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Individual Income Tax 

 

Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff 

 

School Readiness Tax Credits 

 

In 2007, the Louisiana Legislature passed Act 394, which enacted Revised Statutes 47:6101-6109 

to provide a package of tax credits known as the School Readiness Tax Credits. These credits allow 

tax breaks to families, child care providers, child care directors and staff, and businesses that 

support child care in an effort to encourage child care facilities to voluntarily participate in the 

quality rating program administered by the Louisiana Department of Education under the name of 

Quality Start Child Care Rating System.  

 

The School Readiness Tax Credits, which are effective for income tax years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2008, and franchise tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, are as follows: 

 

1. Child Care Expense Tax Credit provided by LA R.S. 47:6104 

 

2. Child Care Provider Tax Credit provided by LA R.S. 47:6105  

 

3. Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff provided by LA R.S. 47:6106   

 

4. Tax Credit for Business-Supported Child Care provided by LA R.S. 47:6107    

 

5. Tax Credit For Donations to Resource and Referral Agencies  provided by LA R.S. 47:6107     

 

To provide additional guidance for the School Readiness Tax Credits, the Louisiana Department 

of Revenue and the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services adopted LAC 

61:I.1903. 

 

Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff provided by LA R.S. 47:6106 

 

Child care directors and eligible staff are eligible for a refundable individual income tax credit if 

they work at least six months for a licensed child care facility that participates in the quality rating 

system and are enrolled in the Louisiana Pathways Child Care Career Development System. 

 

The refundable tax credit is based on the educational level attained through the Louisiana Pathways 

Child Care Career Development System. The credit is adjusted annually by the percentage increase 

in the Consumer Price Index United States city average for all urban consumers (CPI-U), as 

prepared by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, as determined by 

http://legis.la.gov/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451044
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=453229
http://www.qrslouisiana.org/
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/LAC61_I_1903.pdf
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/LAC61_I_1903.pdf
http://scitech.nsula.edu/pathways/
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the secretary of the Department of Revenue on December first of the preceding calendar year. The 

credit amount for the 2019 tax year is as follows: 

 
Educational Level  Tax Credit Amount 
 

Director I    $1,756 

Director II    $2,341 

Director III    $2,926 

Director IV    $3,511 

Child Care Teacher I   $1,756 

Child Care Teacher II   $2,341 

Child Care Teacher III  $2,926 

Child Care Teacher IV  $3,511 

 

The tax credit is claimed on the Resident Individual Income Tax return, Form IT-540, Schedule F, 

or the Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return, Form IT-540B, 

Schedule F-NR.  The Louisiana Department of Education will provide certification to child care 

directors and staff indicating the educational level achieved by January 31, 2020. The Louisiana 

School Readiness Tax Credit, for Child Care Director and Staff, Form R-10615 must be completed 

by the child care provider and given to the directors and staff. The Louisiana Department of 

Education will also furnish the certification information to the Louisiana Department of Revenue 

as verification of the directors’ and staff’s eligibility for the tax credit.  Directors and staff who file 

paper returns must attach a copy of the certification Form R-10615 to the return when filed. If the 

tax return is filed electronically, the form should be retained by the taxpayer to be provided to the 

Louisiana Department of Revenue if requested. All taxpayers must enter the facility license 

number from Form R-10615 on Line 6A of Schedule F or Schedule F-NR. 

 

For additional information concerning the Louisiana Pathways Child Care Career Development 

System (LA Pathways) see the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services’ rule found 

at LAC 67:III.5125 and 5127. 

 

Questions concerning this publication may be submitted by e-mail to Policy.Publications@La.gov. 

 

 

Kimberly Lewis Robinson 

Secretary 
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