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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Mobile Workforce Exemption (LAC 61:I.1923) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:112.2, R.S. 47:242(1)(g)(ii) 
and (2)(b), R.S. 47:248, and R.S. 47:1511, and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et. seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, gives notice that rulemaking procedures 
have been initiated to adopt LAC 61:I.1923 relative to the 
Mobile Workforce Exemption.  

Revised Statute 47:112.2 authorizes an individual income 
tax exemption for certain nonresident employees who 
perform their employment duties in Louisiana for 25 days or 
less. In turn, the statute relieves employers of such 
nonresident employees of the requirement to withhold 
Louisiana individual income tax on the nonresident 
employee’s wages. If the nonresident employee performs 
employment related duties in Louisiana for a period in 
excess of 25 days in a calendar year, the employer is 
required to withhold and remit tax to Louisiana for the entire 
year, including the first 25 days. Wages paid to a nonresident 
individuals that are exempt pursuant to the mobile workforce 
provisions of Revised Statute 47:248 will not be considered 
an item of gross income. The purpose of this proposed 
regulation is to implement Act 383 of the 2021 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature relative to the Mobile 
Workforce Exemption.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, Credits 
and Deductions  

§1923. Mobile Workforce Exemption 
A. General Description 

1. The Mobile Workforce Exemption allows certain 
nonresident mobile workers to exclude wages from 
Louisiana tax table income. The exemption further relieves 
employers of such nonresident employees of the requirement 
to withhold Louisiana individual income tax on the 
nonresident employee’s wages. 

2. To be eligible for the exemption, all of the 
following requirements must be met: 

a. The compensation is paid for employment duties 
performed by the nonresident individual in this state for 25 
or fewer days in the calendar year. 

b. The nonresident individual performed 
employment duties in more than one state during the 
calendar year. 

c. The wages are not paid for employment duties 
performed by the nonresident individual in the individual's 
capacity as a professional athlete, staff member of a 
professional athletic team, professional entertainer, public 
figure, or qualified production employee. 

d. The nonresident individual's income is exempt 
from taxation by this state under the United States 
Constitution or federal statute or the nonresident individual's 
state of residence either provides a substantially similar 
exemption or does not impose an individual income tax. 

e. The nonresident individual did not have any 
other income derived from sources within the state during 
the taxable year. 

B. Definitions. For purposes of this Section, the 
following terms shall have the meaning ascribed therein. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 
Day—an employee is considered present and 

performing employment duties within Louisiana for a day if 
the employee performs more of his or her duties within 
Louisiana than any other taxing jurisdiction for that day. 
Where an employee is present and performing more 
employment duties in Louisiana than another taxing 
jurisdiction on the same day, the employee will be 
considered to have performed the preponderance of his or 
her duties for that day in Louisiana. The portion of a day that 
an employee spends in Louisiana while in transit is not 
considered in determining whether he or she performed 
employment duties.  

Employee—as defined in R.S. 47:111(A), with the 
exception of a professional athlete, staff member of a 
professional athletic team, professional entertainer, public 
figure, or qualified production employee. 

Employer—as defined in R.S. 47:111(B). 
Time and attendance system—a system through which 

an employee is required, on a contemporaneous basis, to 
record the employee's work location for every day worked 
outside the state where the employee's employment duties 
are primarily performed and that is designed to allow the 
employer to allocate the employee's compensation for 
income tax purposes among all states in which the employee 
performs employment duties for the employer. 

C. Filing Requirements. 
1. Employees 

a. Nonresident employees seeking to claim the 
exemption for income earned while performing employment 
duties within the state for less than 25 days are not required 
to file a Louisiana individual income tax return. If the 
nonresident employee has other income from Louisiana 
sources, the nonresident employee does not qualify for this 
exemption and thus all Louisiana income must be reported 
on the Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (NPR) Worksheet 
of the Louisiana Form IT-540B, Louisiana Nonresident and 
Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. 

b. Nonresident employees must file Form L-4E, 
Exemption from Withholding Louisiana Income Tax with 
their employer in order for their employer to refrain from 
withholding Louisiana income tax from their wages. 
Taxpayers must file a new L-4E annually in order to 
continue claiming the exemption and must revoke this 
exemption certificate by completing a Form L-4, Employee 
Withholding Exemption Certificate: 
 i. within 10 days from the twenty-six day of 
performing employment duties within the state; 
ii. within 10 days from the day you anticipate you will incur 
Louisiana income tax liability for the current year; or 
 iii. by the first day of the last month of your 
current taxable year if you anticipate you will incur 
Louisiana income tax liability for the following year. 

2. Employers. 
a. An employer who receives Form L-4E from their 

employee must retain such form with their records.  
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b. If a nonresident employee performs employment 
duties in excess of 25 days within the state, the employer 
must begin withholding income tax and report such tax on 
Form L-1, Employer’s Quarterly Return of Louisiana 
Withholding Tax beginning in the period in which the 
twenty-sixth day fell within.  

D. Penalty for Failure to Deduct or Withhold Income Tax 
1. The Department shall not require the payment of 

penalties or interest for failing to deduct and withhold 
income tax for a nonresident employee who does not qualify 
for the exemption, if the employer meets any of the 
following conditions: 

a. The employer at its sole discretion maintained a 
time and attendance system specifically designed to allocate 
employee wages for income tax purposes among all taxing 
jurisdictions in which the employee performs employment 
duties for the employer, and the employer relied on data 
from that system. 

b. The employer did not maintain a time and 
attendance system, and the employer relied on either: 
 i. its own records, maintained in the regular 
course of business, of the employee's location; 
 ii. the employee's reasonable determination of the 
time the employee expected to spend performing 
employment duties in this state provided the employer did 
not have actual knowledge of fraud on the part of the 
employee in making the determination and provided that the 
employer and the employee did not collude to evade taxation 
in making the determination. 

2. The department shall require the payment of 
penalties or interest for failing to deduct and withhold 
income tax if the employer fails to meet either of the 
conditions of this subsection.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:112.2, R.S. 47:242(1)(ii), R.S. 47:248, and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 61:I.1923, regarding 

the mobile workforce exemption, should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically, the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. The stability of the family. 
2. The authority and rights of parent s regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 
3. The functioning of the family. 
4. Family earnings and family budget. 
5. The behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 
6. The ability of the family or a local government to 

perform this function. 
Poverty Statement 

This proposed regulation will have no impact on poverty 
as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that this proposed amendment should not 

have a significant adverse impact on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic

factors has considered and, where possible, utilized 
regulatory methods in drafting this proposed amendment to 
accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while 
minimizing any anticipated adverse impact on small 
businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment will have no known or 

foreseeable effect on: 
1. The staffing levels requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service. 
2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

provider to provide the same level of service. 
3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 
Public Comments 

Any interested person may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Christina Junker, Attorney, Policy Services 
Division, Office of Legal Affairs by mail to P.O. Box 44098, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098. All comments must be 
received no later than 4:00 p.m., Wednesday, August, 24, 
2022. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on Thursday, August, 25, 

2022, at 1:30 p.m. in the LaBelle Room, on the first floor of 
the LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70802. 

Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Mobile Workforce Exemption 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The purpose of this proposed amendment is to adopt LAC 

61:I.1923, to implement Act 383 of the 2021 Regular Session. 
Act 383 exempts employers of certain nonresident employees 
who perform their duties in Louisiana for 25 days or less in a 
given year from the requirement to withhold individual income 
tax on the employee’s wages, and specifies that wages for such 
employees is not an item of gross income.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule implementing Act 383 can only serve to 
reduce individual income tax liabilities in the state. However, 
the impact on state revenue collections is anticipated to be 
marginal. No impact on revenue collections of local 
governmental units is anticipated.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

No material impacts on costs or economic benefits are 
anticipated for affected personal or non-governmental groups 
due to this proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No material impact on competition or employment is 
anticipated due to this proposed rule change.  

 
Kevin J. Richard Alan M. Boxberger 
Secretary Interim Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2207#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 




