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deduction if the infant was less than one year of age at the 
time of the adoption placement. 

a. A taxpayer is considered “unrelated” to the infant 
if they are not the infant’s parent, stepparent, grandparent, 
brother, sister, uncle, or aunt, whether of the whole or half 
blood or by adoption. 

B. Claiming the Deduction 
1. The taxpayer claiming the private adoption of 

certain infants’ deduction must be listed as an adoptive 
parent on the adoption order or decree. Taxpayers may claim 
the adoption deduction according to their filing status as 
follows: 

a. If filing single, married filing separately, 
qualifying widow(er), or head of household then only one 
taxpayer may claim the adoption credit on their return if two 
taxpayers are listed as the adoptive parent. The deduction 
may not be divided between the adoptive parents and can 
only be claimed by the taxpayer that is claiming the child as 
a dependent on their federal individual income tax return.  

b. If filing married filing jointly then the deduction 
may only be claimed on the return of the individual who is 
listed as an adoptive parent on the adoption order or decree. 
The deduction may not be divided between the adoptive 
parents and can only be claimed by the taxpayer that is 
claiming the child as a dependent on their federal individual 
income tax return.  

2. The taxpayer claiming the private adoption of 
certain infants’ deduction must attach the following to the 
taxpayer’s individual income tax return for the taxable year 
that the adoption is finalized: 

a. a copy of the adoption order or decree; and 
b. a letter from the attorney who facilitated the 

adoption or private agency stating when the infant was 
placed with the adoptive parents. 

C. Limitations 
1. The adoption tax deduction shall be in lieu of the 

dependency deduction authorized in R.S. 47:294. 
2. The amount of the deduction authorized by R.S. 

47:297.20 shall not exceed the total tax table income of the 
taxpayer claiming the deduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:293(9)(a)(xxiv), 297.21 and 1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 48:2990 (December 2022). 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary 

2212#042 

 
RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Election of Pass-Through Entities 
(LAC: 61:I.1001) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 287.732.2 and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, has amended LAC 
61:I.1001.  

The primary purpose of the regulation is to implement Act 
396 of the 2021 regular session of the Louisiana Legislature 
as it concerns the repeal of the deduction for federal taxes 
paid and the amendment of rates for taxpayers making a 
pass-through entity election pursuant to R.S. 47:287.732.2. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of the Department of Revenue 

Chapter 10. Income: Pass-Through Entities 
§1001. Election of Pass-Through Entities 

A. … 
1. For taxable periods beginning on or before 

December 31, 2021, the income of entities that make the 
election under R.S. 47:287.732.2 shall be taxed at the 
following rates: 

a. 2 percent upon the first $25,000 of Louisiana 
taxable income; 

b. 4 percent upon the amount of Louisiana taxable 
income above $25,000 but not in excess of $100.000; and 

c. 6 percent upon the amount of Louisiana taxable 
income above $100,000. 

2. For taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 
2022, the income of entities that make the election under LA 
R.S. 47:287.732.2 shall be taxed at the following rates: 

a. 1.85 percent upon the first $25,000 of Louisiana 
taxable income; 

b. 3.5 percent upon the amount of Louisiana taxable 
income above $25,000 but not in excess of $100.000; and 

c. 4.25 percent upon the amount of Louisiana 
taxable income above $100,000. 

B. - C.3. … 
a. A pro forma Federal Form 1120 completed as if 

the entity had filed as a C corporation for federal income tax 
purposes; 

C.3.b. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:287.732.2 and 1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 46:43 (January 2020), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 
LR 48:2991 (December 2022). 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary 

2212#041 

 
RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligator Hide Tag Fee Regulations 
(LAC 76:V.701) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
alligator regulations governing alligator hide tag fees. The 
action suspends the alligator hide tag fee by $1, thereby 
reducing the tag fee from $4 per tag to $3 per tag for license 
year 2023. The purpose of this change is to provide 
temporary relief to the alligator industry in a time of


