L%

CHANGING

Maryland
for the Better

BIDLLR
Maryland Division of Labor and Industry

Worker Classification ’
Protection 9

Employee or Independent Contractor?

Understanding Maryland’s
Workplace Fraud Act

Presented by:
Jim Tudor

i‘ﬁMaryland

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



L5

CHANGING
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* The Workplace Fraud Act of 2009 (amended 2012) applies to
the construction and landscaping industries.

» Under the WFA, workers in construction and landscaping are
presumed to be employees unless the “employer” can establish
that the workers are independent contractors or “exempt
persons.”
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e Four ways to overcome the presumption of employment:
1. Exempt Person
2. Independent Contractor
3. Contractual Relationship between two businesses
4. Documented Independent Contractor
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» Sole proprietor operating an independent business;

« Employs no individuals other than a parent, child, or spouse;
e Free from direction and control;

e Furnishes tools & equipment;

* Performs services for others at his/her discretion.
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* Two businesses entities may enter into a contractual
relationship without establishing an employer/employee
relationship
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A. Performs work free from direction and control;

B. Who is engaged in a trade or business of the same nature as
the work performed, and,;

C. Whose work Is outside the usual course of business of the
person for whom the work is performed; OR, whose work is
performed outside any place of business of the person for
whom it is performed.
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* Written Contract

o Affidavit

 Certificate of Status

 All required business and/or occupational licenses

* Notice to Independent Contractors and Exempt Persons must
be provided in both English and Spanish
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 |nvestigations may be conducted:
— On the Commissioner’s own initiative;
— On recelipt of a written complaint;

— On referral from another unit of State government.

2XIMa ryland

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



$+
cﬁgﬁe Required Records

Maryland
for the Better

* An employer must keep the following records:

— Name, address, occupation and classification;

— The rate of pay of each employee or method of payment;
— The amount that paid each pay period;

— The hours worked each day and each workweek;

— Evidence that each individual is an exempt person or
Independent contractor; and

— Evidence that each independent contractor or exempt
person, was provided written notice of his or her status.
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 [If Misclassification is found the Commissioner may issue a citation
to the employer.

— 15 days from the date of the citation to file a request for a
hearing

— If no hearing is requested, the citation becomes a final order

— If a hearing is requested, the decision of the judge constitutes a
final order

— 45 days from the date of the final order to come into compliance
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» First Offense (Non-knowing violation) —

e $1,000 per misclassified worker

« Second Offense (Knowing violation) —

e $5,000 per misclassified worker

o Third Offense (Second Knowing violation) —
e $10,000 per misclassified worker

* Fourth and Subsequent Offenses (Third Knowing violation) -
$20,000 per misclassified worker

l‘ﬂMaryland

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



&h
chancing  Compliance

Maryland
for the Better

« Employer may be required to pay restitution to misclassified
workers.

* Employer must come into compliance with relevant labor laws
within 45 days.

* No civil penalty assessed for timely compliance in the case of
a non-knowing violation.
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* An employer may not take discriminatory action against a
worker who files a complaint.

* An employee has 180 days to file a complaint with the
Commissioner In the event of discrimination.

 The Commissioner may file a complaint against the employer
In circuit court.
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e Groundless or malicious complaints or actions brought in bad
faith are prohibited.

« The Commissioner shall investigate any allegations of bad
faith, groundless complaints or malicious intent.

e Administrative penalty of up to $1,000.
o Attorneys’ fees.
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