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Individual Income Tax 
 

Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff 

 

School Readiness Tax Credits 

 

In 2007, the Louisiana Legislature passed Act 394, which enacted Revised Statutes 47:6101-

6109 to provide a package of tax credits known as the School Readiness Tax Credits. These 

credits allow tax breaks to families, child care providers, child care directors and staff, and 

businesses that support child care in an effort to encourage child care facilities to voluntarily 

participate in the quality rating program administered by the Louisiana Department of Education 

under the name of the Quality Start Child Care Rating System.  

 

The School Readiness Tax Credits, which are effective for income tax years beginning on or 

after January 1, 2008, and franchise tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, are as 

follows: 

 

1. Child Care Expense Tax Credit provided by La. R.S. 47:6104 

2. Child Care Provider Tax Credit provided by La. R.S. 47:6105  

3. Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff provided by La. R.S. 47:6106   

4. Tax Credit for Business-Supported Child Care provided by La. R.S. 47:6107    

5. Tax Credit For Donations to Resource and Referral Agencies  provided by La. R.S. 

47:6107     

 

To provide additional guidance for the School Readiness Tax Credits, the Louisiana Department 

of Revenue and the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services adopted LAC 

61:I.1903. 

 

Credit for Child Care Directors and Staff provided by La. R.S. 47:6106 

 

Child care directors and eligible staff are eligible for a refundable individual income tax credit if 

they work at least six months for a licensed child care facility that participates in the quality 

rating system and are enrolled in the Louisiana Pathways Child Care Career Development 

System. 

 

The refundable tax credit is based on the educational level attained through the Louisiana 

Pathways Child Care Career Development System. The credit is adjusted annually by the 

percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index United States city average for all urban 

consumers (CPI-U), as prepared by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor 

http://legis.la.gov/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451044
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=453229
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=453229
http://www.qrslouisiana.org/
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/LAC61_I_1903.pdf
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsPolicies/LAC61_I_1903.pdf
http://scitech.nsula.edu/pathways/
http://scitech.nsula.edu/pathways/
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A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101 D.  A RIB is an informal 

statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature.  A RIB does not have the 

force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 

Statistics, as determined by the secretary of the Department of Revenue on December first of the 

preceding calendar year. The credit amount for the 2017 tax year is as follows: 

 

Educational Level Tax Credit Amount 

  

Director I $1,680 

Director II $2,239 

Director III $2,798 

Director IV $3,358 

Child Care Teacher I $1,680 

Child Care Teacher II $2,239 

Child Care Teacher III $2,798 

Child Care Teacher IV $3,358 

 

The tax credit is claimed on the Resident Individual Income Tax return, Form IT-540, Schedule 

F, or the Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Individual Income Tax Return, Form IT-540B, 

Schedule F-NR.  LDE will provide certification to child care directors and staff indicating the 

educational level achieved by January 31
st
. The Louisiana School Readiness Tax Credit, for 

Child Care Director and Staff, Form R-10615 must be completed by the child care provider and 

given to the directors and staff. The Louisiana Department of Education will also furnish the 

certification information to the Louisiana Department of Revenue as verification of the directors’ 

and staff’s eligibility for the tax credit.  Directors and staff who file paper returns must attach a 

copy of the certification Form R-10615 to the return when filed. If the tax return is filed 

electronically, the form should be retained by the taxpayer to be provided to the Louisiana 

Department of Revenue if requested. 

 

For additional information concerning the Louisiana Pathways Child Care Career Development 

System (LA Pathways) see the Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services’ rule 

found at LAC 67:III.5125 and 5127. 
 

Questions concerning this publication may be submitted by e-mail to 

Policy.Publications@La.gov. 

 

 

Kimberly Lewis Robinson 

Secretary 

http://www.doa.louisiana.gov/osr/lac/books.htm
mailto:Policy.Publications@La.gov

