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Act 131 

Solar Energy Systems Tax Credit 
 

Act 131 of the 2015 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature made numerous changes to the 
solar energy systems tax credit provided in La. R.S. 47:6030. Unless otherwise provided, these 
changes are effective June 19, 2015. First, Act 131 repealed the eligibility of numerous types of 
systems, including but not limited to solar thermal systems and solar air conditioning systems, 
and imposed a requirement that the solar energy system be installed on the homeowner’s primary 
residence. 
 
Further, Act 131 reduced the eligible base of the credit for both purchased and leased systems. 
For purchased systems installed on or after July 1, 2015, the credit is now equal to the lesser of: 
1.) two dollars multiplied by the total size of the system as measured in DC watts, or; 2.) 50% of 
the first $20,000 of the cost of purchase and installation. For leased systems installed on or after 
January 1, 2014, effective June 19, 2015, the credit is now equal to 38% of the first $20,000. 
However, leased systems installed on or after July 1, 2015 remain subject to a restriction that the 
system cost no more than two dollars per watt and provide for no more than six kilowatts of 
energy, meaning the maximum credit base for these leased systems is $12,000 and the maximum 
available credit is $4,560 (6,000 watts x $2.00/watt=$12,000 x 38%=$4,560).  
 
Finally, Act 131 establishes a credit cap for both purchased and leased systems. The credit cap 
for both system types establishes the maximum amount of tax credits that may be granted by the 
department for a given fiscal year. Further, the credits are required to be granted based on a first-
come, first-served basis as determined by the taxpayer’s Louisiana income tax return receive 
date. Any returns claiming a solar energy systems tax credit must now be filed electronically and 
will not be considered received for purposes of the first-come, first-served requirement until all 
supporting documentation is received. All requests received on the same business day shall be 
treated as received at the same time, and if the aggregate amount of the requests received on a 
single business day exceed the total amount of available tax credits, tax credits shall be approved 
on a pro rata basis.  
 
 For purchased systems, the maximum amount of tax credits which may be granted by the 
department on any return, regardless of tax year, shall be as follows: 
 

• For tax credits claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2015, and before July 1, 2016, 
no more than $10 million dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 

• For tax credits claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016, and before July 1, 2017, 
no more than $10 million dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 
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• For tax credits claimed on a return filed on or after July 1, 2017, no more than $5 million 
dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 

 
For leased systems, the maximum amount of tax credits which may be granted by the department 
on any return, regardless of tax year, shall be as follows: 
 

• The maximum amount of tax credits for leased systems which may be granted by the 
department for credits not granted prior to June 1, 2015, during Fiscal Year 2014-2015 
shall be $19 million dollars. 

• For tax credits claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2015, and before July 1, 2016, 
no more than $10 million dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 

• For tax credits claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016, and before July 1, 2017, 
no more than $10 million dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 

• For tax credits claimed on a return filed on or after July 1, 2017, no more than $5 million 
dollars of tax credits shall be granted. 
 

For questions concerning this matter, please contact the Policy Services Division at (225) 219-
2780. For questions concerning a taxpayer’s return, please contact the Customer Contact Center 
at 855-307-3893.  
 
 
Kimberly Lewis Robinson 
Secretary 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                 
1 Revenue Information Bulletin amended on July 26, 2016 to remove the requirement to file original return in the 
subsequent fiscal year in order to claim credits for subsequent credit cap periods. Effective immediately, credits will 
be granted based upon the original claim for credits made on the original return filed on or after July 1, 2015 as 
allowed by credit cap restrictions. No additional claim or filing is necessary on the part of the taxpayer to claim 
credits for subsequent credit cap periods. 


