
NOTE: A separate application must be submitted for each vessel for which an exemption is requested.

This application must be accompanied by copies of a current vessel license issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries (LDWF), proof of vessel ownership, commercial fishing license, and a complete copy of the most current federal income 
tax return. Proof of vessel ownership may be a copy of the boat registration or a copy of the United States Coast Guard (U.S.C.G.) 
documentation. The vessel license, owner of vessel, fishing license, and federal income tax return must be in the same individual 
or corporation name.

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE

Social Security Number (federal ID number if a corporation) Vessel Registration/Document Number  Issued by: 

 LDWF     U.S.C.G.

Name Name of Vessel  

Mailing Address Louisiana Vessel License Number  Year

City State ZIP Contact Name Telephone Number

I, a commercial fisherman, do hereby apply for a certificate of exemption from Louisiana state sales and use taxes under La. 
R.S. 47:305.20 and make the following statements:

Louisiana Resident Since (yyyy) Most Recent Income Tax Year

Total Income  
(Include wages, salaries, tips, and net income from self-employment.) For corporations, use total net income.  ..............

Commercial Fishing Income ..........................................................................................................................

I certify that my catch is for human consumption. I further certify that the vessel listed above is used primarily and principally for 
commercial fishing. I understand that exemption from state sales taxes is valid only as long as I am a commercial fisherman and 
meet all of the requirements for the exemption.

I understand that if I knowingly use this certificate for a purpose other than that authorized by La. R.S. 47:305.20, I may be subject 
to a fine of not less than $100 per offense, but not more than $1,000 per offense and imprisonment without hard labor for not less 
than one day, but not more than three months.

I understand that the exemption certificate issued by the Louisiana Department of Revenue may not be transferred to any other 
owner or person.

________________________________________________   ________________________________________________
 Signature Date

Sworn to and subscribed before me this ______________ day of _________________________________________  _______ 
  Year

  ________________________________________________
 Notary Public
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Application for Sales Tax Exemption 
for Commercial Fishermen

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:305.20

Mail to: 
Louisiana Department of Revenue
Taxpayer Compliance Division – SES
P.O. Box 66362
Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6362
Email: LDRSales.ExemptionApplications@la.gov
Fax: (225) 237-6762 
For Questions: Phone: (855) 307-3893 
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