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C. Claiming the Credit 
1. Taxpayers must attach to the applicable Louisiana 

income tax return both a completed Apprenticeship Tax 
Credit Employer Certification (Form R-90005), as well as 
Tax Incentives with Job Creation Components (Form R-
6311). Additionally, supporting documentation should be 
maintained or submitted to the department, as directed in 
Paragraph 2 of this Subsection. 

2. Unless otherwise provided, eligible employers will 
be responsible for obtaining and submitting all required 
information, which includes the following:  

a. For taxpayers seeking to qualify pursuant to a 
written apprentice agreement with an employer or an 
association of employers pursuant to a registered 
apprenticeship program provided for in R.S. 23:281, the 
number of hours worked during the taxable period for each 
eligible apprentice. In addition, a copy of the contract 
executed between the employer and the eligible apprentice 
should be maintained and available for production upon 
request from the department to substantiate the qualification 
of an eligible apprentice. 

b. For taxpayers seeking to qualify pursuant to an 
eligible apprentice enrolled in a training program accredited 
by NCCER, a copy of the NCCER transcript for each 
eligible apprentice, which includes: 
 i. the level of training attained by the student 
enrolled in the training program; 
 ii. the number of hours worked during the taxable 
period by the student enrolled in the training program. 

c. Any other information required by the 
department. 

D. Approval 
1. No later than January 31 of each calendar year, the 

Louisiana Workforce Commission shall provide to the 
department a list of all employers or association of 
employers that have registered and have been approved to 
participate in an apprenticeship program as provided for in 
R.S. 23:381.  

2. A taxpayer is deemed eligible upon satisfactorily 
demonstrating that it has met the requirements of Subsection 
A of this Section during the taxable year. Eligibility shall 
authorize a taxpayer for one or more nonrefundable credit(s) 
with a carryforward of five years equal to the lesser of $1.25 
for each hour of employment or $1,250 for the tax period 
deemed eligible.  

3. For any amounts denied, the department shall 
notify the taxpayer as to each apprentice so denied and 
provide the reasons for denial.  

4. For each calendar year, beginning with calendar 
year 2023, the department shall not approve credits in excess 
of $2,500,000. Claims shall be approved as eligible for the 
credit by the department on a first-come, first-served basis as 
determined by the postmarked or received date of all 
documentation required by Subsection C of this Section. A 
claim shall not be considered complete until all information 
requested by the department has been received.  

5. If the total amount of credits granted in any 
calendar year to qualifying businesses is less than the 
respective cap, any residual amount may be available for 
issuance by the department in subsequent calendar years. For 
purposes of the credit cap, any amounts authorized by the 

department shall be deemed granted for the calendar year in 
which the credit is earned.  

6. In the event it is determined by the department that 
the taxpayer has not met the requirements of Subsection A of 
this Section, any amounts approved by the department are 
subject to disallowance by the department and any amounts 
allowed to offset tax are subject to recapture by the 
department. 

7. The accrual of refund interest shall be suspended 
during any period of time that a delay in the issuance of a 
refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide 
information or documentation required herein.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:287.785, R.S. 47:295, R.S. 47:1511, and R.S. 47:6033. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 36:1791 (August 2010), 
amended LR 49:73 (January 2023). 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative 
(LAC 61:III.2301) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 1576.3, and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, has adopted LAC 61:III.2301, to provide guidance 
on the Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative 
adopted by Act 406 of the 2022 Regular Session. 

R.S. 47:1576.3 authorizes the secretary to promulgate 
rules for the administration of the Fresh Start Proper Worker 
Classification Initiative. Additionally, R.S. 47:1511 
authorizes the secretary to prescribe rules and regulations to 
carry out the purposes of any statutes or provisions included 
under the secretary's authority. R.S. 47:1576.3(B) authorizes 
certain employers who have been treating workers as 
independent contractors to voluntarily reclassify a class or 
classes of workers as employees for future periods without 
being held liable for withholding tax, interest or penalties for 
prior periods. The purpose of this Rule is to administer and 
implement the voluntary worker classification program 
enacted by Act 406 of the 2022 Regular Session. The Rule 
provides guidance regarding the necessary qualifications to 
participate in the program and the conditions associated with 
an accepted application. This Rule is hereby adopted on the 
day of promulgation. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions 
Chapter 23. Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification 

Initiative 
§2301 Fresh Start Program 

A. Definitions. For purposes of this Section and the 
administration of the Fresh Start Proper Worker 
Classification Initiative (“Fresh Start Program”) set forth in 
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R.S. 47:1576.3, the following terms have the meanings 
ascribed to them. 

IRS Form 1099-MISC—an information return required 
to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service, in accordance 
with Section 6041(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 
as amended, and the regulations adopted thereunder, to 
report nonemployee compensation paid to a service provider 
prior to January 1, 2020. 

IRS Form 1099-NEC—an information return required to 
be filed with the Internal Revenue Service, in accordance 
with Section 6041A(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended, and the regulations adopted thereunder, to 
report nonemployee compensation paid to a service provider 
on or after January 1, 2020 or any equivalent form required 
to be filed by the Internal Revenue Service.  

Reclassified Employees—a worker, or a class or classes 
of workers who were consistently treated as independent 
contractors or other non-employees by the taxpayer for the 
previous three years and for which the Taxpayer filed all 
required Forms 1099-NEC, or Forms 1099-MISC, with the 
Internal Revenue Service, consistent with the nonemployee 
treatment, who will be treated as employees for future 
periods. 

Taxpayer—the person seeking to voluntarily reclassify a 
worker, or a class or classes of workers through the Fresh 
Start Program. 

B. Application Requirements. Taxpayers applying for 
relief under the Fresh Start Program shall comply with the 
following procedures.  

1. Applications shall be submitted electronically on 
forms provided by the secretary between January 1, 2023 
and December 31, 2023.  

2. An application shall include: 
a. a list of each worker that the applicant seeks to 

voluntarily reclassify as an employee for future tax periods 
under the Fresh Start Program, including the worker’s name, 
social security number, date of hire and class; 

b. copies of the IRS Forms 1099-NEC, or IRS 
Forms 1099-MISC, that were filed with the IRS for the 
previous three years for each of the workers for which 
reclassification is sought under the Fresh Start Program; 

c. proof of workers’ compensation coverage for the 
reclassified employees. Coverage shall have an effective 
date for the reclassified employees of no earlier than 60 days 
prior to and no later than the date the application is 
submitted; 

d. any other information requested by the 
Department of Revenue. Additional information shall be 
submitted within 45 calendar days of the date of written 
request. Failure to provide the additional information within 
45 days may result in denial of the application; however, 
reasonable extensions may be granted.  

3. If a taxpayer does not complete the application in 
its entirety, the Department of Revenue shall notify the 
applicant of the deficiencies by mail. The taxpayer shall 
have 45 calendar days from the date of the notification to 
correct the deficiencies. If the taxpayer fails to respond 
during the 45 day period, the application shall be denied.  

C. Eligibility 
1. A taxpayer is not required to reclassify all of its 

workers who are currently treated as nonemployees, but 
shall reclassify all workers within the same class. 

2. R.S. 47:1576.3(F) provides that a taxpayer is not 
eligible for relief if the taxpayer or a member of its affiliated 
group within the meaning of Section 1504(a) of the Internal 
Revenue Code is currently under an employment, 
withholding, or unemployment tax audit by the Internal 
Revenue Service, United States Department of Labor, or a 
state government entity. For purposes of this exclusion, a 
taxpayer that has been contacted by the auditing agency to 
initiate an audit concerning the classification of workers is 
considered to be currently under audit. 

D. Determination of Ineligibility 
1. If the Department of Revenue determines that a 

taxpayer is ineligible to participate in the Fresh Start 
Program, the department shall send written notice to the 
taxpayer within 30 days of such determination.  

2. Ineligible taxpayers are not entitled to any relief 
under the Fresh Start Program. 

E. Closing Agreement 
1. R.S. 47:1576.3(E)(2) states that acceptance of a 

taxpayer’s application constitutes a joint closing agreement 
between the taxpayer and the Department of Revenue. 

2. Upon acceptance of an application for participation 
in the Fresh Start Program, the taxpayer agrees to the 
following conditions which shall be deemed part of the joint 
closing agreement. 

a. Taxpayer shall timely report and remit all 
withholding taxes for the reclassified employees, or class or 
classes of workers for all tax periods beginning with and 
subsequent to the date on which the taxpayer is accepted for 
participation in the Fresh Start Program and for a period of 
three years thereafter. 

b. Taxpayer shall timely remit all unemployment 
insurance contributions for the reclassified employees, or 
class or classes of workers for all tax periods beginning with 
and subsequent to the date on which the taxpayer is accepted 
for participation in the Fresh Start Program and for a period 
of three years thereafter. 

c. Taxpayer shall maintain workers compensation 
coverage for the reclassified workers, or class or classes of 
workers for all tax periods beginning with and subsequent to 
the date on which the taxpayer is accepted for participation 
in the Fresh Start Program and for a period of three years 
thereafter. 

3. The terms of the closing agreement shall be valid, 
binding, and enforceable by and against all parties, including 
their transferees, successors, and assignees. 

4. The secretary reserves the right to void the closing 
agreement if the applicant taxpayer fails to comply with any 
of the conditions outlined in the agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
R.S. 47:1511 and 47:1576.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgate by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 49:74 (January 2023). 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary  
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