ii. the printing system shall have a paper sensing
device that prevents play and disables the device if there is
insufficient paper to print a ticket voucher for a player or an
audit copy. Upon sensing the "paper low" or "paper out"
signal, the device shall finish printing the ticket voucher for
the last game played and prevent further play; and

iii. the paper contained in the printing mechanism
for the printing of the ticket vouchers and the audit copy
shall be of a type which diminishes the ability to copy, alter,
or falsify;

iv. all device owners shall retain the door ticket
for a period of not less than 90 days. The door ticket may be
scanned and retained electronically.

A.lq.-E.6.

7. All device owners shall maintain a current, written
maintenance log for each video draw poker gaming device
operating within a licensed establishment, on a form
approved by the division, for the purpose of keeping records
of routine maintenance and repairs. All log entries shall
contain the following information:

a. time and date of access of the video draw poker
gaming device;

b. reason for access of the video draw poker gaming
device;

c. any time the logic board is accessed or meter
readings are altered, mechanical (hard) and electronic (soft)
meter readings of the video draw poker gaming device;

d. the signed and printed name and state issued
permit number of the certified individual accessing the video
draw poker gaming device;

e. area of the video draw poker gaming device
accessed; and

f. time and date the video draw poker gaming
device was secured.

E.8.-L.1.c.ii.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
33:4862.1 et seq. and R.S. 27:1 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:197
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control
Board, LR 23:1322 (October 1997), LR 25:85 (January 1999), LR
30:269 (February 2004), repromulgated LR 30:446 (March 2004),
amended LR 32:109 (January 2006), LR 32:1613 (September
2006), LR 40:1109 (June 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1382 (July
2014), amended LR 40:1384 (July 2014), LR 49:72 (January 2023).

Ronnie S. Johns

Chairman
2301#016

RULE

Department of Revenue
Policy Services Division

Apprenticeship Tax Credits (LAC 61:1.1909)

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 6033 and in
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Revenue, Policy Services Division, has amended LAC
61:1.1909 relative to Apprenticeship Tax Credits.
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Revised Statute 47:6033 authorizes a credit for businesses
that hire an eligible apprentice, as defined therein. The
purpose of these amendments is to implement Act 454 of the
2021 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature relative
to Apprenticeship Tax Credits. This Rule is hereby adopted
on the day of promulgation.

Title 61
REVENUE AND TAXATION

PartI. Taxes Collected and Administered by the

Secretary of Revenue
Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, Credits
and Deductions
§1909. Apprenticeship Tax Credits

A. General Description

1. For tax periods beginning after December 31, 2021,
Revised Statute 47:6033 authorizes businesses to earn a non-
refundable apprenticeship tax credit against Louisiana
income tax or corporation franchise tax equal to $1.25 for
each hour of employment of each eligible apprentice, as
defined herein, not to exceed 1,000 hours for each eligible
apprentice.

2. In order to be eligible for the credit, a business must
employ a person who:

a. s an eligible apprentice, as defined herein;

b. has been employed for a minimum of 250 hours
during the taxable period; and

c. satisfies all other criteria of this Section.

3. The credit shall be earned in the year in which the
taxpayer is deemed to have satisfied all requirements of this
Section, as approved by the department.

4. The credit shall be allowed against the income tax
for the taxable period for which the credit is earned and
against the franchise tax for the taxable period following the
period in which the credit is earned. If the tax credit allowed
pursuant to R.S. 47:6033 exceeds the amount of such taxes
due, any unused credit may be carried forward as a credit
against subsequent liability for a period not to exceed five
years.

5. A taxpayer shall not receive any other incentive for
the job creation or hiring of an eligible apprentice for which
the taxpayer has received a tax credit pursuant to this
Section, including but not limited to the provisions of R.S.
25:1226, 47:297.13, 6023, 6026, 6028, 6033, 6034, 51:1781,
2451, or 3121.

B. Definitions

Department—the Louisiana Department of Revenue

Eligible Apprentice—a person who:

a. has entered into a written apprentice agreement
with an employer or an association of employers pursuant to
a registered apprenticeship program as provided for in R.S.
23:381; or

b. is enrolled in a training program accredited by
the National Center for Construction Education and
Research (NCCER) which has no less than four levels of
training and no less than 500 hours of instruction:

i. has successfully completed no less than two
levels of training; and

ii. has attained no less than 250 hours of
instruction.

Chapter 19.
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C. Claiming the Credit

1. Taxpayers must attach to the applicable Louisiana
income tax return both a completed Apprenticeship Tax
Credit Employer Certification (Form R-90005), as well as
Tax Incentives with Job Creation Components (Form R-
6311). Additionally, supporting documentation should be
maintained or submitted to the department, as directed in
Paragraph 2 of this Subsection.

2. Unless otherwise provided, eligible employers will
be responsible for obtaining and submitting all required
information, which includes the following:

a. For taxpayers seeking to qualify pursuant to a
written apprentice agreement with an employer or an
association of employers pursuant to a registered
apprenticeship program provided for in R.S. 23:281, the
number of hours worked during the taxable period for each
eligible apprentice. In addition, a copy of the contract
executed between the employer and the eligible apprentice
should be maintained and available for production upon
request from the department to substantiate the qualification
of an eligible apprentice.

b. For taxpayers seeking to qualify pursuant to an
eligible apprentice enrolled in a training program accredited
by NCCER, a copy of the NCCER transcript for each
eligible apprentice, which includes:

i. the level of training attained by the student
enrolled in the training program;

ii. the number of hours worked during the taxable
period by the student enrolled in the training program.

c. Any other information required by the
department.
D. Approval

1. No later than January 31 of each calendar year, the
Louisiana Workforce Commission shall provide to the
department a list of all employers or association of
employers that have registered and have been approved to
participate in an apprenticeship program as provided for in
R.S. 23:381.

2. A taxpayer is deemed eligible upon satisfactorily
demonstrating that it has met the requirements of Subsection
A of this Section during the taxable year. Eligibility shall
authorize a taxpayer for one or more nonrefundable credit(s)
with a carryforward of five years equal to the lesser of $1.25
for each hour of employment or $1,250 for the tax period
deemed eligible.

3. For any amounts denied, the department shall
notify the taxpayer as to each apprentice so denied and
provide the reasons for denial.

4. For each calendar year, beginning with calendar
year 2023, the department shall not approve credits in excess
of $2,500,000. Claims shall be approved as eligible for the
credit by the department on a first-come, first-served basis as
determined by the postmarked or received date of all
documentation required by Subsection C of this Section. A
claim shall not be considered complete until all information
requested by the department has been received.

5. If the total amount of credits granted in any
calendar year to qualifying businesses is less than the
respective cap, any residual amount may be available for
issuance by the department in subsequent calendar years. For
purposes of the credit cap, any amounts authorized by the
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department shall be deemed granted for the calendar year in
which the credit is earned.

6. In the event it is determined by the department that
the taxpayer has not met the requirements of Subsection A of
this Section, any amounts approved by the department are
subject to disallowance by the department and any amounts
allowed to offset tax are subject to recapture by the
department.

7. The accrual of refund interest shall be suspended
during any period of time that a delay in the issuance of a
refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide
information or documentation required herein.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
47:287.785, R.S. 47:295, R.S. 47:1511, and R.S. 47:6033.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 36:1791 (August 2010),
amended LR 49:73 (January 2023).

Kevin J. Richard, CPA

Secretary
2301#068

RULE

Department of Revenue
Policy Services Division

Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative
(LAC 61:111.2301)

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 1576.3, and in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy Services
Division, has adopted LAC 61:111.2301, to provide guidance
on the Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification Initiative
adopted by Act 406 of the 2022 Regular Session.

R.S. 47:1576.3 authorizes the secretary to promulgate
rules for the administration of the Fresh Start Proper Worker
Classification Initiative. Additionally, R.S. 47:1511
authorizes the secretary to prescribe rules and regulations to
carry out the purposes of any statutes or provisions included
under the secretary's authority. R.S. 47:1576.3(B) authorizes
certain employers who have been treating workers as
independent contractors to voluntarily reclassify a class or
classes of workers as employees for future periods without
being held liable for withholding tax, interest or penalties for
prior periods. The purpose of this Rule is to administer and
implement the voluntary worker classification program
enacted by Act 406 of the 2022 Regular Session. The Rule
provides guidance regarding the necessary qualifications to
participate in the program and the conditions associated with
an accepted application. This Rule is hereby adopted on the
day of promulgation.

Title 61
REVENUE AND TAXATION
Part III. Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions
Chapter 23.  Fresh Start Proper Worker Classification
Initiative
§2301 Fresh Start Program

A. Definitions. For purposes of this Section and the
administration of the Fresh Start Proper Worker
Classification Initiative (“Fresh Start Program™) set forth in



