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March 7, 2025 

Individual Income Tax  
  

Louisiana Individual Income Tax Reform 
Effective for 2025 and Future Tax Years 

 
The purpose of this guidance is to explain changes to Louisiana’s individual income tax as enacted 
by Act 11 of the 2024 Third Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature and to encourage 
taxpayers to review their withholdings and estimated tax payments beginning with the 2025 tax 
year. Unless otherwise provided, the changes enacted by Act 11 are applicable to individual income 
tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2025. 
 
Note that there is no impact to the 2024 income tax returns with an original due date of May 15, 
2025. 
 
Changes to Individual Income Tax 
 

1. Income Tax Rate for Individuals 
 

Act 11 repeals the graduated rates and brackets for individuals in favor of a flat 3% tax rate 
applicable to all taxable income. 
 
Rates applicable to taxpayers with a filing status of single, married filing separately, or head of 
household are as follows: 
 

Taxable Income 
Tax Years 

2009-2021 
Tax Years 

2022-2024 
Tax Years 

2025 and After 
$0 - $12,5001 2.00% 1.85% 3% 

$12,501 - $50,000 4.00% 3.50% 3% 
$50,001 and over 6.00% 4.25% 3% 

 
 
 
 
 

 
1 For tax years prior to 2025, see La. R.S. 47:32(A)(1), 294, and 295(B); the combined personal exemption, standard 
deduction, and other exemption deductions must be deducted from the lowest tax bracket first and then the 
remaining brackets in increasing order. 
 

https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/ViewDocument.aspx?d=1391656
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?p=y&d=101946
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=101761
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=101762
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Rates applicable to taxpayers with a filing status of married filing jointly or qualifying surviving 
spouse are as follows: 
 

Taxable Income 
Tax Years 

2009-2021 
Tax Years 

2022-2024 
Tax Years  

2025 and After 
$0 - $25,0002 2.00% 1.85% 3% 

$25,001 - $100,000 4.00% 3.50% 3% 
$100,001 and over 6.00% 4.25% 3% 

 
 

2. Income Tax Rate for Resident and Nonresident Estates and Trusts 

Similar to individual income, Act 11 repeals the graduated rates and brackets for income of estates 
and trusts in favor of a flat 3% tax rate. 

Taxable Income 
Tax Years  

2021 and Prior 
Tax Years 

2022-2024 
Tax Years  

2025 and After 
$0 - $10,000 2.00% 1.85% 3% 

$10,001 - $50,000 4.00% 3.50% 3% 
$50,001 and over 6.00% 4.25% 3% 

 
 

3. Income Tax Rate for Pass-through Entities Electing to Be Taxed as Corporations 
 

Pursuant to Act 11, any S-corporation or entity taxed as a partnership for federal income tax 
purposes electing to be taxed as a C-corporation will now be taxed at a flat 3% tax rate.  

Taxable Income 
Tax Years 

2019-2021 
Tax Years 

2022-2024 
Tax Years  

2025 and After 
$0 - $25,000 2.00% 1.85% 3% 

$25,001 - $100,000 4.00% 3.50% 3% 
$100,001 and over 6.00% 4.25% 3% 

 
 

4. Standard Deduction 

Act 11 nearly triples the standard deduction, increasing it from $4,500 to $12,500 for taxpayers 
with a filing status of single or married filing separately. Additionally, the standard deduction for 
taxpayers with a filing status of married filing jointly, qualifying surviving spouse, and head of 
household is now double (200%) the amount for single individuals, increasing from $9,000 to 

 
2 . For tax years prior to 2025, see La. R.S. 47:32(A)(1), 294, and 295(B); the combined personal exemption, standard 
deduction, and other exemption deductions must be deducted from the lowest tax bracket first and then the 
remaining brackets in increasing order. 
 

https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?p=y&d=101946
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=101761
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=101762
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$25,000. Finally, Act 11 provides for an annual inflation adjustment based upon the Consumer Price 
Index (CPI-U), with the first adjustments occurring on January 1, 2026. 

Filing Status 
Tax Years  

Prior to 2025 
Tax Years  

2025 and After 
Single or Married Filing Separately $4,500 $12,5003 
Married Filing Jointly, Qualifying 
Surviving Spouse, and Head of 
Household 

$9,000 $25,0004 

 
The additional exemptions for dependents, blind persons, and persons over age 65 were repealed. 
 

5. Annual Retirement Income 
 
Act 11 increases the exemption for annual retirement income received by individuals aged 65 or 
older, raising it from $6,000 to $12,000 per person. Furthermore, similar to the standard deduction, 
Act 11 includes an annual inflation adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban 
Consumers (CPI-U), with the first adjustment occurring on January 1, 2026. 
 
       6. Bonus Depreciation Deduction and Bonus Amortization Deduction 

Act 11 authorizes a bonus depreciation deduction, also referred to as full expensing, for qualified 
property or qualified improvement property as well as a bonus amortization deduction for research 
and experimental procedures. The deduction allows a business to recover the full cost of property 
or expenditures in the taxable year the property is placed into service or the taxable year the 
expenditures were incurred, respectively, rather than depreciating the property over the course of 
its estimated useful life or amortization period. For purposes of the deduction, qualified property 
and qualified improvement property have the same meanings as those terms are defined by 
Sections 168(k) and 168(e)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code, as in effect on January 1, 2024, 
respectively. Research and experimental expenditures has the same meaning as that term is defined 
by Section 174 of the Internal Revenue Code, as in effect on January 1, 2024. 
 
Neither the bonus depreciation nor bonus amortization deduction authorized by Act 11 may be used 
to duplicate any depreciation or bonus depreciation, amortization or bonus amortization allowable 
on the federal income tax return of the taxpayer for the taxable year. 
 
       7.   Inventory Tax Credit 

The inventory tax credit allows taxpayers who pay ad valorem property taxes on business inventory 
to claim a credit applicable against their individual income tax. While there is no change for 
individuals and pass-through entities, for taxable periods beginning on or after July 1, 2026, entities 
taxed as C-corporations for federal income tax purposes will no longer be eligible to earn the 

 
3 Subject to change beginning January 1, 2026 due to the annual adjustment made based upon the CPI-U. 
4 Subject to change beginning January 1, 2026 due to the annual adjustment made based upon the CPI-U. 
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inventory tax credit. However, C-corporations may carryforward any unused credits for the 
remainder of the initial 10-year period, plus an additional five years for any credits which had not 
yet expired as of January 1, 2025.  

Credit Cap Changes 
 

1. Motion Picture Production Tax Credit 

Act 11 decreases the annual cap for the issuance of final certifications of motion picture production 
tax credits by the Department of Economic Development from $150 million to $125 million for 
applications submitted on or after July 1, 2025.  Similarly, Act 11 reduces the annual cap for claiming 
of credits or transferring credits to the state from $180 million to $125 million, beginning July 1, 
2025. Additionally, Act 11 prohibits the rollover of any unused portion of the cap from one credit 
cap year to be made available in the subsequent credit cap year, beginning with the credit cap year 
which begins July 1, 2025 
  

2. Research and Development Tax Credit 

Act 11 establishes an annual cap for the research and development tax credit of $12 million that is 
applicable to claims allowed on returns on or after July 1, 2025. Additionally, Act 11 prohibits the 
rollover of any unused portion of the cap from one credit cap year to be made available in the 
subsequent credit cap year. 

3. Rehabilitation of Historic Structures Tax Credit 

Act 11 decreases the annual cap for the rehabilitation of historic structures tax credit from $125 
million to $85 million for Part II applications received by the Department of Culture, Recreation and 

Tourism on or after January 1, 2025. Additionally, Act 11 prohibits the rollover of any unused portion 
of the cap from one credit cap year to be made available in the subsequent credit cap year, beginning 
with the credit cap year which begins January 1, 2025.  

Repealed and Sunset Statutes  

Act 11 establishes a June 30, 2025 sunset date for renewals and applications of numerous credits 
and incentives.  Thereafter, no credits may be renewed or earned for applications submitted. 
However, taxpayers may continue to earn credits pursuant to applications and contracts submitted 
on or before June 30, 2025. The credits subject to sunset on June 30, 2025 are shown below. 
 

Legal Citation Name of Credit/Incentive Sunset Date under Act 11 

La. R.S. 47:287.750 Work Opportunity  Certification after June 30, 2025 

La. R.S. 47:3204 
Industrial Tax Equalization 
Program 

Contracts entered and renewals 
received after June 30, 2025 

La. R.S. 47:4302 
Exemptions for Manufacturing 
Establishments 

Contracts entered and renewals 
received after June 30, 2025  
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Legal Citation Name of Credit/Incentive Sunset Date under Act 11 

La. R.S. 47:6020 Angel Investor 
Applications received after June 
30, 2025 

La. R.S. 47:6023 Sound Recording 
Applications received after June 
30, 2025 

La. R.S. 51:1787 Enterprise Zone 
Advance notifications received 
after June 30, 2025 

La. R.S. 51:2399.3 Modernization tax credit 
Applications received after June 
30, 2025 

La. R.S. 51:2461 Quality Jobs Program 
Advance applications received 
after June 30, 2025 

 
Act 11 also repeals a number of expired and underutilized credits and incentives. The repealed 
credits are listed below. However, taxpayers may continue to utilize any previously earned credits 
for the applicable carryforward period, as provided by the statue authorizing the credit.  
 

Legal Citation Name of Credit/Deduction/Incentive Prior Sunset Date 

La. R.S. 17:3389 
University Research and Development 
Parks 

July 1, 2017 

La. R.S. 25:1226 – 1226.6 
Atchafalaya Trace Heritage Area 
Development Zone Tax Exemption 

Applications 
approved on or after 
January 1, 2020. 

La. R.S. 47:12 Low-Income Housing December 31, 1993 

La. R.S. 47:34 and 287.749 New Jobs December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:37 and 287.755 
Contribution of Tangible Property of a 
Sophisticated & Technological Nature 
to Educational Institutions 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:79 
Dependent/Blind/Disabled/Deaf 
Exemption/Deduction 

Superseded by R.S. 
47:294(B) 

La. R.S. 47:287.748 Hiring Eligible Re-Entrants December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:287.759 
Employee and Dependent Health 
Insurance Coverage 

December 31, 2007 

La. R.S. 47:297(A) Certain Disabilities December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(B) Special Allowable Credits December 31, 2019 
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Legal Citation Name of Credit/Deduction/Incentive Prior Sunset Date 

La. R.S. 47:297(C) 
Gasoline & Special Fuels Taxes for 
Commercial Fisherman 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(D) Education December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(G) Environmental Equipment December 31, 1995 

La. R.S. 47:297(H) Small-Town Health Professional December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(I) Bone Marrow Donor Expense December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(J) 
Educational Expenses Incurred for 
Degree Related to Law Enforcement 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(K) 
Employment of Certain First-Time Drug 
Offenders 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(L) Purchase of Bulletproof Vest December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(M) Long-Term Care Insurance Premiums December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(N) Living Organ Donation December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(O) 
Employment of Certain First-Time 
Nonviolent Offenders 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297(P) 
Accessible and Barrier-Free 
Constructed Home 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297.2 
Employment-Related Expense for 
Maintaining Household for Certain 
Disabled Dependents 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:297.6 
Rehabilitation of an Owner Occupied 
Residential or Mixed-Use Property 

December 31, 2017 

La. R.S. 47:297.7 Property Insurance December 31, 2008 

La. R.S. 47:297.9 
Amounts Paid by Certain Military 
Servicemembers for Obtaining 
Louisiana Hunting & Fishing Licenses 

December 31, 2019 
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Legal Citation Name of Credit/Deduction/Incentive Prior Sunset Date 

La. R.S. 47:301(10)(a)(vi) 
Motion Picture Incentive Program Sales 
Tax Exclusion 

January 1, 2006 

La. R.S. 47:4331 Corporate Tax Apportionment Program 
Contracts approved 
or renewed after 
June 30, 2017 

La. R.S. 47:6011 
Donations of Property to Certain Offices 
and Agencies 

June 30, 2000 

La. R.S. 47:6012 
Donation of Materials, Equipment or 
Instructors Made to Certain Training 
Providers 

January 1, 2001 

La. R.S. 47:6016 New Markets Tax Credit 
Qualified equity 
investments made 
after August 31, 2013 

La. R.S. 47:6018 
Purchases from Prison Industry 
Enhancement (“PIE”) Contractors 

None 

La. R.S. 47:6021 Brownfields Investor Tax Credit December 31, 2009 

La. R.S. 47:6025 
LA Citizens Property Insurance 
Corporation Assessment 

December 31, 2019 

La. R.S. 47:6026 Cane River Heritage Tax Credit 
Applications 
approved on or after 
January 1, 2018. 

La. R.S. 47:6027 Mentor-Protégé Tax Credit December 31, 2011 

La. R.S. 47:6030 Solar Energy System December 31, 2015 

La. R.S. 47:6035 
Conversion of Vehicles to Alternative 
Fuel 

December 31, 2021 

La. R.S. 47:6036 Ports of Louisiana Tax Credits July 1, 2025 

La. R.S. 47:6036.1 Louisiana Import Tax Credit 
Applications 
received after July 1, 
2025 

La. R.S. 47:6037 Green Job Industries Credit 
Applications 
received after July 1, 
2017 
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Legal Citation Name of Credit/Deduction/Incentive Prior Sunset Date 

La. R.S. 47:6041 COVID-19 Pandemic ATC License 
Effective Jan. 1, 2020 
- Dec. 31, 2020 

La. R.S. 51:1801-1813 
Urban Revitalization Tax Incentive 
Program 

July 1, 2017 

La. R.S. 51:1932 
Louisiana Capital Companies Tax Credit 
Program 

No certifications 
after June 30, 2003, 
and no capital 
investments certified 
after December 31, 
2003 

La. R.S. 51:2351-2360 
Technology Commercialization Credit 
and Jobs Program 

July 1, 2017 

La. R.S. 51:3081  
through 3094 

Louisiana Community Development 
Financial Institutions Act 

July 1, 2009 

La. R.S. 51:3111-3115 
Corporate Headquarters Relocation 
Program 

Contracts approved 
after June 30, 2017 

La. R.S. 51:3121 
Competitive Projects Payroll Incentive 
Program 

Contracts approved 
after June 30, 2026 

 
Act 11 also repeals La. R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(ix) – the IRC Section 280C expense deduction, and La. R.S. 
47:293(9)(a)(xvii) – the net capital gain deduction. 
 
Revisions to Withholding Tax Tables and Formulas 
 
The Department has issued an Emergency Rule to modify the withholding tax tables and formulas 
that employers and payroll companies must use to calculate the correct amount of taxes to withhold 
from employees’ wages. The changes to the withholding tax tables and formulas account for the new 
three percent income tax rate and increased standard deduction. Pursuant to La. R.S. 47:112 and 
the Emergency Rule, employers must use these revised tables or formulas to deduct tax from wages 
paid on or after January 1, 2025. The withholding tables add an additional 0.09% to provide a 
“cushion” in an effort to prevent taxpayers from having a balance due. Any amount withheld in 
excess of an individual’s tax liability will be refunded. 
 
General Guidance to Louisiana Individual Taxpayers 
 
In general, individuals can expect less state tax withheld from their wages and an overall increase 
in net wages per pay period due to the new state income tax rate and the increased standard 
deduction. The revised withholding tax tables and formulas are structured to ensure correct 

https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=101091
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withholding based on the new flat 3% income tax rate and the near tripling of the standard 
deduction.  
 
Although the tables provide for a built-in “cushion”, they do not account for other types of income 
that are not generally subject to withholding, such as interest, dividends, capital gains, and pass-
through income (including profits from small businesses such as LLCs). If a taxpayer has other forms 
of income other than wages reported on IRS Form W-2, the taxpayer should consider one or more 
of the following: 
 

1. Review and revise Form R-1300, Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate (L-4).   
 
The Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate is completed by an employee (generally at the 
start of employment) and is used by an employer to calculate the withholding amount from each 
wage payment. An employee with income from other sources should consider decreasing the 
number of deductions claimed (Lines 6) or increase the amount to be withheld each pay period 
(Line 7).  
 

2. Remit estimated tax payments 
 
Individuals may declare estimated income and remit estimated tax payments to the Department.5 
Estimated tax payments may be remitted using any of the following options: 
 

• Electronically using LaTAP; 
• By credit card via the Department’s website Revenue.Louisiana.gov; and 
• By mail using LDR Form IT-540ES. 

 
For more information on estimated tax payments, refer to LDR Form IT-540ES Instructions.   
 
The Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate  has been updated to reflect the use of filing status 
rather than the number of exemptions in determining a taxpayer’s appropriate withholding 
amount. As such, Louisiana individual taxpayers are strongly encouraged to complete and submit 
an updated Employee Withholding Exemption Certificate to their employer and consider whether 
additional withholding or estimated tax payments are necessary. Absent these steps, individuals 
with other income should expect to owe additional state income tax when filing their Louisiana 
income tax returns instead of receiving a refund of an overpayment of tax. 
 
 
Richard Nelson 
Secretary 

 
5 Estimated tax payments must be remitted if estimated income tax after credits and withholdings is expected to exceed 
$1,000 for single filers and $2,000 for joint filers. Absent one or more exceptions, the failure to remit estimated tax 
payments is a penalty of 12% annually of the underpayment amount for the period of underpayment.  
 

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-w-2
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/1300(1_25)F.pdf
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/1300(1_25)F.pdf
https://latap.revenue.louisiana.gov/
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/IT540ESWEB(2025)F.pdf
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/IT540ESi(2025)%20d5.pdf
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/1300(1_25)F.pdf
https://revenue.louisiana.gov/TaxForms/1300(1_25)F.pdf

