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ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION

Introduction

The Vision of the Louisiana Department of Revenue
(LDR) is to be a results-based, innovative and focused
organization that is capable of rapidly responding to
the needs of its citizens/stakeholders. LDR recognizes
its responsibility to ensure compliance with the
state’s tax laws, provide taxpayers with a reasonable
opportunity to disagree with a tax assessment, and
satisfactorily resolve a dispute.

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:1522 authorizes LDR to
use Alternative Dispute Resolution to resolve issues
regarding the collection of taxes, penalties, or interest
in disputes which arise between the taxpayer and the
Department. Alternative Dispute Resolution provides
a voluntary, confidential, and cooperative means

of resolving tax disputes, which can reduce the

costs and risks of litigation for the taxpayer and the
Department. Alternative Dispute Resolution can also
expedite the tax collection and refund processes.



Initiating Arbitration

The alternative dispute resolution process may
be initiated by the Secretary of the Department of Revenue
or by the taxpayer. The process, which is also known as
mediation, is used by LDR to assist in the collection of any
taxes, penalties, or interest due. The total value of the case
disputed must be less than $5 million in taxes, penalties and
interest as of the date of selection in order to participate in
the arbitration process. If the Secretary selects a case for
arbitration, written notice will be sent to the taxpayer within
30 days. If the taxpayer desires to participate in arbitration,
he/she must give written notice to the Department. The
notice must be signed by the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s
representative and contain the following: taxpayer’s name,
tax identification number, address, telephone number, fax
number, and e-mail address. The notice should also include
the name of the taxpayer’s representative and contact
information, a brief description of the nature of the dispute,
the issues and the relief requested, reasons supporting the
relief, and any other relevant information supporting the
claim. The taxpayer may represent themselves or may select
an attorney, a certified public account or enrolled agent to
represent their interests in the arbitration process.

Selecting the Arbitrator

The Department and taxpayer will select an
arbitration company from a registry maintained by the
Department. Thereafter, the arbitration company will
select an arbitrator to preside over the matter.

Arbitration Hearing

Hearings may be held at the LaSalle Building in Baton
Rouge or at any other place designated by the arbitrator,
with consideration of convenience to the parties and
their witnesses.

The arbitrator will select a hearing date. Each party must
notify the arbitrator in writing at least 10 business days
before the initial arbitration session of the following:

1. The party’s intention to present witnesses;
2. Whether the party will be represented by counsel;
3. Who will attend the hearing.

The Department and taxpayer must submit a brief
statement of facts, law, and issues to be resolved.
The statement may not exceed 15 legal-size pages.
The following sequence will be followed at the hearing:

1. Introduction. The arbitrator may make an introduction.

2. Opening statements. The taxpayer or his
representative will make an opening statement, followed
by the Department’s representative.

3. Taxpayer’s case. The taxpayer may introduce
evidence, examine witnesses, and submit exhibits. The
Department’s attorney or representative may cross-
examine the witnesses.

4. Department’s case. The Department may introduce
evidence, examine witnesses, and submit exhibits.
The taxpayer or taxpayer’s representative may cross-
examine the witnesses.

5. Evidence procedure. Each party will have the
opportunity to present relevant and credible evidence
during the hearing. All statements will be made
under oath administered by the arbitrator. The Rules
of Evidence followed in the state district courts
of Louisiana will apply to all evidence presented.
Objections will be permitted.

6. Rebuttal. The taxpayer may present evidence and
argument in rebuttal followed by arguments of the
Department.

7. Summation. Each party may present a closing statement.

8. Concluding remarks. The arbitrator may make closing
remarks concerning the case.

9. Judgment. The arbitrator shall render a decision within 30
business days after the date of the close of the hearing.

All arbitration sessions are private and confidential.

No one participating in the session may disclose the
existence, content, or results of the session without the
written consent of all parties.

Fees & Expenses

Each party will bear the fees and expenses for its own
counsel, expert witnesses, travel, and preparation and
presentation of its case. The fees and expenses of the
arbitrator will be borne equally by the taxpayer and the
Department, in accordance with the arbitration company’s
fee schedule, unless the parties agree otherwise. If an
arbitration session has been scheduled and a party fails

to appear at the session, the party failing to appear will be
responsible for payment of the reasonable costs and fees of
the arbitrator and the reasonable travel expenses incurred
by the other party, unless the party has provided reasonable
notice in writing to the arbitrator and all other parties that
they will not appear. It will be presumed, subject to a
contrary showing under the circumstances, that giving five
business days advanced written notice is reasonable notice.
If reasonable notice is not provided, the arbitrator shall
determine if there was good cause for the failure to appear.



It is the duty of the taxpayer to protect his right

to protest or appeal any assessment or proposed
assessment or to pursue any right to refund

relating to any issue that may also be subject to the
alternative dispute resolution process. Any agreement
between a taxpayer or taxpayer representative

and a representative of the Department to alter the
conditions or time limits must be authorized by the
Secretary of the Department of Revenue and executed
in writing by both parties to be effective.

When required by either party, a written waiver or
extension of any and all applicable prescriptive periods
must be executed to each party’s satisfaction. If a waiver
is required by any party the arbitration process is halted
until the waiver has been executed. Once a waiver is
requested by either party, LDR and the taxpayer will
have 30 business days to execute the waiver.

If no waiver is executed during this time period,

then the alternative dispute resolution process is
terminated. LDR and the taxpayer do have the right
to initiate a new mediation process. However, if the
second attempt to initiate the alternative dispute
resolution fails, no subsequent attempts will be
allowed unless the arbitrator agrees it is in the parties
best interest to continue to arrive at an agreement.
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