
RULE 

Department of Revenue 

Policy Services Division 

Collection Fee 

(LAC 61:III.3101) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 1676, and in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 

Division, has adopted LAC 61:III.3101. 

Louisiana Revised Statutes 47:1676(C)(2)(a) provides that 

agencies that do not have a collection contract with the 

Attorney General’s Office for the collection of delinquent 

debts shall refer all final delinquent debt to the Office of 

Debt Recovery (“Office”) for collection. Referring agencies 

must include data and information in the required format 

necessary to institute collection procedures. All delinquent 

debts shall be authenticated by the referring agency or 

officer prior to being referred to the office. Once the debt 

becomes final, and prior to referral to the office, the referring 

agency shall notify the debtor that failure to pay the debt in 

full within sixty days shall subject the debt to the office’s 

collection fee. The office’s collection fee is in addition to the 

collection fees already included in the delinquent debt by the 

referring agency. Louisiana Revised Statutes 47:1676(E) 

mandates that the office charge the debtor a fee not to exceed 

twenty-five percent of the total liability of the final debt. The 

fee is to become effective on January 1, 2024. Debtors 

whose final delinquent debt has been referred to the office 

on or after January 1, 2024 will be assessed a fee equal to 

fifteen percent of the final delinquent debt. This Rule is 

hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 61 

REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions 

Chapter 31. Office of Debt Recovery 

§3101. Collection Fee 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 47:1676(E), the Office of Debt 

Recovery shall charge a fee on debts referred to it for 

collection. The fee shall not exceed 25 percent of the total 

liability and is to be established by rule. 

B. A collection fee equal to 15 percent of the total 

liability of debt shall be due on all debts referred to the 

Office of Debt Recovery on or after January 1, 2024. This 

collection fee shall be retained by the Office of Debt 

Recovery and distributed in accordance with R.S. 

47:1676(E). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1511 and R.S. 47:1676. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 49:0000 (October 2023).  
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