the cap, and amounts in excess of \$1,500 will be denied.

Please complete the Taxpayer Information section in its entirety. If someone other than the taxpayer is completing the refund claim, a completed Power of Attorney must be attached in order for the claim to be processed. If you are not currently registered with LDR for sales tax, please complete Form R-16019, *Application for a Louisiana Tax Number*, and attach it to the refund claim form. The application can be found on our website at <u>http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/Forms/ForBusinesses</u>.

Specific Instructions for Vendor's Compensation Refund Request Schedule - Please round to the nearest dollar amount.

- 1. Column 1 Reporting Period
- 2. Column 2 Enter the total state sales tax collected and remitted to the Office of Motor Vehicles for the period. The state sales tax is imposed on the taxable value of a vehicle at a rate of 4.45% for periods on or after July 1, 2018.
- 3. Column 3 State vendor's compensation rate. Beginning August 1, 2020, the State of Louisiana vendor's compensation rate is 0.944% of the tax amount due. For more information, please see Revenue Information Bulletin 20-015.
- 4. Column 4 Multiply the amount in Column 2 by the state vendor's compensation rate found in Column 3.
- 5. Column 5 Vendor's compensation cap
- 6. Column 6 Enter the lesser of Column 4 or Column 5. Add the amounts reported in Columns 4 and 6.
- 7. Total amount of tax requested to be refunded Enter the total amount of Column 6 on the Claim for Refund form.

Please include a detailed schedule of motor vehicle transactions submitted to the Office of Motor Vehicles. The schedule should contain the following information by period: VIN number, tax date, taxable value, and state tax remitted. The state sales tax rate is 4.45% for periods on or after July 1, 2018.

Taxpayers may submit their refund claims and supporting schedules by **ONE** of the following methods:

- Email Documents may also be submitted via e-mail to LDRTax.Refunds@La.gov.
- Secure Portal Taxpayers sending large files should contact the Taxpayer Compliance SSEW/Sales Tax Unit at the e-mail address above to set up a secure portal site.
- Mail Taxpayers may submit their refund claims and supporting schedules by mail using a CD, DVD, or flash drive to the address below:

Louisiana Department of Revenue Taxpayer Compliance Division-SSEW P.O. Box 66362 Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6362

Please do not submit a claim via more than one method, as this will result in a duplicate claim and delay processing.