
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 

Policy Services Division 

Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay Rebate 

Program (LAC 61:I.1919) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953 (B), 

notice is hereby given that the Department of Revenue 

(“department”) is, by Emergency Rule, adopting LAC 

61:I.1919. The purpose of this regulation is to 

administer and implement, on an emergency basis, the 

provisions of Act No. 12 of the 2020 First 

Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

This Emergency Rule is effective July 13, 2020, and 

will remain in effect for 120 days, unless renewed or 

revoked. 

The promulgation of this Rule on an emergency 

basis is necessary to avoid sanctions or penalties from 

the United States Government under the Coronavirus 

Aid, Relief, and Economic and Security Act (the 

“CARES Act”). The CARES Act established the 

Coronavirus Relief Fund (the “Fund”) and Louisiana 

received over $1.8 billion from the Fund. The 

Louisiana Legislature has authorized the utilization of 

$50 million of the CARES Act funding to provide a 

one-time hazard pay rebate for essential critical 

infrastructure workers. The CARES Act provides that 

payments from the Fund may only be used for 

COVID-19 related expenses and the United States 

Treasury has issued Guidance for State, Local and 

Tribal Governments providing Treasury’s 

interpretation on the permissible uses of the Fund (the 

“Guidance”). In accordance with the Guidance and the 

Coronavirus Relief Fund Frequently Asked Questions 

Updated as of July 8, 2020, any program created using 

monies from the Fund should be administered in a 

manner that satisfies the requirements of the CARES 

Act and maintain records sufficient to demonstrate the 

monies have been used in accordance with Section 

601(d) of the Social Security Act. Any State not 

utilizing the funding in accordance with the CARES 

Act and Guidance is subject to a repayment 

requirement.  

This Emergency Rule provides for the 

administration and implementation of Act No. 12 to 

provide the $50 million from the Fund is timely and 

efficiently distributed to Louisiana’s frontline workers 

during an application window of July 15 to October 

31, 2020 in accordance with the CARES Act and the 

Guidance. Absent utilization of the emergency rule 

process, the time delay in the rulemaking procedures 

of R.S. 49:953(A) would render this program obsolete 

because adoption and promulgation would not occur 

until after the program’s application period ends. 

Authorization for promulgation of this rule on an 

emergency basis is hereby deemed necessary by the 

Secretary of Revenue as legislatively delegated to her 

by R.S. 51:1787(K)(6). 

Under the authority of R.S. 51:1787(K)(6) and 

47:1511 and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 

adopts LAC 61:I.1919 regarding the Frontline 

Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay Rebate Program. 

Title 61 

REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 

Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, 

Credits and Deductions 

§1919. Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard 

Pay Rebate Program 

A. General Description. Act 12 of the 2020 First 

Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature 

provides for a one-time hazard pay rebate for essential 

critical infrastructure workers as those terms are 

defined in the enabling legislation.  

B. Definitions 

Assistants and Aides—assistants and aides 

providing services in the medical and healthcare fields

  

Department—the Louisiana Department of 

Revenue 

In-Person Services—services provided on the 

frontline within Louisiana where the worker was in 

contact with customers, patients, or the general public 

and shall not include call center personnel or persons 

whose job is conducted exclusively via telephone, 

computer, or other remote or virtual means.  

Rebate—one-time hazard pay rebate as defined 

by Act 12. 

Rebate Program—the Frontline Workers 

COVID-19 Hazard Pay Rebate Program 

Storage and Disposal Personnel—storage and 

disposal personnel providing services related to 

residential, commercial, and industrial solid waste and 

hazardous waste 

Workers—essential critical infrastructure workers 

as defined by Act 12 

Worker’s Residence—any residence or other 

dwelling occupied by the worker, including the 

worker’s primary residence 

C. Eligibility 

1. The Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard 

Pay Rebate Program provides a one-time $250 rebate 

for applicants who meet all of the following eligibility 

requirements: 

a. the applicant is determined to be an 

essential critical infrastructure worker as that term is 



defined by the federal Cybersecurity & Infrastructure 

Security Agency (CISA) in its publication "Guidance 

on the Essential Critical Infrastructure Workforce: 

Ensuring Community and National Resilience in 

COVID-19 Response Version 3.1"; 

b. the applicant was employed in at least one 

of the following jobs on or after March 11, 2020: 

 i. nurses, assistants, aides, medical 

residents, pharmacy staff, phlebotomists, respiratory 

therapist, and workers providing direct patient care in 

inpatient and outpatient dialysis facilities;  

 ii. housekeeping, laundry services, food 

services and waste management personnel in hospitals 

and healthcare facilities;  

 iii. long-term care facility personnel, 

outpatient care workers, home care workers, personal 

assistance providers, home health providers, home 

delivered meal providers, and childcare service 

providers;  

 iv. emergency medical services (EMS) 

personnel, fire and rescue personnel, law enforcement 

personnel, and public health epidemiologists; 

 v. bus drivers; retail fuel service personnel; 

sanitation personnel; residential, commercial and 

industrial solid waste and hazardous waste removal 

personnel; storage and disposal personnel; 

 vi. grocery store, convenience store, and 

food assistance program personnel; 

 vii. mortuary service providers; or  

 viii. veterinary service staff; and 

c. the applicant was required to provide in-

person services outside of the worker’s residence 

substantially dedicated to responding to or mitigating 

the COVID-19 public health emergency for at least 

200 hours during the period from March 22, 2020, 

through May 14, 2020. 

2. Only applicants whose adjusted gross income 

is $50,000 or less are eligible for the rebate. For 

purposes of this requirement, the adjusted gross 

income on the applicant’s 2019 income tax return shall 

be used. If the applicant has not filed his or her 2019 

income tax return, the adjusted gross income from the 

applicant’s 2018 income tax return shall be used.  

3. If the applicant is employed in one of the 

enumerated jobs in Subparagraph C.1.b above and 

worked at least 200 hours outside his or her residence 

during the period between March 22, 2020, and May 

14, 2020, the applicant shall be presumed to have been 

responding to or mitigating the COVID-19 public 

health emergency. 

a. This presumption shall be rebuttable by 

evidence or documentation obtained from the 

applicant’s employer. 

4. To the extent possible, the department shall 

rely upon definitions in the CISA guidance of the 

enumerated jobs listed in Subparagraph C.1.b of this 

Section. However, when no definition is provided, the 

department shall apply a broad, definitional approach 

giving words their common, generally understood 

meaning for purposes of determining applicant 

eligibility. 

5. The representative of the estate of any worker 

who met all rebate eligibility requirements, but who 

died before applying for the rebate, shall be allowed to 

claim the benefit on behalf of the worker.  

D. Application  

1. The department shall receive applications for 

the rebate between July 15, 2020, and October 31, 

2020, on Form R-6186, Frontline Workers COVID-19 

Hazard Pay Rebate Application. 

2. Applicants may apply either electronically by 

utilizing a portal on the department’s website or by 

submitting a paper form to the department.  

3. If an applicant files both or more than one 

electronic and paper application, the application 

received first by the department shall be reviewed for 

eligibility purposes, and the second and subsequent 

applications received by the department shall be 

denied. 

4. If an applicant does not complete the 

application in its entirety, the department shall notify 

the applicant of the deficiencies by mail. The applicant 

shall have 30 calendar days from the date of the 

department’s notification to correct the deficiencies. If 

the applicant fails to respond during the 30-day 

window, the application shall be denied.  

5. The department may consult with Louisiana 

Department of Economic Development or the 

Louisiana Workforce Commission to verify 

information provided on the application. The applicant 

shall certify on the application that information 

contained in the files or records of the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission may be shared with the 

department.  

6. Applications for the rebate shall be 

considered a report filed for purposes of R.S. 47:1565. 

Applications and applicant submitted documentation 

are the records and files of the Secretary of the 

Department of Revenue and are subject to the 

confidentiality provisions of R.S. 47:1508. 

7. The department may request additional 

information from an applicant to determine eligibility. 

A request for additional information shall not impact 

or change the application’s received date for purposes 

of administration of the rebate program cap if the 

applicant provides the requested information within 30 

calendar days from date of the department’s request 

letter.  

E. Payment and Offset of the Rebate  

1. Payment of the Rebate 

a. After review and verification of the 

application, payment of the rebate shall be made by 



direct deposit if bank account and routing information 

is provided with the application and verified in the 

Department’s record. Otherwise, the payment shall be 

made by paper check.  

b. The rebate shall only be direct deposited 

into a bank account on which the applicant is a named 

account holder. 

2. Offset of the Rebate. 

a. After consultation with the Department of 

Children and Family Services, the department shall 

offset the rebate for any delinquent child support 

payments.  

b. The department shall also offset the rebate 

for any reported delinquent spousal support payments.  

c. The department shall not offset the rebate 

for any outstanding tax liabilities or other outstanding 

judgments or liabilities reported to the department. 

Creditors and banks shall take reasonable steps to 

ensure rebates are not seized pursuant to existing 

judgments and orders. 

F. Limitations on the Rebate Program 

1. The rebate program is subject to a 

$50,000,000 program cap. Additional rebates beyond 

the $50,000,000 may be paid if monies are made 

available and the Joint Legislative Committee on the 

Budget approves payment of additional rebates.  

2. The cap shall be administered on a first-

come, first-served basis based upon the date that the 

department is in receipt of the application. 

Applications received on the day the cap is reached 

shall be paid in the order in which the applications 

were received and the rebates shall not be prorated. 

a. For electronic applications, the receipt date 

shall be the date the application is submitted through 

the department’s website. 

b. For paper applications mailed via the U.S. 

Postal Service, the receipt date shall be the postmark 

date as shown on the envelope containing the paper 

application.  

c. For paper applications transmitted via 

common carrier, the receipt date shall be the date the 

application is delivered to the department.  

3. Twenty-five percent of the cap, or 

$12,500,000, shall be reserved for rebate claims filed 

on paper applications. If the entire $12,500,000 is not 

utilized to pay rebate claims filed by paper 

applications received on or before October 31, 2020, 

the remaining available amount shall be used to pay 

any remaining rebate claims received by electronically 

submitted applications which have not been paid 

because the remaining $37,500,000 cap has been 

exhausted.  

4. In the event additional rebates over the 

$50,000,000 program cap are made available and the 

Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget approves 

payment of additional rebates, rebate claims 

previously denied due to the attainment of the 

$50,000,000 cap shall take priority and be issued in 

order of the date that the department received the 

application. In this event, applicants shall not be 

required to submit a subsequent application.  

G. Recapture of the Rebate 

1. In accordance with R.S. 47:1561.2, rebates 

previously granted to an applicant, but later 

disallowed, may be recovered by the secretary of the 

Department of Revenue through any collection 

remedy authorized by R.S. 47:1561 and initiated 

within three years from December 31 of the year in 

which the rebate was paid or to assess or to collect 

under any other provision of law. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 47:1511 and R.S. 51:1787(K). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 46: 

 
Kimberly Lewis Robinson 

Secretary 
2008#001 

 


