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This private letter ruling involves the sale of wireless internet equipment in conjunction with a 
service agreement. The Department’s response is limited to the facts as presented. 

Facts 
Company A is a provider of wireless internet services with offices located outside the state of 
Louisiana in state X. Company A markets and sells its internet services both directly to 
customers and through third-party agents (“Dealers”). Use of Company A’s internet services 
requires customers to sign a one-year contract and purchase certain equipment. A customer can 
only purchase the required equipment from a Company A authorized Dealer. Company A 
purchases components of the equipment outside of state X where it is fabricated. Company A 
then issues its suppliers a resale certificate, takes ownership and briefly maintains an inventory 
of equipment in warehouses outside of State X. Equipment is shipped from these warehouses to 
Dealers both inside and outside of State X. 

Scenario A 
Company A purchases the equipment from its suppliers for a total cost of $600. A resale 
certificate is issued to each supplier. Company A then sells the equipment to an authorized 
Dealer for $360. The Dealer then provides Company A with a resale certificate and Company A 
does not charge Dealer sales and use tax on the purchases. 

A Louisiana subscriber signs up for internet access either directly through a Dealer or via 
Company A, which refers the new subscriber to a Dealer. Dealer sells subscriber equipment for 
$360, installs equipment at subscriber location, and bills, collects and remits all applicable 
Louisiana sales and use taxes for equipment and installation services. Dealer is compensated by 
Company A via commission. Company A bills subscriber for internet access over the period of 
the contract. 

Scenario B 
Company A purchases the equipment from its suppliers for a total cost of $600 and issues a 
resale certificate to each supplier. A Louisiana subscriber signs up for internet access services 
directly from Company A, which sells the subscriber the equipment for $360. An authorized 
installer then obtains the equipment (sold from Company A to Dealer) from the Dealer and 
installs the equipment at the subscriber’s location. Company A then submits a credit memo to 
Dealer for the equipment item originally purchased by Dealer. Company A will bill, collect and 
remit all applicable Louisiana sales/use tax for equipment and installation services based upon 
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the sales price of $360. Company A bills subscriber for internet access over the period of the 
contract. 

Law/Analysis 
In support of its position, the taxpayer cites Revised Statutes 47:301(10)(v) and 47:301(13)(g-h), 
which address the issue of cellular telephones sold at a discount and the attendant sales and use 
tax implications. However, those provisions do not govern the sale of wireless internet service 
and related equipment. Instead, the pertinent statutes are Revised Statutes 47:302(A), 47:321(A), 
and 47:331(A), which impose a tax on the sale at retail, the use, the consumption, the 
distribution, and the storage for use or consumption in this state, of each item or article of 
tangible personal property. Further, Revised Statutes 47:301(13)(a) defines “sales price” as “the 
total amount for which tangible personal property is sold, less the market value of any article 
traded in including any services, except services for financing, that are a part of the sale valued 
in money, whether paid in money or otherwise…” 

Scenario A 
In Scenario A, Company A sells the equipment below-market price to a Dealer, who in turn sells 
the equipment to a customer for the same below-market price in conjunction with a service 
contract. It is the necessity of the service contract which allows Company A to sell the 
equipment below-market cost and recoup any losses it may have suffered from the below-market 
sale of the equipment. Thus, in essence, each monthly payment over the duration of a customer’s 
service contract represents a partial payment for the wireless internet service, a nontaxable 
transaction, and a partial payment for the cost of the equipment, a taxable transaction. Therefore, 
Dealer should collect and remit sales tax at the rate of 4 percent of the below-market price of 
$360 from customer, leaving Company A liable to pay use tax at the rate of 4 percent on the 
remaining $240. 

It should be further noted that in all likelihood the Dealer in this scenario would be subject to 
Revised Statutes 47:306(B), which requires a retail dealer to collect an advance payment of sales 
tax upon the ultimate sale at retail. Thus, unless the Dealer had obtained a “W” number from the 
Department to present to Company A on the sale of the equipment, it would not likely be able to 
obtain a resale certificate from Company A and would be required to remit advance sales tax at 
the rate of 4 percent on the full $600. This provision is effective until January 1, 2009. 

Scenario B 
In Scenario B, Company A purchases the equipment for its full $600 price and issues each 
supplier a resale certificate. However, rather than purchase from a Dealer, the customer 
purchases the equipment directly from Company A for the below-market price. An authorized 
installer obtains the equipment from the Dealer (sold to Dealer by Company A) for installation 
purposes. A credit memo is submitted to Dealer for the equipment purchased. Sales/use tax is 
collected on the below-market price of $360 from the customer by Company A. Much like 
Scenario A, Company A is attempting to recoup its losses from the sale of a below-market phone 
by bundling the sale with a non-taxable service contract. Thus, Company A should collect and 
remit sales tax from the customer on $360 at the rate of 4 percent and then pay use tax on the 
remaining $240 at the rate of 4 percent. 
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A Private Letter Ruling (PLR) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101.C. A PLR provides guidance 
to a specific taxpayer at the taxpayer’s request. It is a written statement issued to apply principles of law 
to a specific set of facts or a particular tax situation and is limited to the matters specifically addressed. A 
PLR does not have the force and effect of law and may not be used or cited as precedent. A PLR is 
binding on the Department only as to the taxpayer making the request and only if the facts provided with 
the request were truthful and complete and the transaction was carried out as proposed. The 
Department’s position concerning the particular tax situation addressed remains in effect for the 
requesting taxpayer until a subsequent declaratory ruling, rule, court case, or statute supersedes it. 
 

Conclusion 
In both Scenarios A and B, Company A is bundling a taxable transaction, the sale of equipment, 
with a nontaxable transaction, the sale of wireless internet service. In both transactions, the sale 
of the equipment at the below-market price is contingent upon a customer signing a service 
contract. In essence, the contract represents part-payment for the non-taxable wireless internet 
service and part-payment for the taxable sale of the equipment. Thus, in both scenarios, the entire 
$600 should be subject to Louisiana sales/use tax. 

If you should have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Policy 
Services Division at (225) 219-2780. 

Sincerely, 

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

By: Brad Blanchard 
Attorney 
Policy Services Division 

 


