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Sales Tax 
Frequently Asked Questions 

Annual Louisiana Sales Tax Holidays 

1. What is a “sales tax holiday”? 

A “sales tax holiday” is a temporary period when sales taxes are not collectible or payable on 
all or a specific class of purchases.  Act 244 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature has authorized a “sales tax holiday” on the first consecutive Friday and Saturday 
of each August. The dates of the 2007 holiday are August 3 and August 4.  

2. What can I buy tax-free during the holiday? 
An individual non-business purchaser can make state sales tax-free purchases of virtually all 
types of tangible personal property during the holiday except vehicles that must be licensed 
and titled, prepared meals, and to-go foods, provided that the price of any individual item 
purchased does not exceed $2,500. For items that sell for more than $2,500, the state sales 
tax must be paid on the amount above the $2,500.   

3. Besides vehicles, meals, and to go-foods, is there anything else that I cannot buy tax-
free during the holiday? 

In addition to the specific exclusions in the Act for vehicles and meals, the state sales tax 
holiday will not apply to purchases of taxable services (hotel occupancy; amusement, 
recreational, and athletic admissions; repairs to tangible personal property; laundry, cleaning, 
pressing, and dyeing services; vehicle parking; the furnishing of cold storage space; printing 
services; and telecommunication services) nor to leases or rentals of tangible personal 
property.   

4. I am not a resident of Louisiana. Can I make tax-free purchases during the holiday 
period? 

Yes. However, when the tangible personal property that is purchased without the payment of 
sales taxes in Louisiana is exported for use in other states, use taxes might be payable on 
those purchases to the other states where the purchased items will be used.    

5. Does the holiday give me a tax break on local taxes? 
No. Only the state sales tax, currently levied at the rate of 4 percent of the sales price of most 
items of tangible personal property, is exempted during the holiday.  

6. What must I do in order to receive the exemption on the 4 percent state sales tax? 
In order to receive the tax exemption, the customer must do one of the following: 

• Must purchase and accept delivery of eligible property;  

• Must place property on layaway;  
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• Must pay for and acquire possession of property that was previously placed on layaway; 
or  

• Must place and pay for an order for immediate shipment, even if delivery must be 
delayed.  However, the delay in delivery must not be at the request of the purchaser.  

7. My vendor does not have what I want in his in-store inventory, so he must order the 
item for me.  Can I receive the tax exemption on that item? 

If during the two days of the annual holiday, the customer selects and pays for or fully 
finances an item that is scheduled, at the time that the order is placed, for immediate delivery 
to the customer from the vendor’s or the vendor’s supplier’s inventory, the purchase will be 
eligible for the tax exemption, even if delivery cannot be completed until after the days of the 
holiday. In such a case, the vendor will be required to record the sale in his accounting 
records as having been made during the days of the holiday, and report the transaction on 
state and local sales tax returns that are filed for the August holiday period.  

When a vendor places a special order for a customer that must be custom-made or 
manufactured for future delivery after the holiday, the merchandise will not be considered as 
available for immediate delivery, and the transaction will not be eligible for the holiday sales 
tax exemption.  

Additionally, if during the holiday a customer makes a deposit on, but does not fully pay for 
or finance an item of tangible personal property that will be delivered to the customer after 
the holiday, the transaction will not be eligible for exemption, unless the transaction is a 
layaway where the vendor will physically segregate property in his inventory for future 
delivery to the customer.  

8. Does my business have the option of whether to participate in the “sales tax 
holiday”? 

No. Every business that sells in Louisiana during the two days of the holiday must allow the 
state sales tax exemption on eligible sales of tangible personal property.  

9. How do I claim a deduction on my sales tax return for the tax-free sales that I make 
during the holiday? 

Retailers should report exempt sales on Line 33 of the Sales Tax Return (R-1029) and write 
the words “Sales Tax Holiday” as the explanation. 

10. Will I receive any compensation for the cash register programming changes that I 
must make to properly record the exempt sales made during the holiday? 

Act 386 of the 1990 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides that dealers who 
incur costs to reprogram cash registers, including computer programming, as a result of a 
change in the state sales and use tax rate or base shall be allowed credits on their sales tax 
returns of up to $25 for each cash register reprogrammed.  Dealers are allowed to claim 
credit only for reprogramming costs invoiced to them by external providers of services, but 
not for internal reprogramming services rendered within their businesses by such internal 
persons as owners, officers, partners, or employees.   

More details concerning this credit are available on the Louisiana Department of Revenue’s 
web site at http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/forms/lawspolicies/RIB03009.pdf. 

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/forms/lawspolicies/RIB03009.pdf
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A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101.D. A RIB is an 
informal statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB 
does not have the force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 
 

11. How do I handle exchanges and returns after the holiday? 
The post-holiday exchange of merchandise to effectuate changes in size, color, or correction 
of defects does not create a tax liability, but exchanges after the holiday for dissimilar items 
will be considered the purchase of new property on which the sales tax will be payable.   

For a 60-day period after the holiday, dealers who issue refund or credit for the return of 
merchandise that was eligible for sales tax exemption during the holiday can issue refund or 
credit for the state sales tax on that returned merchandise only if the customers returning the 
property have receipts showing that the tax was actually paid on the original purchases, or the 
dealers are otherwise able to document that the state sales tax was paid on the original 
purchases.   
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