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Sales and Use Tax

Taxability of Transportation Charges

Purpose

This Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued to clarify the application of Louisiana state
and local sales and use taxes to transportation charges (including shipping, freight, and
delivery) in transactions involving the sale or purchase of tangible personal property and
digital products.

Transportation Charges Included in Cost Price and Sales Price

Pursuant to Louisiana law, the definitions of “cost price”! and “sales price”2 both expressly
include transportation charges. Accordingly:

o Transportation charges paid to a seller for the delivery of tangible personal property
or digital products purchased from that seller are subject to Louisiana state and local
sales and use taxes.3

o This applies regardless of whether the charges are separately stated or included in
the total price.

Exempt and Excluded Transactions

If the underlying transaction is excluded (e.g. sale for resale) or exempt (e.g., purchase of
manufacturing machinery and equipment under La. R.S. 47:301(3)(i)), the associated
transportation charges are also excluded or exempt. This is because transportation charges
are considered part of the total cost price or sales price of the exempt transaction.

Example 1: An invoice includes:

e $500 for the sale of equipment to a state government entity (exempt from sales tax
under La. R.S. 47:305.7(A)(1)(a)), and

1La.R.S.47:301(3).
2La.RS.47:301(13).
3 The definitions of “cost price” and “sales price” do not apply to leases, rentals, or services.
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e $50 delivery charge.

The $50 delivery charge is not taxable because the transaction is exempt from sales and use
tax.

Mixed Transactions - Taxability of Entire Transportation Charge
When an invoice includes both taxable and non-taxable items, and a single transportation
charge is applied, the entire transportation charge is subject to tax if any portion of the
transaction is taxable.
Example 2: An invoice includes:

e $50 for food for home consumption (exempt)

e $50 for taxable goods

e $10 delivery charge.
The entire $10 delivery charge is taxable because it is associated with a taxable transaction.
If taxable and nontaxable items are invoiced separately, only the delivery charges on the
invoice with taxable items are subject to sales tax. However, a dealer cannot avoid tax by
improperly shifting delivery charges for taxable items to the nontaxable invoice.
Third-Party Delivery Charges
Transportation charges are not taxable if:

e The purchaser contracts directly with a third-party carrier for delivery; or

e The seller contracts with a third-party carrier but does not charge the purchaser for

delivery.

However, if the seller passes through delivery charges incurred from a third-party to the
purchaser, those charges become part of the sales price and are subject to tax.

Leases and Rentals

In contrast to sales transactions, sales tax on leases and rentals is imposed on the “gross
proceeds derived from the lease or rental.”*

e Transportation charges are not considered part of the gross proceeds.

4La. R.S. 47:302(B), 321(B), 321.1(B), and 331(B).
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o Therefore, separately stated transportation charges related to the delivery of leased
or rented property are not subject to sales and use tax.

Services

Sales tax on services is imposed on “the amounts paid or charged for such services.”>
Transportation charges are not considered part of the amount paid or charged for the taxable
service. Separately stated transportation charges related to the sale of a service are not
taxable.

Questions concerning this Bulletin should be directed by e-mail to PolicySales@la.gov.

Richard Nelson
Secretary

5 La. R.S. 47:302(C), 321(C), 321.1(C), and 331(C).

A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:111.101.D. A RIB is an informal statement of
information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB does not have the force and effect of law
and is not binding on the public or the Department.



mailto:PolicySales@la.gov

