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Income Tax

Requirement that Motion Picture Credit Transfer Fee be Paid Prior to
Claiming the Credits on an Income Tax Return

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6007 allows the Louisiana Department of Economic Development (LED) to
collect a processing fee of up to $200 for receipt of notice of tax credit transfers. The Department of
Economic Development amended regulation LAC 61:1.1613, entitled “Application of the Credit”, by
Emergency Rule in September 2010 issue of the Louisiana State Register. The regulation states that a single
sale or transfer may involve one or more transferees and now requires a $200 transfer fee per transferee. The
Emergency Rule went into effect on October 1, 2010.

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6007 requires notification of the transfer of motion picture credits to be given to
both LDR and LED. The amendment of regulation LAC 61:1.1613 now requires the transfer fee be paid
before the transferee claims the credit on a tax return. Therefore, taxpayers should not claim motion picture
credits that were transferred on or after October 1, 2010, on an income tax return without first paying the
$200 transfer fee to LED. The Department of Revenue will disallow the credit on any return in which they
tind the transfer fee has not already been paid.

Interested parties should contact Customer Service at (225) 219-0102.

Cynthia Bridges
Secretary

A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:111.101.D. A RIB is an informal
statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB does not have the force
and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department.




