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Notification of Changes to Telecommunication Tax for the Deaf Return 

For Quarter ending March 31, 2018 
 

Act 2 of the 2018 First Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature became effective 
March 26, 2018, the date on which it was signed by the Governor. This Act increased the tax 
from four and one-half cents to five cents per month per line for each wireline access line and per 
telephone number for each wireless handset device on each residential and business customer of 
a local or wireless telecommunication service company operating in Louisiana. The increase is 
effective March 26, 2018. As a result, the Telecommunication Tax for the Deaf return for the 
current quarter ending March 31, 2018, has been adjusted to properly report the different rates in 
effect during the quarter.  
 
Columns B and C have been amended so that each no longer reports one full month of data. 
Column B will include what would have been reported for the second month of the quarter, 
February, plus what would have normally been reported for a portion of the third month of the 
quarter, from March 1st to March 25th. Column C will include only the remaining portion of what 
would have been reported for the third month of the quarter, March 26th to March 31st. The rate 
applied to Column B is 4 cents. The rate applied to Column C is 5 cents. 
 
The return for next quarter will return to the original format where each column reports data for 
one month of the quarter. The rate for all columns will be 5 cents. 
 
Questions concerning the Telecommunication Tax for the Deaf should be directed to the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue’s Taxpayer Compliance-Sales Severance Excise Withholding 
Tax Unit at 855-307-3893, option 2 then 1. 
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