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2022 REGULAR SESSION LEGISLATIVE SESSION REVIEW 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
Act 204 (HB 221) provides that all purchases of material or supplies exceeding $60,000 
must be advertised and let by contract to the lowest bidder. Purchases of $30,000 or more, 
but less than $60,000, must be made by obtaining three quotes by telephone, facsimile, email 
or other printable electronic form.  Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 38:2212.1(A)(1)(a) and (b)] 
 
Act 364 (HB 44) amends the process for legislative review of statutory entities/state 
agencies to determine whether there should be modifications or elimination of the 
entity/agency. To that end, it amends La. R.S. 49:193 at (B)(10) to require, in addition to the 
other specified items of the provision, the entity to submit for review: 

1. The identity of each report the statutory entity is required by law to produce, including 
the citation of   law requiring the report; 
2. An estimate of the agency resources expended to produce the report; and  
3. The opinion of the agency regarding the continued necessity of the report. 

The stated purpose of this legislation is to allow the standing committees to reduce the 
number of reports submitted by each agency for reevaluation. Thus, the identification of the 
additional information is intended to aid in identifying superfluous reporting to reduce 
agency reports. 
New provision is codified at R.S. 49:193(B)(10) and existing R.S. 49:193(B)(10) recodified at 
(B)(11). Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 49:193(B)(10); Adds R.S. 49:193(B)(11)] 

Act 406 (HB 1067) revises the Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative (Fresh 
Start), Louisiana Voluntary Disclosure Program (VDA) and Safe Harbor provisions enacted 
by Act 297 of the 2021 Regular Session. The Act removes the unemployment tax relief from 
the Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative and Safe Harbor provision, and those 
programs are relocated from Title 23 to Title 47 of the Revised Statutes.   
As amended, relief under the Fresh Start Program will be limited to withholding tax, interest 
and penalties, and the program will run from January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023.  
The Act also adds an express requirement that taxpayers comply with all reporting and 
payment obligations after acceptance of their Fresh Start application and allows for 
nullification of the relief granted if the taxpayer does not comply. The Act adds a provision 
in the Fresh Start statute to clarify that workers who are excluded from treatment as 
employees under state and federal unemployment law can only be reclassified as employees 
for purposes of withholding tax. 
The voluntary disclosure program for unemployment tax will remain in Title 23 and is the 
only unemployment tax relief available to employers.  The Act revises the voluntary 
disclosure program to provide for a three-year look back period for unemployment tax, 
authorizes the waiver of interest, and removes the authority to waive certain penalties.  The 
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Act repeals the voluntary disclosure program related to withholding tax but requires the 
Department of Revenue to establish by regulation a voluntary disclosure program specific to 
misclassified employees before July 1, 2023. Effective August 1, 2022. [Amends and reenacts 
the heading of Part XIII of Chapter 11 of Title 23 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, R.S. 
23:1771, 1773, and 1775(B) and (C)(2), and R.S. 47:1508(B)(28), and enacts R.S. 23:1775(F) 
and R.S. 47:1576.3 and 1576.4, and repeals R.S. 23:1772, 1774, and 1776] 

Act 410 (SB 54) provides an automatic six-month filing extension for income tax returns as 
follows: 

1.  Individual, fiduciary and partnership income tax returns will be automatically 
extended but if the income tax return is not filed by the extended due date, the 
delinquent filing penalty is assessed from the original due date of the return.  

2. Corporation income tax returns will receive an extension if the taxpayer timely 
requests an extension for federal income tax purposes. The extension is for six 
months or until the extended federal due date, whichever is later. If the corporation 
income tax return is not filed by the extended due date, the delinquent filing penalty 
is assessed from the original due date of the return. 

3. Corporate franchise tax returns, for taxpayers who also file a corporation income tax 
return, will receive the extension according to the corporation income tax return 
rules. If the taxpayer files a corporation franchise tax return only, the franchise tax 
return is not eligible for an extension in accordance with R.S. 47:612 which refers to 
R.S. 287.614(D).  

Applicable to taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2022.  Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:103(D), 287.614(D), and 612] 

Act 429 (SB 444) specifies that the collection and administrative provisions in Chapter 18 
of Title 47 shall apply to local hotel and motel occupancy taxes administered or collected by 
the secretary of the Department of Revenue. The Act also clarifies that local hotel and motel 
occupancy taxes may be collected pursuant to the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code.  The Act 
requires that all refunds of hotel and motel occupancy taxes not due must be requested in 
accordance with the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code. 
The Act also expands the remedies available to the Department of Revenue to enjoin certain 
tax preparers.  The Act affords the Department of Revenue the option to file a suit to enjoin 
with the Board of Tax Appeals and authorizes preliminary injunctions in certain instances.  
The Act also authorizes the secretary of the Department of Revenue to issue an 
administrative cease and desist if he finds that a preparer has engaged in certain conduct, 
which if continued, creates an immediate threat to taxpayers. The cease and desist must be 
served by certified mail or personal service.  An administrative cease and desist order cannot 
be issued to a CPA, enrolled agent, or attorney.  The Act authorizes the secretary to demand 
a penalty of $25 dollars per return, report, claim for refund or other claim for violating an 
administrative cease and desist order.  Additionally, it imposes a penalty of $50 dollars per 
return, report, claim for refund or other claim prepared in violation of an injunction which 
penalty may be assessed against the preparer as if it were a tax due. 
The Act provides that if a preparer is prohibited from preparing returns as part of a criminal 
prosecution, whether by plea agreement or otherwise, then that plea agreement or criminal 
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order shall serve as an injunction under R.S. 47:1574.2 without the Department of Revenue 
having to file a separate action. Effective June 15, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:1402(E)(2), 1408(D)(1), 1418(7)(d), 1432(A), 1574.2(A), the 
introductory paragraph of 1574.2(B), and 1574.2(D) and enacts R.S. 47:338.223, 1408(D)(3), 
and 1574.2(E), (F), and (G).] 

Act 564 (HB 329) amends the claim against the state payment procedures to require an 
appropriation by the legislature for payment of claims approved by the Board of Tax Appeals 
in an amount greater than $20,000. Claims in the amount of $20,000 can still be paid by the 
Department of Revenue from current collections. Effective June 17, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:1483(A) and (C) and repeals R.S. 47:1483(D).] 

Act 701 (SB 389) provides that driving privileges may be suspended and renewal of a 
driver's license may be denied if: 

1. LDR has a final and non-appealable assessment or judgment against an individual, 
2. The amount of the final assessment or judgment is in excess of $1,000 of individual 
income tax, exclusive of penalty, interest, costs, and other charges, 
3. The individual has not paid the assessment or judgment, and 
4. The individual has not entered into an installment agreement with LDR within 90 days 
of the date the assessment or judgment became final and non-appealable. 

LDR is required to promptly notify the office of motor vehicles (OMV) upon payment or 
establishment of an installment agreement.  Thereupon, the individual's driving privileges 
must be reinstated without additional action required of the individual. OMV is prohibited 
from imposing a fee when reinstating an individual's driving privileges. LDR is authorized to 
enter into an interagency agreement with OMV to reimburse OMV for the actual expenses 
associated with license suspensions and reinstatements.  
The act authorizes LDR to create rules to provide for the suspension of driver's license 
privileges at higher thresholds based on an individual's historical compliance with Louisiana 
tax laws and the facts and circumstances relating to the unpaid tax liability.  LDR is also 
authorized to accept surety or other collateral in lieu of suspension of a drivers’ license. The 
act also provides that an individual shall not be arrested or imprisoned for operating a 
vehicle with a suspended license if the suspension is due solely to an LDR final assessment 
or judgement. Effective January 1, 2023. 
[Amends R.S. 32:414(R)(1) and 415(C)(1) and R.S. 47:296.2(A), (B), and (D)] 

HUMAN RESOURCES 
Act 103 (HB 143) provides for a comprehensive state program to ensure compliance with 
the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (“ADA”), as amended, 42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq., to 
establish  mandatory agency policies, training, plans, and reporting measures related to 
compliance with the ADA.   The legislation applies to the executive branch of state 
government and is effectuated through individual state agencies.  The requirements of the 
Act focus on training of supervisors and ADA agency coordinators, measures to document 
the application process of Americans with disabilities, identification of reasons for hiring or 
rejecting applicants, documentation of concerns by those receiving services subject to the 
ADA,  and preparation of an annual report on the applications for accommodation submitted 
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by employees or prospective employees, the compliance efforts of each agency, and charges 
of discrimination filed with the EEOC. Compliance records are deemed public records.  The 
agency head must submit the report by February 1st of each year, commencing February 1, 
2024 for the 2023 calendar year. Effective May 25, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 44:4.1(B)(31) and R.S. 46:2592; Enacts R.S. 46:2594–2597] 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME  
Act 66 (SB 85) creates a checkoff on individual income tax returns to designate a donation 
of all or part of the tax refund amount to the Maddie's Footprints organization. Effective 
August 1, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 47:120.181.] 
 
Act 122 (SB 371) creates checkoffs on individual income tax returns to designate a donation 
of all or part of the tax refund amount to the University of New Orleans Foundation and 
Southeastern Louisiana University Foundation. Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 47:120.371 and 120.375.] 

PARTNERSHIP INCOME 
Act 595 (SB 28) makes technical corrections to properly reference the amounts utilized in 
calculation of the distributive shares reported to tiered partners for purposes of reporting 
federal adjustments through the adopted state partnership audit regime. Effective August 1, 
2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:201.2(C)(3)(b)(iv) and (v)] 

TAX CREDITS AND REBATES 
Act 249 (SB 12) extends the sunset provision regarding the approval of contracts for 
participation in the Competitive Projects Payroll Initiative Program from July 1, 2022 to July 
1, 2026. Effective June 3, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 51:3121(C)(3)(a)] 

Act 254 (SB 41) extends for the Louisiana Quality Jobs Program the sunset provisions 
regarding the acceptance of advance notifications  and the continuance of incentives for 
previously approved applications from July 1, 2022 to July 1, 2026 and before July 1, 2022 to 
on or before June 30, 2026, respectively. Effective June 3, 2022.  
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 51:2461] 

SALES TAX 
Act 88 (SB 293)  Creates a state sales tax rebate available to commercial farmers for the 
repair or replacement of agricultural fencing materials. The damage to the fencing must have 
been caused by Hurricanes Laura, Delta, Zeta or Ida and occurred in a federally declared 
disaster area. The amount of the rebate is equal to the state sales and use tax amount paid.  
 
Commercial farmers must apply for the rebate with LDR and must submit documentation 
proving the fencing was damaged by one of the storms named in the Act. The rebate is not 
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available for fence repair or replacement that has been paid for by insurance proceeds or 
state or federal funds unless those funds are taxable income or a repayable loan.  
 
The purchaser must have been a commercial farmer on or before January 1, 2022. The rebate 
may only be claimed once per calendar year. No rebates will be issued for purchases made 
after December 31, 2022 or for applications submitted after December 31, 2023.  
Effective May 24, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 47:305.77] 
 
Act 354 (HB 797) changes the boundaries of the BioDistrict New Orleans (the District) by 
removing certain residences. The Legislation also: 

1. Prohibits the District or any subdistrict from acquiring property by expropriation or 
from exercising any power of eminent domain.  

2. Requires the approval of the governing authority of the city of New Orleans by 
ordinance with respect to boundary changes and the creation of subdistricts.  

3. Provides that subdistricts are subject to the same limitations as districts.  
4. Prohibits the board from designating as a separate subdistrict any area wholly within 

the boundaries of the District without prior approval of the Legislature and the 
governing authority of the city of New Orleans, by ordinance. 

5. Requires the District or any subdistrict to enter into a payment in lieu of taxes 
agreement with the city of New Orleans prior to the acquisition of any property 
owned by the District that was not exempt from ad valorem taxes immediately 
preceding the District's acquisition of such property. 

6. Restricts the District's and any subdistrict's authority to perform projects inside of 
the boundaries of the District by providing that projects must comply with the city of 
New Orleans master plan and all ordinances and rules and regulations governing 
zoning, building land use, historic preservation, historic districts, and neighborhood 
participation plans.  

7. Prohibits the District or any subdistrict from adopting a district identity or any 
district standards without the prior approval of the governing authority of the city of 
New Orleans, by ordinance. 

Effective June 10, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 33:9039.62, 9039.68(A)(3) and (B)(1), (2)(b), and (3), 
9039.69(A)(3) and (5), and 9039.72(A)(14); Enacts R.S. 33:9039.63.1, 9039.68(B)(2)(c), 
9039.69(C), and 9039.72(D)] 

Act 428 (SB 443) clarifies the process for issuance of Direct Pay numbers (DP Numbers) as 
follows: 

1. Provides that local collectors must respond to a DP number application within 60 
days of receipt of the application.  If the local collector does not respond within 60 
days, LDR will issue both a state and local DP Number.  

2. Requires that DP applications be submitted to local collectors in a way that provides 
actual notice of the application, including, but not limited to, submission by certified 
mail that is signed for and received by the local collector.  
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3. Provides that LDR or the local collector may audit the taxpayer to determine that the 
taxpayer meets all the requirements of R.S. 47:303.1(B)(1) and (2). 

4. Provides, that if a taxpayer meets the qualifications for issuance of a DP number but 
approval is denied in writing by the local collector within the 60 day timeframe, then 
LDR will issue a DP Number for state sales and use tax only.  

5. Requires local collectors to notify LDR when a taxpayer no longer qualifies for a DP 
Number.  Also requires LDR to investigate and further provides local collectors with 
appeal rights to the Board of Tax Appeals if LDR does not revoke a DP Number when 
the taxpayer no longer qualifies.  

Effective January 1, 2023. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:303.1(C) and (G); Repeals R.S. 47:303.1(D)] 

Act 505 (SB 277) amends the provisions of La. R.S. 48:77 and states that a portion of the 
taxes collected from the taxable sale, use, or lease of motor vehicles, after satisfying the 
requirements of the Bond Security and Redemption Fund, shall be deposited into the 
Construction Subfund (Subfund) of the Transportation Trust Fund and the Megaprojects 
Leverage Fund.  The Act also amends the current requirement of R.S. 48:77 and states that 
in any fiscal year beginning with Fiscal Year 24-25, if the Revenue Estimating Conference 
revises the Official Forecast resulting in a decrease of $100 million or more from the Official 
Forecast at the beginning of the current fiscal year, the amount of avails deposited into the 
Subfund may not exceed $150 million for that fiscal year.  
The Act creates the Megaprojects Leverage Fund in the state treasury and directs the state 
treasurer to deposit into the Megaprojects Leverage Fund 75% of the portion of the avails of 
the tax on the sale, use, or lease of motor vehicles that was dedicated to the Subfund pursuant 
to R.S. 48:77, not to exceed $160 million in any fiscal year and creates four special accounts 
within the Megaprojects Leverage Fund, into each of which shall be deposited 25% of the 
amount deposited into the Megaprojects Leverage Fund each year, as well as any other 
monies appropriated to each special account each year. The four special accounts are: 

1. The I-10 Calcasieu River Bridge and I-10 Improvements Account,  
2. The I-49 South Leverage Fund Account,  
3. The Mississippi River at Baton Rouge and Connections Account, and  
4. The I-49 North Leverage Fund Account.  

Effective June 16, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 48:77(A), introductory paragraph of 77(C), and (C)(1); Enacts R.S. 
39:1367(E)(2)(b)(ix) and R.S. 48:77.1 and 77.2 and repeals R.S 48:77(B) and (E).] 
 
Act 685 (SB 235) expands the duties of the Louisiana Sales and Use Tax Commission for 
Remote Sellers (the Commission) to: 

1. Require the development of a single electronic return for all state and local sales and 
use tax in consultation with the Uniform Local Sales Tax Board and LDR, and 

2. Authorize the Commission to enter into contracts with collectors of state and local 
sales and use tax to collect those taxes from qualifying nonremote sellers. 

3. Provide the minimum tax administration, collection and payment requirements 
required by federal law with respect to the collection and remittance of sales and use 
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tax imposed on nonremote sales that the Commission is authorized to collect by 
contract.  

4. Establish a fiscal agent for the purposed of nonremote sales and use tax remittances.  
A qualifying non-remote seller is a non-remote seller that has a physical location in this state 
and is registered to file and remit local sales and use taxes in two or more parishes. 
The Commission may not begin development of the single electronic return described in (1) 
above until either a local collector or LDR executes a contract with the Commission as 
described in (2) above.   
The Act requires LDR, the Louisiana Uniform Local Sales Tax Board and the Commission to 
jointly submit an informational report on the benefits, challenges, savings, and costs 
associated with the development, implementation, and maintenance of a combined state and 
local sales and use tax return for remote and non-remote sales and the designation of a 
centralized processor of state and local sales tax returns and remittances on or before 
January 31, 2023.  
The Act requires that the report include information on best practices from other states in 
which a single entity receives and remits revenues directly to all taxing authorities in the 
state and information on the feasibility of daily remittance of local sales and use taxes. 
Requires submission of the report to the Senate Committee on Revenue and Fiscal Affairs 
and the House Committee on Ways and Means.  Effective January 1, 2023. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:340(E)(3) and (5), (G)(1) - (5), (6) (intro para), (8), and (11), 
(H)(3), (12), and (13), and (I); enacts  R.S. 47:339.1; repeals R.S. 47:340(H)(15)] 

Motor Fuel 
Act 111 (HB 187) authorizes the Louisiana Agricultural Finance Authority to purchase fuel 
at fair market prices and to sell, deliver, or transfer the fuel to any person, firm, corporation, 
municipality, or federal or state agency for emergency purposes related to a natural disaster, 
if fuel is not reasonably available for acquisition by person, firm, corporation, municipality, 
or federal or state agency from private sector sources. Effective May 25, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 3:266(25)] 
 
Act 73 (HB 740) provides that after a disaster or emergency has been declared in 
accordance with the Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Assistance and Disaster 
Act gasoline, diesel fuel, liquefied petroleum gas, motor fuel, special fuel, gasohol, liquefied 
natural gas, and other types of fuel can be diverted, sold, transported, delivered, or accepted 
from other states into Louisiana and the fuel will not be restricted or prohibited if it is needed 
for disaster recovery. Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 51:1611] 
 
Act 512 (HB 898) provides that a parish or municipality cannot prohibit or restrict the 
ability of an individual or business to use the services of a liquefied petroleum gas provider 
to service the property of the individual or business. The parish or municipality is prohibited 
from denying a permit application based on the liquefied petroleum gas dealer's proposal to 
provide service to the project. The parish or municipality is authorized to establish rules, 
ordinances, or requirements that do not supersede or conflict with existing federal or state 
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laws, rules, or regulations regarding the use or storage of liquefied petroleum gas. Effective 
August 1, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 33:1377] 
 
SEVERANCE TAX 
Act 165 (HB 331) clarifies the timing of the measurement of logs, trees and pulpwood for 
purposes of calculating severance.  The bill specifies that the average stumpage market value 
shall be applied to the weight or scale of timber, trees and pulpwood at the first time of 
scaling prior to first processing after severance. Effective May 26, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 47:633(1) and (2).] 

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE TAX 
Act 467 (HB 370) provides for the self-distribution and transfer of beer and malt beverages. 
The Act defines “brewing facility”,” self-distribution” and “secondary location.” A brewer 
who operates a brewing facility located entirely in Louisiana that produces less than 5000 
barrels of beer or other malt beverages annually at the brewing facility and holds both an in-
state manufacturer's permit and a brewer's self-distribution permit may self-distribute to a 
secondary location wholly owned by the brewer holding the self-distribution permit or to a 
retailer holding a Class A permit, a Class B permit, a Class C permit, or a Type A, B, or C 
temporary alcoholic beverage permit. 
A brewer who operates a brewing facility located entirely in Louisiana may obtain a permit 
to self-distribute beer or other malt beverages brewed at its brewing facility under the 
following conditions: 

(1)(a) The quantity of beer brewed at the brewing facility that is self- distributed to a 
secondary location shall be included in the quantity limitations for selling products for on- 
or off-the-premises consumption in R.S. 26:241(15) for the producing brewing facility and 
shall not exceed an amount greater than fifty percent of the secondary location facility's 
production of beer for the previous month. 

(b) If a brewer self-distributes to a secondary location, the brewing facility at which 
the beer is produced shall maintain no less than a ten-barrel brewing system and the 
secondary location shall maintain no less than a five-barrel brewing system. 

(2) If a brewer self-distributes to retailers the following shall apply: 
(a) No more than 3000 barrels of beer brewed at the brewing facility may be self-

distributed to all retailers annually. 
(b) The product must be offered at a standard price to all retailers. 
(3) The brewer or brewing facility cannot have an existing distribution agreement 

with a permitted wholesale dealer. 
(4) The brewer or brewing facility must own or lease warehouse space that is 

maintained separately from the brewing facility. 
(5) The brewer or brewing facility must own or lease delivery equipment dedicated 

for the primary use of distribution and delivery of only those products brewed at the brewing 
facility. 

(6) The brewer must remit all state sales and excise taxes on all beer or other malt 
beverages produced at its brewing facility that is self-distributed to a secondary location. 
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The secondary location shall remit all parish or municipal sales and excise taxes on any 
amount received through self-distribution by the brewer to the proper tax collecting 
authority for all products sold to the public. 

(7) The brewer or brewing facility must provide a monthly report of all sales from the 
brewing facility and all sales from self-distribution to the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco 
Control. 
A brewing facility may enter into a distribution agreement with a permitted wholesale dealer 
or make application for a self-distribution permit. A brewing facility cannot distribute 
through the permitted wholesale dealer and self-distribution. 
A brewer who operates a brewing facility located entirely in Louisiana and who holds an 
instate manufacturer's permit may use a wholesaler to transfer beer or other malt beverages 
brewed at the brewing facility to another brewing facility located in Louisiana and wholly 
owned by the brewer to sell or serve to the public for consumption on or off the licensed 
premises under the following circumstances: 

(1) A transferring brewing facility shall maintain no less than a 10 barrel brewing 
system. A receiving brewing facility owned wholly by the transferring brewing facility shall 
maintain no less than a 5 barrel brewing system. 

(2) The quantity of beer transferred must be included in the quantity limitation for 
selling products by a brewer to the public for on or off the licensed premises consumption 
for the brewing facility receiving the transferred beer. 

(3) The quantity of beer transferred shall not exceed an amount greater than 50% of 
the receiving brewing facility's production of beer for the previous month. 

(4) The receiving brewing facility shall remit all state and parish or municipal sales 
and excise taxes to the proper tax collecting authority for all products received and sold to 
the public. 
The permit fee for brewers engaged in self-distribution is $1,250. Exempts self-distributing 
brewers from the provisions of R.S. 226:359(A) requiring distribution of the product through 
a licensed wholesaler. Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 26:359(A) and enacts R.S. 26:241(27) through (29), 242, 243, and 271(A)(7)] 

Act 550 (SB 450) provides that product may be transferred from a permitted microbrewery 
to another permitted microbrewery, which is wholly owned by the transferring 
microbrewery, through a licensed wholesaler. The amount of product that may be 
transferred is limited to up to fifty percent of the total manufactured beverages sold at the 
receiving microbrewery and the receiving microbrewery must maintain at minimum a ten-
barrel brewing system. The microbrewery transferring the manufactured beverages is 
responsible for paying all applicable federal, state, and local excise taxes on the transferred 
manufactured beverages. Only one permitted microbrewery within the same municipality is 
allowed to receive the transferred manufactured beverages. A licensed wholesaler 
transferring the manufactured beverages is exempt from the provisions of R.S. 26:359(A). 
Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 26:271.1(A)] 

Act 482 (HB 551) provides that parishes and municipalities cannot require a local permit 
for any third-party delivery company which has been issued a state delivery service permit. 
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Parish and municipalities cannot require an additional local permit for the delivery of 
alcoholic beverages by any licensed retail dealer that has been issued a state delivery service 
permit. No alcoholic beverages can be delivered more than twenty miles from the place of 
purchase.  
Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 26:274(A)(2) and 308(C)(8)] 

Act 514 (HB 829) provides that parishes and municipalities cannot issue and require local 
permits similar to those issued by ATC for delivery of alcoholic beverages by grocery stores, 
restaurants, and third parties. Parishes and municipalities cannot require a local permit for 
any third-party delivery company which has been issued a state delivery service permit. 
Parish and municipalities cannot require an additional local permit for the delivery of 
alcoholic beverages by any licensed retail dealer that has been issued a state delivery service 
permit. A person who has obtained a server permit solely for the purpose of delivering 
alcoholic beverages is exempt from the requirement to obtain a local permit required by a 
jurisdiction to sell or handle alcoholic beverages. The exemption only applies to the handling 
of alcoholic beverages by the person while engaged in conduct in the course and scope of his 
employment, whether as a W-2 or 1099 employee, for delivery for the third-party. The 
person is required to obtain any permit required by any jurisdiction for the selling or 
handling of alcoholic beverages for any employment duties outside of that required by the 
person's employment with a third-party delivery company. The Act authorizes written 
agreements for the sale of alcoholic beverages for curbside pickup for holders of Class A-
General, Class "R" restaurant, and Class B permits and provides no alcoholic beverages can 
be delivered more than twenty miles from the place of purchase. Retail dealers are required 
to notify third parties in writing or via electronic means of any changes in sale prices of any 
alcoholic beverages by the retail dealer. If any permittee violates the provisions of law, the 
ATC Commissioner may revoke the permit and subject the permittee to the penalties 
provided in R.S. 26:292. Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 26:274(A)(2), (E) and 308(B), (C)(8), and 12(b), and (J)] 

Act 570 (HB 523) provides that a manufacturer or brewer who operates a brewing facility 
entirely located in this state may host 12 contracted private events a year at its brewing 
facility. A copy of the lease must be provided to the ATC Commissioner at least 10 days prior 
to the event. The manufacturer or brewer may charge a reasonable rental fee to the third 
party for the contracted private event.  Guests may be served beer manufactured at that 
licensed facility. However, the brewer cannot charge the third party more than its standard 
prices for the products. Food and alcoholic beverages not produced at the licensed facility 
may be served to guests during the contracted private event by a caterer holding a permit 
issued by ATC. Effective June 17, 2022. 
[Enacts R.S. 26:309] 
 
MISCELLANEOUS  
Act 72 (HB 632) adds a definition of “small refinery” in the Louisiana Environmental Quality 
Act as well as in the Louisiana sales tax and motor fuel tax provisions.  Effective August 1, 
2022. 
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[Enacts R.S. 30:2004(19), R.S. 47:301(31) and 818.2(74).] 

Act 578 (HB 1031) adds a new part to Title 32 entitled PART II-A. ELECTRIC VEHICLES AND 
HYBRID VEHICLES, that levies a road usage fee not to exceed $110 per year on each electric 
vehicle and not to exceed $60 per year on each hybrid vehicle operated on the highways of 
the state of Louisiana, with the exception the fee does not apply to school buses primarily 
used to transport students. The bill further provides that the fee is to be paid by the owner 
of the vehicle on a calendar year basis due on or before May 15th for the year following the 
year in which the vehicle is operated. The Department of Revenue, in consultation with the 
Department of Transportation and Development, is authorized to develop a fee schedule, to 
prescribe and provide forms and methods for reporting and remitting the fee, and to provide 
collection and administrative procedures necessary to administer the fee. The proceeds of 
the fee are dedicated: 70% to the Construction Subfund of the Transportation Trust Fund for 
use by DOTD for road and bridge preservation projects included in the Highway Priority 
Program, and 30% to the Parish Transportation Fund and distributed to local governments 
to be used by locals for any purpose permitted for use of funds from the Parish 
Transportation Fund. Effective January 1, 2023. 
[Enacts R.S. 32:461] 

Act 694 (SB 332) provides that applicants for state and local high and low alcohol retail 
permits be a citizen of the United States and Louisiana as well as a resident of Louisiana 
continuously for a period of not less than two years next preceding the date of the filing of 
the application. However, the requirements as to Louisiana citizenship do not apply to 
wholesalers or retailers who held high alcohol content permits on or prior to January 1, 1946 
or for beverages of low alcohol content permits since July 26, 1944. Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 26:80(A)(2) and 280(A)(2)] 

CHARITABLE GAMING  
Act 609 (HB 173) provides that upon request and after receipt of fingerprint cards or other 
identifying information from the Office of State Police, the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information can make available information contained in its criminal 
history record and identification files, pertaining to an applicant or prospective employee to 
the State Police Gaming Division, Louisiana Gaming Control Board, the Louisiana Lottery 
Corporation, the Office of Charitable Gaming, and the Louisiana State Racing Commission. 
The Act removes the fingerprinting requirement for those applying for a gaming, employee 
license or permit.   Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends and reenacts R.S. 15:587(C)] 

Act 387 (HB 620) authorizes private and public elementary and secondary schools to hold 
and operate games of chance. The elementary or secondary school will be exempt from the 
licensing and reporting procedures enumerated in R.S. 4:708 through 716 in any 
municipality or parish whose governing authority has decided to permit raffles, bingo, and 
keno within its limits. The elementary school or secondary school will be exempt from 
licensing or reporting procedures only if the raffles are conducted for fund-raising purposes. 
The Act provides definitions for “Private nonprofit elementary or secondary school” and 
“Public elementary or secondary school”. Effective August 1, 2022. 
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[Amends and reenacts R.S. 4:707(D), (E), and (F)(2)] 
 
Act 523 (HB 996) defines Coastal Conservation Association and exempts it from obtaining 
a license in order to conduct raffles. An active member of the organization sponsoring the 
game of chance must be present only if the game of chance is a call bingo session. The cost of 
playing electronic or video bingo game cannot be less than twenty-five cents and no more 
than four dollars. A machine must have a mechanism to accept any denomination of cash in 
the form of bills or tickets verifiable as valid indicating the ticket value. The jackpot for a 
progressive mega bingo game cannot exceed thirty thousand dollars. Sales of progressive 
mega jackpot bingo on an Electronic Bingo Card Dabber Device for any organization shall not 
exceed thirty games per hour. A licensee may operate no more than five premises for the 
purpose of charitable gaming activities, however, each licensee may only have one session 
at each premise per twelve hour period. A bingo or keno session is limited to eight 
consecutive hours. Sessions are limited to not more than one session per calendar day per 
premises. The Act repeals R.S. 4:739(E)(1) and (2). Effective August 1, 2022. 
[Amends R.S. 4:714(C), 724(B)(1) and (9), 732(B)(2) and (I), and 740(A); enacts R.S. 
4:707(E)(7) and (H)(4) and 724(B)(10); repeals R.S. 4:739(E)(1) and (2)] 
 
RESOLUTIONS 
HR 178 urges and requests the House Ways and Means Committee to study the state's tax 
structure, including state tax exemptions and credits, and to make recommendations 
concerning eliminating the state tax levied on individual and corporate income and 
corporation franchise taxes and reforming state tax exemptions and credits to the legislature 
prior to the convening of the 2023 Regular Session of the Legislature of Louisiana. Requests 
the Department of Revenue to work in conjunction with and provide input and support to 
the study. Effective June 2, 2022. 
 
SR 168 urges and requests the Department of Economic Development (LED), in consultation 
with the Department of Revenue (LDR), to study Louisiana’s tax preference items, including 
deductions, credits, exemptions, exclusions, suspensions, discounts, refunds, special rates, 
special methods of reporting, preferential calculation methods, and all other government 
programs and grants for the purposes of determining which items or programs deliver the 
greatest benefit to Louisiana small-owned businesses. The resolution further requires LED, 
in consultation with LDR, to make and report its findings to the Senate Committee of Revenue 
& Fiscal Affairs no later than 60 prior to the start of the 2023 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. Effective June 8, 2022. 
 


