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Excise Tax 
 

Notification of Vapor Products and Electronic Cigarettes Tax Increase  
Effective July 1, 2023 

 
Act 414 of the 2023 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature amended La. R.S. 22:831(B), 
La. R.S. 26:911(B)(1)(b), and La. R.S. 47:841(F) and enacted La. R.S. 26:911(E) and 926 and 
La. R.S. 39:100.210. The amendments to La. R.S. 47:841(F) increase the excise tax rate levied 
on vapor products and electronic cigarettes from $0.05 per milliliter to $0.15 per milliliter 
of consumable nicotine liquid solution or other material containing nicotine that is depleted 
as a vapor product is used. This excise tax increase is effective July 1, 2023. 
 
Also effective July 1, 2023, is the change to La. R.S. 26:911(B)(1)(b) providing that alternative 
nicotine products, vapor products and electronic cigarette products may only be purchased 
from a wholesale dealer operating with a valid unsuspended Louisiana wholesale dealer 
permit and a valid stamping agent designation permit pursuant to La. R.S. 26:902(2)(a). 
However, the excise tax is due whether product is purchased from a permissible dealer or 
not. 
 
Beginning October 1, 2023, every vapor product manufacturer and alternative nicotine 
product manufacturer whose products are sold in this state, whether directly or through a 
wholesale dealer, retail dealer, or similar intermediary or intermediaries must register each 
product with the Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC). The Vapor Product 
and Alternative Nicotine Product Directory will be available on ATC’s website by November 
1, 2023.  
 
Questions concerning the excise tax increase should be directed to the Louisiana Department 
of Revenue’s Taxpayer Compliance-Sales, Severance, Excise and Withholding Tax Unit at 
855-307-3893, option 2, then 1. Questions concerning the Stamping Agent Designation or 
the Vapor Product and Alternative Nicotine Product Directory should be directed to the 
Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control at (225) 925-4041. 
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