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Excise Taxes 

Legislative Changes to the Inspection and Supervision Fee 

Act 234 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature amended Louisiana Revised 
Statutes 45:1177(A)(2) and (3), 1180(A) and 1181(A) and repealed R.S. 45:1177(D) and (E), 
1177.1, and 1178, all relative to fees collected for the Public Service Commission by the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue. The Act became effective August 15, 2007; however, for administrative 
purposes, the provisions of the Act will be implemented on the report for the fourth quarter of the 
2007 calendar year. 

The amendments to the Inspection and Supervision Fee changed the minimum amount payable each 
quarter from no less than $12.50 to no less than $20. The rates for calculating the fees to be paid by 
each common carrier, contract carrier, and public utility quarterly based on the cumulative receipts 
as of the end of the respective calendar quarter also increased with the minimum amount to be paid 
annually to be no less than $80. 

The supplemental fees paid by each gas, electric, and telephone public utility as provided in R.S. 
45:1177(D) were repealed. This supplemental fee was 20 percent of the Inspection and Supervision 
Fee calculated quarterly. 

Since the Inspection and Supervision Fee is based on the cumulative receipts for the calendar year, 
the legislative changes will apply to the receipts reported for the 2007 calendar year, and will be 
implemented for the final quarter of the calendar year. The report forms to be provided for the 
fourth quarter will reflect the changes. Because the fee is based on cumulative receipts, credit will 
still be allowed for the full amount paid in previous quarters. Therefore, for those filers who paid 
the basic fee, and the additional supplemental fee where applicable, on the reports filed for the 
previous three quarters in 2007, the supplemental fee is NOT calculated on the fourth quarter report, 
but credit will be given for the total of the basic and the supplemental fees actually paid on those 
reports. Likewise, for those filers who pay only the minimum fee, the minimum annual amount due 
for 2007 is now $80, and credit will be allowed for the minimum amounts actually paid for the 
previous quarters of 2007.  

If you have any questions, call the Taxpayer Services Division, Excise Taxes Section at (225) 219-
7656, option 2. 

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 
 
 

A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101.D. A RIB is an informal 
statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB does not have 
the force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 
 


