

2024 Legislative and Administrative Changes

Tax Policy and Planning Division

2024 Practitioner Tax Update **Seminar Facilitated by LSBDC** November 19, 2024

Informal Advice

This communication constitutes "informal advice" from the Tax Policy and Planning Division of the Louisiana Department of Revenue as contemplated by LAC 61:III.101 and is not binding on the Department of Revenue or the person seeking the advice.

All material within this presentation is current as October 1, 2024.

References to Acts of the Legislature are to the 2024 Regular Session, unless noted otherwise.

Income and Franchise Taxes

Electric and Hybrid Vehicle Road Usage Fee (Act 155, HB 645)

- Transfers administration of the road usage fee imposed on electric and hybrid vehicles to the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) for vehicles subject to the vehicle registration license tax, as provided in R.S. 47:451, on or after January 1, 2026.
- The fee is collected at the same time, for the same time periods and in the same manner as the vehicle registration license tax and can be collected by OMV directly or by its authorized agent, as provided by R.S. 47:532.1.
- Applicable to each hybrid and electric vehicle subject to the registration license tax on or after January 1, 2026.
- Authorizes the commissioner of OMV to promulgate rules relative to collection and administration of the fee for vehicles first registered in 2025.
- The Department will continue to administer the fee as normal for 2024 and 2025.

Withholding on Gaming (Act 133, HB 480)

- Requires individual income taxes be withheld at the highest rate provided in La. R.S. 47:32(A) (4.25%) by:
 - ➤ any person that pays gaming, sports wagering, or fantasy sports contest winnings won in the state if federal income taxes are required to be withheld on the winnings; and
 - > casinos that pay slot machine winnings when required to issue an IRS Form W2-G to the recipient.
- Applicable to both residents and non-residents.
- Requires electronic submission of withholding and withholding report, which must be received by January 31 of succeeding calendar year.

Partnership Guidance

Partnership Filing Requirements

- Prior to tax year 2021, a partnership comprised of all resident partners who were natural persons was not required to file Form IT-565, *Partnership Return of Income*.
- Effective for tax year 2021, **ALL** partnerships doing business in Louisiana or deriving any income from sources therein, must file Form IT-565, *Partnership Return of Income* (La. R.S. 47:201(A)).
 - Partnerships with nonresident partners must file Schedule R-6922, Composite Partnership Return, unless:
 - All nonresident partners are corporations, partnerships, or tax exempt trusts;
 - All nonresident individuals, estate and trust partners have a valid agreement on file with LDR; or
 - The partnership made the pass-through entity tax election pursuant to R.S. 47:287.782.2
 - Highest tax rate of 4.25% is assessed on distributive shares for nonresident partners included on Schedule R-6922.

Partnership Filing Requirements

- LAC 61:I.1402 was adopted effective May 20, 2024 and provides exceptions relative to the requirement for all partnerships to file a partnership return, as follows:
- The partnership's gross receipts were less than \$250,000 and the partnership's total assets at the end of the tax year were less than \$1 million.
- The partnership is not required to file IRS Form 1065.
- The partnership elects to be taxed as a corporation and files CIFT-620.
- Partnerships must file, regardless if:
 - o Partnership is required to attach Schedule 6922, LA Composite Partnership to the IT-565; or
 - Partnership has partners or related parties with an approved passthrough entity election on file
- See LAC 61:I.1402, *Partnership Filing Requirements* for more information.

Automatic Extensions for Individual Partnership, & Fiduciary

- Act 410 of the 2022 Regular Session
 - ➤ Effective for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2022, an automatic extension of 6 months is granted. This is not an extension to pay. Failure to file by extended due date will result in assessment of penalties from original due date (and interest if fail to pay). See Act 410 of 2022 Regular Session of LA Legislature.
- Individual, Partnership & Fiduciary Return Due Date
 - May 15 for calendar year filers
 - ➤ Automatic extensions to November 15 granted
 - 6 months from 15th day of 5th month following close of year for fiscal year filers

Automatic Extensions for Corporations

Corporation Income Tax

- You will be granted an extension of six months to November 15th **IF** you timely requested an extension for federal income tax purposes.
 - Will need to check a box on CIFT-620 indicating so.
- The extension only applies to Corporation Franchise tax if you are also filing an income tax return.
- No paper or electronic extension form needs to be filed to obtain the automatic extension.
- If you have an extension & file after the extended due date, delinquent filing penalty will be assessed from due date.
- LAC 61:III.2503, *Income Tax Return Filing Extensions* effective June 20, 2024.

Type of Return	Paper Extension or Electronic Filing	Due Date for Return Filing
Individual	Individuals will receive an automatic six months filing extension.	5/15/2025 extended to 11/15/2025
Corporation	Receives an extension of six months if you timely requested an extension for federal income tax purposes. Needs to check the box on the return indicating so. The extension only applies to Corporation Franchise tax if you are also filing an income tax return.	5/15/2025
S Corporation	Receives an extension of six months if you timely requested an extension for federal income tax purposes. Needs to check the box on the return indicating so. The extension only applies to Corporation Franchise tax if you are also filing an income tax return.	5/15/2025
Partnership	Receives an automatic six months filing extension.	5/15/2025 extended to 11/15/2025
Fiduciary	Receives an automatic six months filing extension.	5/15/2025 extended to 11/15/2025

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 23-029 Filing Extensions for Taxpayers Affected by Federal Disasters or Emergency and Acts 2022, No. 410

• Provides guidance on the the effects of disaster extensions on the automatic filing extensions granted for state individual income, fiduciary income, partnership income, and corporation income taxes via Acts 2022, No. 410.

Individual, Fiduciary and Partnership Extensions

➤ Provides that for qualifying taxpayers with an extended due date within a disaster extension period, the automatic extended due date to file is the final date of the disaster extension period or the automatic due date, whichever is later.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 23-029 Filing Extensions for Taxpayers Affected by Federal Disasters or Emergency and Acts 2022, No. 410

Corporation Income Tax

- ➤ For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, taxpayers are granted an automatic extension of time to file the corporation income tax return if the taxpayer timely requested an extension of time to file the federal corporation income tax return ("federal extension") for the same taxable period.
- ➤ In that case, the extension is six months or to the extended due date of the federal return, whichever is later. In almost all cases, the six-month extension will be later than the federal extended due date.

Corporation Franchise Tax

- ➤ If taxpayer is filing a franchise tax return in conjunction with corporation income, previous guidance on corporate extensions applies.
- ➤ If taxpayer is filing a franchise tax return alone, with an original due date within the disaster extension period, the extended due date will be the original due date or the final date of the disaster extension period, whichever is later.

Guidance on Credits and Deductions

Deductions for Elementary and Secondary School Tuition, Educational Expenses for Home-schooled Children, and Educational Expenses for a Quality Public Education

Individual Income Tax Acts 2023, No. 423 Effective for 2024

- Increases the limitation from \$5,000 to \$6,000 per child.
- Department has issued Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-007.
- Provides for individual income tax deductions for eligible expenses paid during the taxable year, for the parent or guardian who claims the student as a dependent for the current taxable year, or who claimed the student as a dependent for the prior year's return.
- For each deduction, the eligible expenses must have been paid for children who attend elementary school through 12th grade.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-007

- The deduction must be reported on Schedule E of Form IT-540, *Louisiana Resident Income Tax Return*.
- The deductions are allowed for part-year residents for school expenses paid in Louisiana during the time the taxpayer was a Louisiana resident and must be reported on the Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (NPR) Worksheet of Form IT-540B, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return.
- The total amount of the deduction may not exceed the taxpayer's total income.
- The Louisiana School Expense Deduction Worksheet must be attached to both the IT-540 and IT-540B, and the taxpayers must retain all receipts as proof of the amounts paid.

Capital Gain from Sale of Louisiana Business

Individual Income Tax R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xvii), (10) Acts 2023, No. 242

- A NOI proposing the adoption of LAC 61:I.1312, *Net Capital Gains Deduction* was published on February 20, 2024.
- A Potpourri Notice was published on August 20, 2024 to incorporate suggested changes received during the public hearing held on March 28, 2024.
- Summary Report was sent for review by legislative oversight committees on October 7, 2024.
- Adoption of Final Rule expected by end of 2024.

Capital Gain from Sale of Louisiana Business

- Provides documentation requirements for claiming the deduction, including:
 - ➤ a completed Louisiana Form R-6180, Net Capital Gains Deduction Worksheet;
 - ➤ documentary evidence of the date the taxpayer acquired an equity interest in the business, such as articles of incorporation or organization, acts of sale or exchange, or donative instruments;
 - ➤ a copy of the taxpayer's federal Schedule K-1, if applicable, from the entity from which the gain was derived; and
 - ➤ a complete copy of the taxpayer's Federal Form 1040 filed with the IRS for the period in which the gain was recognized, including the Schedule D and any corresponding schedules and forms.
- Provides for additional documentation requirements when capital gain for which a deduction is being claimed is greater than \$250,000.

Capital Gain from Sale of Louisiana Business

Eligibility Restrictions

- ➤ Requires sale or exchange of tangible moveable assets to be located in Louisiana at least 50% of the time the assets are in service during the three years immediately preceding their sale or exchange, provided the income from the related business was subject to tax in Louisiana prior to the sale or exchange.
- > "In service" has same meaning as it does for calculating depreciation.
- ➤ Requires net capital gain from an equity interest or from the sale or exchange or substantially all the assets if transaction transfers ownership of the interest or assets to a related party.
- See NOI and Summary Report for LAC 61:I.1312, *Net Capital Gains Deduction* for more information.

Oyster Shell Recycling Credit

Income Taxes
La. R.S. 47:6043
Acts 2023, No. 404
Tax years 2024-2028

- Refundable credit for restaurants that donate oysters shells for a beneficial use.
- Credit equal to \$1.00 per 50 lbs. of oyster shell material or \$2,000, whichever is less.
- Capped at \$100,000 per calendar year
- The Department has issued Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-017
- 61:I.1933, Restaurant Oyster Shell Recycling Tax Credit, effective October 20, 2024.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-017 Oyster Shell Recycling Credit

- The amount of the credit is equal to one dollar per 50 pounds of donated oyster shell material, limited to \$2,000 per restaurant.
- The total amount of credit approved by the Department is limited to \$100,000 per calendar year.
- If the total amount of credits claimed in a particular calendar year exceeds the \$100,000 annual cap, the Department will treat the excess as having been applied for on the first day of the following year.
- To utilize the credits in the subsequent year during which the taxpayer's claim has priority, the taxpayer shall claim the credits on the subsequent tax year's return and file it prior to the end of the calendar year.
- If the taxpayer fails to file a return in the subsequent year, the credits shall lose their priority status.

Corporation Income Tax "Throwout" Rule

La. R.S. 47:287.95 Acts 2023, No. 430

- Applicable to taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2024
- The Act repeals the "throwout" rule which requires unassignable sales to be excluded from both the numerator and the denominator for purposes of determining apportionable income.
- The Act amends R.S. 47:287.95(L) relative to market-based sourcing of apportionable income to eliminate an overlap of items specified as allocable income in R.S. 47:287.93.
 - ➤ eliminates the rental, lease, or license of tangible personal property and immoveable property, and the lease or license of intangible property.
- Notice of Intent forthcoming.

Future Guidance

Credit for Maternal Wellness Centers

Income Taxes
La. R.S. 47:6111-6116
Acts 2023, No. 437
Tax years 2025 – 2030

- Nonrefundable credit, no carry forward of unused amounts
 - Equal to 50% of donation
 - Limited to 50% of tax liability
- Has cap on credits that can be granted of \$5M
 - Limit of 20% of total credits on each wellness center
- Wellness center has to register w/LDH for donation to qualify for credit.
- Notice of Intent forthcoming.

Sales, Severance, Excise and Miscellaneous Tax Updates

Sales Tax

Data Center Rebate (Act 730, HB 827)

- State and local sales and use tax rebate on purchases for the development, operation, and maintenance of approved data facility.
- Data centers are approved by LED.
- Purchases must be made on or after July 1, 2024.
- Approved data center agreements have 20 year terms with option to renew for 10 years.
- LDR will process state sales and use tax rebates.
- LULSTB will process the local rebates.
- Approved data facilities will also have a direct pay number.
- Effective July 1, 2024.
- Creates La. R.S. 47:305.73, amends La. R.S. 47:303.1(B)(5) to require the direct pay number for approved data facilities.

Lithium Recovery Rebates (Act 327, SB 268)

- State sales tax rebate on purchases of equipment, machinery and other items used in lithium recovery activities.
- Applies to purchases made on or after July 1, 2024.
- Purchases may be made by any company involved in a qualified lithium recovery project located in Louisiana.
- Rebate requests made to LDR.
- Program ends December 31, 2025.
- Total amount of rebates granted cannot exceed \$100,000.
- LDR has rulemaking authority.
- Effective May 28, 2024.
- Creates La. R.S. 47:305.81.

Aviation Fuel Electronic Filing and Payment

- Starting with the April 2024 collection period, aviation fuel dealers were also required to complete the R-1029AF, Schedule AF Aviation Fuel- Sales and Use Tax.
- Aviation fuel dealers have never been required to complete a separate schedule.
- This requirement is for tracking purposes.
 - Legislature requires LDR to track collections of sales tax on aviation fuel sales in order to dedicate the equal amount to the TTF aviation fund

• Penalties for failure to file and pay electronically will apply for the return due on November 20, 2024.

Į	LOUISIANA SCHEDULE AF INMINISTRATIVE AVIATION Fuel - Sales and Use		Havehus Account Number	Fining Period (Herox)
no)	Lossatra Constitution request that the "seases revenues" from all loses level of franceporation "but find (TTP). The Lossatra Constitution requires an annual Tale loss across the state. So comply with these requirements, sealors must report be for "sufficient lacks" but, pare mounts exported here should be included in the biblis provided on Lines 1, 2, and	TF appropriation to be mad sales of Aviation Fuel on a	e to dedicate sales tax revenu	on to fund pirport capital impri
		A Aviation Gasoline	B Aviation Jet Fuel	C Tirtle Aviation Fue
1	Grose sales of aviation fuel reported in the total on Line 1 of the sales tax return.	1	1	5
3	Cost of austion fuel used reported in the total on Line 2 of the sales tax setum.	5	s	8
5	Total allowable deductions on eviation fuel reported in the total on Line 5 of the soles tax return.)	1	1	1
á	Total lawacee (Subtract Line 3 from the euro total of Lines 1 and 2.)	5	5	s
5	Total gallons sold for or used in aircraft			
	Eserci gators soft for or used in arcset			
e				

R-1029AF (4/24)



SCHEDULE AF Aviation Fuel - Sales and Use Tax

LA Revenue Account Number	Filing Period (mm/yy)

The Louisiana Constitution requires that the "excess revenues" from all taxes levied on gasoline, motor fuels, and special fuels, including aviation fuel, be deposited in and credited to the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF). The Louisiana Constitution requires an annual TTF appropriation to be made to dedicate sales tax revenues to fund airport capital improvement projects across the state. To comply with these requirements, dealers must report the sales of Aviation Fuel on a separate schedule. For questions about this schedule, please email AviationFuelSalesTax@ldr.gov.

All amounts reported here should be included in the totals provided on Lines 1, 2, and 5 of the sales tax return.

		A Aviation Gasoline	B Aviation Jet Fuel	C Total Aviation Fuel
1	Gross sales of aviation fuel reported in the total on Line 1 of the sales tax return.	\$	\$	\$
2	Cost of aviation fuel used reported in the total on Line 2 of the sales tax return.	\$	\$	\$
3	Total allowable deductions on aviation fuel reported in the total on Line 5 of the sales tax return.)	\$	\$	\$
4	Total taxable (Subtract Line 3 from the sum total of Lines 1 and 2.)	\$	\$	\$
5	Total gallons sold for or used in aircraft			
6	Exempt gallons sold for or used in aircraft			
7	Net gallons sold for or used in aircraft (Subtract Line 6 from Line 5.)			

Tobacco

Tobacco Tax—Vapor Products and Alternative Nicotine Product Directory (Act 567, HB 621)

- Makes clarifications regarding Vapor Product and Alternative Nicotine Product Directory.
- Vapor product manufacturers and alternative nicotine manufacturers must certify to the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) that its products meet the requirements to be sold in Louisiana.
- Certified manufacturers and products are listed on the VAPE Directory.
- No products may be offered for sale in the State of Louisiana unless the product is listed on the directory and complies with all other applicable laws.

LAC 61:1.5101 - 5115 Tobacco Tax Regulations

- The Department of Revenue has amended LAC 61:I.5101 regarding the reporting of certain imported cigarettes and adopted LAC 61:I.5107-5115 regarding wholesale tobacco dealers receiving unstamped and or unpaid tobacco products, purchasing and affixing tax stamps, and bonds waivers.
- The regulations provide guidelines and clarification for licensed wholesale tobacco dealers regarding:
 - how to report certain imported cigarettes.
 - the purchase of unstamped cigarettes and tobacco that require approval from the Tobacco Unit of the Attorney General's Office.
 - the purchase of stamps and insurance on the shipments.
 - procedure for affixing tax stamps.
 - procedures for bond waiver.
 - procedures for requesting a refund for stamps affixed to goods that become damage or removed from the state's directory.

Alcohol

Alcohol

- Act 575 (HB 882) provides that a licensed wholesaler may transfer from one permitted microbrewery to another permitted microbrewery up to fifty percent of the total manufactured beverages sold at the receiving microbrewery. Requires the receiving microbrewery to have a minimum five barrel brewing system.
- Act 382 (HB 573) provides that when shipping distilled spirits with container sizes of 1 liter or 750 milliliters, a case cannot contain more than 12 containers.

Severance

New Rates for Orphan and Inactive Wells (Act 695, HB 418)

- Reduces the existing oil and gas severance tax rates on inactive and orphan wells by half, applying a new rate of 1/4 of the full rate for inactive wells, and 1/8 of the full rate for eligible orphan wells for ten years.
- Extends the deadline for the Department of Energy and Natural Resource certification from June 30, 2023 to June 30, 2028.
- The ten year rate reductions are applicable to wells that commence production prior to September 30, 2028. Effective October 1, 2024.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-016 Oilfield Site Restoration Fee Rate

- For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2025, the Oilfield Site Restoration Fee will be three cents per barrel on crude oil and condensate.
- For natural gas and casing head gas, the Oilfield Site Restoration Fee is three-tenths of one cent per thousand cubic feet.
- For stripper wells and incapable wells, the Oilfield Site Restoration Fee will be calculated in the same proportion as the reduced rate severance tax to the full rate severance tax for each respective category.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-013 Prices Applicable to Oil and Gas for Horizontal Wells

- For the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2024 and ending June 30, 2025 (FY 25), the prices applicable to the horizontal well severance tax exemption is \$79.50 per barrel of oil and \$2.50 per million BTU of natural gas.
 - The exemption for oil is 80% since the price of oil is above \$70 and at or below \$80 per barrel and taxpayers must pay the severance tax due on the 20% not exempt from the tax.
 - The exemption for gas is 100% since the price of natural gas is at or below \$4.50 per million BTU. The exemption is limited to twenty-four months or until payout of the well is achieved, whichever comes first.
 - Taxpayers who, pursuant to Revenue Information Bulletin 12-018, elect not to pay severance tax on production from a horizontal well for which final approval is pending from the Office of Conservation on the Application for Well State Determination are still required to pay the tax due on the non-exempt production. For example, if a taxpayer is awaiting final approval for a horizontal oil well, the taxpayer must pay the severance tax due on the 20% not subject to the exemption.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-011 Natural Gas Severance Tax Rate

- The natural gas severance tax rate effective July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025, has been set at 9.8 cents per thousand cubic feet (MCF) measured at a base pressure of 15.025 pounds per square inch absolute and at the temperature base of 60 degrees Fahrenheit.
- Gas produced from an inactive or orphan gas well is subject to a reduced severance tax rate equal to fifty percent or twenty-five percent of the severance tax rate, respectively, as provided in R.S. 47:633(7)(c)(iv). Therefore, the inactive gas reduced tax rate is 4.9 cents per MCF and the orphan gas reduced tax rate is 2.45 cents per MCF effective July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-005 Applicable Interest Rate for Certain Severance Tax Overpayments

• The applicable interest rates for severance tax overpayments on new horizontal or deep wells refunded between January 1, 2024, and December 31, 2024 are the 6-Month Treasury rate of 5.58% for the first 180 days and the general refund interest rate of 11.75% thereafter.

Revenue Information Bulletin No. 24-003 2024 Severance Tax Values for Timber Products

• Effective for January 1, 2024, the timber values to be used to determine the severance tax on timber are as follows:

Product	Value Per Ton	Tax Rate	Tax Per Ton
Pine Sawtimber	\$32.55	2.25%	\$0.73
Hardwood Sawtimber	\$34.49	2.25%	\$0.78
Pine Chip-n-Saw	\$18.84	2.25%	\$0.42
Pulpwood Pine	\$7.90	5.00%	\$0.40
Pulpwood Hardwood	\$7.13	5.00%	\$0.36

Electronic Filing and Payment of Mineral and Timber Tax Returns

- On September 20, 2024 the Department issued a Notice of Intent to amend LAC 61:III.1525 to require the electronic filing and payment of mineral and timber tax returns
- Beginning with the January 2025 tax period, all mineral severance tax and timber severance tax returns must be filed electronically.
- All severance tax payments must be remitted electronically beginning with the January 2025 tax period.
- Failure to comply with these requirements will result in penalties.
- The regulations provide for waivers of penalties under certain circumstances.

Miscellaneous

Unpaid Self-Assessments (Act 300, SB 147)

- When taxpayers self-assess tax but fail to remit the amount due, LDR is required to send a Notice of Tax Due. If the amount due exceeds \$1,000, the notice must be sent by certified mail.
- Act 300 requires LDR to send notices going to international addresses via First-Class International Mail with Electronic USPS Delivery Confirmation.

LAC 61:1.4919 -Installment Agreements

- The LDR has amended LAC 61:I.4919, effective September 20, 2024.
- The new rule increases the maximum threshold amount and extends the payment period for informal installment agreements.
- Informal installment agreements will be allowed for:
 - Balances under \$50,000 (previously \$25,000) and
 - Payment periods up to 60 months (previously, 36 months).
- Formal installment agreements will be required if the amount owed is \$50,000 or more or the payment period exceeds 60 months.

Automatic extensions are based on the taxpayer's location address on file with LDR.

- ➤ All 64 parishes are included within the disaster area.
- ➤ If a taxpayer's location address is not within Louisiana, the taxpayer may still be eligible for interest and penalty relief even though an automatic extension did not apply.
 - ➤ Taxpayers may submit a request for penalty relief on the appropriate form. All such requests for relief will be considered by the Department on a case-by-case basis.
- Extensions do not apply for any return or tax that was due before September 11, 2024.

Individual, Partnership and Fiduciary Extensions

- ➤ Louisiana Revised Statute 47:103(D)(2) allows an automatic six-month extension of time to file the individual income, fiduciary income and partnership income tax return.
- For 2023 calendar year filers, the due date was May 15, 2024, and the extended due date is November 15, 2024.
- ➤ Therefore, for qualifying taxpayers, with a calendar or fiscal year due date or extended due date on or after September 11, 2024, and before February 3, 2025, the automatic extended due date is February 3, 2025.

Corporation Income Tax

- ➤ Louisiana Revised Statute 47:287.610(D) provides for an automatic extension of time to file the corporation income tax return, provided the taxpayer timely requested an extension of time to file the federal return for the same taxable period. In such case, the extension is equal to the greater of six-months or the extended due date of the federal return. For 2023 calendar year taxpayers, the due date was May 15, 2024, and the extended due date is the later of November 15, 2024 or the extended due date of the federal return.
- ➤ Therefore, for qualifying taxpayers, with a calendar or fiscal year extended due date on or after September 11, 2024, and before February 3, 2025, the automatic extended due date is February 3, 2025.
- For qualifying taxpayers with a fiscal year original due date between September 11, 2024, and February 3, 2025, but who fail to timely request an extension of time to file the federal return for the same taxable period, the automatic extended due date is February 3, 2025.

Corporation Franchise Tax

➤ The previous guidance applies to taxpayers filing a corporation franchise tax return in conjunction with the corporation income tax return. For qualifying taxpayers filing a franchise tax only return with a fiscal year original due date between September 11, 2024, and February 3, 2025, the automatic extended due date is February 3, 2025.

Income & Franchise Tax Payments

- ➤ For calendar year filers, the tax was due May 15, 2024. Interest and penalties are imposed by statute beginning that date and will continue to accrue until paid. Eligible calendar year taxpayers are granted an extension to file only under this bulletin.
- ➤ For fiscal year filers, with original due dates between September 11, 2024, and February 3, 2025, the automatic extended payment date is February 3, 2025.

Estimated Income Tax Payments

➤ The extension provided for in this bulletin includes estimated tax payments with original due dates between September 11, 2024, and February 3, 2025. For the majority of taxpayers, this extension applies to the estimated tax payments due on September 16, 2024, and January 15, 2025.

Withholding Tax Payment Extensions

➤ For withholding tax payments due on or after September 11, 2024, and on or before September 30, 2024, the automatic extended due date to remit tax is October 31, 2024.

Sales Tax

For sales tax returns and payments with original due dates on or after September 11, 2024, and on or before September 30, 2024, the automatic extended due date to file the return and remit payment is October 20, 2024.

Severance and Excise Tax Extensions

➤ For severance and excise tax returns with original due dates on or after September 11, 2024, and on or before September 30, 2024, the automatic extended due date to file the return is October 31, 2024.

Тах Туре	Original or Extended Due Date Period	Automatic Extension Due Date	Type of Extension
Individual Income	September 11, 2024 - February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only
Fiduciary Income	September 11, 2024 – February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only*
Corporation Income	September 11, 2024 - February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only*
Corporation Franchise	September 11, 2024 - February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only*
Partnership	September 11, 2024 - February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only*
Composite Partnership	September 11, 2024 - February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to file only*
Estimated Income Payments	September 11, 2024 – February 3, 2025	February 3, 2025	Extension to pay
Withholding	September 11, 2024 - September 30, 2024	October 31, 2024	Extension to pay
Sales	September 11, 2024 - September 30, 2024	October 20, 2024	Extension to file and pay
Severance	September 11, 2024 - September 30, 2024	October 31, 2024	Extension to file and pay
Excise	September 11, 2024 - September 30, 2024	October 31, 2024	Extension to file and pay

^{*}For fiscal year filers, if the original due date falls within the period, both the filing and payment due dates are extended.

Appendix 2 -Excise and Severance Due Dates Only

Tax, Fee, and Information Return Types	Original Return and Payment Due Dates	
Excise Taxes		
Alcoholic Beverage Tax	9/16/2024	
Louisiana State and Parish and Municipality Beer Tax	9/20/2024	
Louisiana Tax Return for Wines Shipped Direct to Consumers	9/20/2024	
Motor Fuels Tax - Terminal Operators	9/20/2024	
Motor Fuels Tax - Importers	9/16/2024	

Tax, Fee, and Information Return Types	Original Return and Payment Due Dates
Motor Fuels Tax - Transporters	9/20/2024
Motor Fuels Tax & Petroleum Products Inspection Fee – Suppliers and Permissive Suppliers	9/22/2024
Motor Fuels Tax & Petroleum Products Inspection Fee – Distributors/Exporters/Blenders	9/20/2024
Special Fuels Tax	9/20/2024
Tobacco Tax	9/20/2024
Retail Dealers of Vapor Products	9/20/2024
Consumable Hemp Products Tax (formerly Industrial Hemp-Derived CBD Products Tax)	9/20/2024
Transportation & Communication Utilities Tax - Monthly Returns	9/20/2024
Inspection and Supervision Fee	9/30/2024
Therapeutic Marijuana Fee	9/20/2024
Severance Taxes	
Severance Tax - Oil and Gas	9/25/2024
Severance Tax - Timber and Minerals	9/30/2024
Surface Mining and Reclamation Fee	9/30/2024

Policy Resources

Tax Policy Inquiry Email Boxes

- Corporate Income and Franchise
- <u>PracCIFTPolicyInquiries@la.gov</u>
- Individual Income and Withholding
- <u>PractitionersIndividual.TaxPolicyInquiries@la.gov</u>
- Sales
- <u>PractitionersSalesTax.PolicyInquiries@la.gov</u>
- Excise/Severance/Miscellaneous
- PracExcSevTaxPolicyInquiries@la.gov